We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever”
Review of The Chestnut Tree

The Chestnut Tree
Price range: $5 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our tea Room and Licensed Bistro is located adjacent to the River Windrush in the beautiful Cotswolds village of Bourton-on-the-Water which has been described as the 'Little Venice' of the Cotswolds and is one of the most popular tourist spots in the region. Famous for its cream, afternoon and celebration teas along with superb breakfasts, lunches, snacks, cakes, pastries and ice creams, The Chestnut Tree looks forward to welcoming you on your next visit. During the summer you can take tea on our private lawn adjacent to the river Windrush or maybe enjoy an ice cream or seasonal fruit from our take away kiosk.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best service ever”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Went in for breakfast my friend has an allergy to eggs when we explained the person behind the till went to have a word with the chef who came out and explained they would use a new pan so no fear of egg contamination. That is simply fantastic coustomer service well done you deserve this rating.

Helpful?
Thank britravel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Your comments are a reflection of the kind of service we pride ourselves on . Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    134
    48
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“not much choice for vegetarians”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The service was excellent as was the quality of the food. I was pleased that the wine was served with a "cuff" which made it the right temperature to enjoy. I would have liked to see a few more veggie dishes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madammaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and happy to hear you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SCONES IN A PICTURE POSTCARD VILLAGE”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

On our way back from Burford, en route to London, I persuaded my husband to stop off at Bourton on the Water for a Cream Tea. He was very glad that I did because we discovered the Chestnut Tree Tea Rooms. This venue is a licensed restaurant, open seven days and is a Bistro in the evening. Our warm Fruit Scones with jam and cream were delicious and, looking at the menu, there is a good selection of food for those who might want to lunch here. There are many fish dishes including Salmon and Dill Fish Cakes and Scampli, Ham, Egg and Chips, Chicken, Roasts, Omelettes and Salads. They also serve baguettes, sandwiches, Ploughmans and cakes and have speciality teas. Celebrities have popped in here during filming and actor Martin Clunes came in for a scone so you never know who might be here during your visit. As I am writing this, I feel like eating one of the warm scones now. Uum, delicious! I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacquiecapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hope to see you again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I've been travelling for a long time and it's been a while since I've had a home cooked meal - this was perfect! Lovely food, and a really big range of meals to choose from. Also very well priced. Really lovely staff as well, I would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank JaimeeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scrummy”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

we went to the tea room on the 26th of April and had some very nice scones with cream and jam. Excellent value for money and a pleasant place to eat. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chestnut Tree also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Chestnut Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing