We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bourton-on-the-Water
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:45 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bourton-on-the-Water
from $106.01
More Info
from $61.17
More Info
from $127.21
More Info
from $125.89
More Info
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveler rating
549
622
315
102
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
622
315
102
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail miniature version worth a visit up to date the real thing half an hour cotswold stone entrance fee walk around value for money an adult model scale village church periscope bourton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Me, my brother and his family visited The Model Village in Bourton-on-the-Water in Cotswolds on December 30, 2019.

Being a fan of miniatures, I was fascinated and really enjoyed our time looking around the village. Me and my 11-year old nephew had fun walking through the model village as I pointed out to him one by one the shops and houses we passed by earlier around Bourton-on-the-Water (the real village), and finding “the model village in the model village”! There’s a special exhibition of detailed miniatures inside a room that can be accessed by putting a £1 (I think) in the entrance turnstile. They were amazing works with so much details!

There are renovations going on in some area of the model village and some of the houses/structures could help with some needed upkeep. Overall, it was a wothwhile visit.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank MGrace50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

It was a nice visit to this Model Village, beautifully set up and charming, however, it felt a bit expensive.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank neliod107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The model village while having some nice features is not value for money at the moment of writing. The models look in poor condition and look neglected. However were still impressed with the scale and accuracy of the work, including a model of the model village.

The village does have some renovation being carried out on it,with new buildings being built from scratch, but some general maintenance could still be done while this work is being carried out. I appreciate that some of the models are old, but for example the model church which you could see inside, has some of the model people just left lying on the floor and the inside looked liked it not been cleaned for decades, but this could be sorted quite quickly.

Annoyingly as well there is another section to the village that you could see but have to pay extra to go into, I would advise the owners to either include this in the ticket price, or add a bit extra to the ticket price to include entry into the other part.

I

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank 16Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Have a walk around the main streets and look at all the buildings before you visit the model village. It's not very big but fun to walk through the reproduction of the village on a smaller scale and even my teenager liked that their is a model village in the model village that has it's own model village!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

We paid over £4 each to visit here and we were in the model village 10 minutes. It needs lots of restoration and a good tidy up as it looked very dilapidated and some of the model buildings were damaged.
A waste of money visiting here in my opinion.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank janeySLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews