We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only ate here - great food & service”
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only ate here - great food & service”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Had the lunchtime set menu. It was great value and excellent quality. Friendly staff and great surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinLass41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    145
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
48
358
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Stayed at Dial House for one night. The location is fantastic - in the centre of Bourton on Water and the building and garden are picturesque and typically Cotswolds. Breakfast was tasty and generous and there was a great choice and presentation. I'm afraid that is where the positives end. We arrived earlier than check in which resulted in quite an abrupt and unwelcoming start however we were able to get access to our room which was a bonus. Our room was No 10 in the coachhouse. The room is on the ground floor - if you leave the bathroom windows open they are directly opposite the kitchen's open doors and windows which is not the relaxing atmosphere we had hoped for. The cleaners cupboard and door to the coachhouse was next door to our door so we had early morning gossiping and banging to contend with to. The room was comfortable but the TV had very poor reception. The paintwork in the bathroom was in need of attention and worst of all there was only a handheld shower with a hook on the wall - you could either have it dangerously scalding hot or cold with intermittent pressure which sounded like a generator! We couldn't have a shower - not what you expect for £180 a night. When we checked out we were asked how our stay had been and when we explained the problem with the shower, the owner/manager just said 'Oh yes' and obviously was aware of the problem and then just mouthed 'Sorry' and smiled. This just added salt to the wounds - no decent apology and they had obviously known there was an issue. We do a lot of travelling for work and pleasure and rarely feel like we've been ripped off - sadly this was one of those occasions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pillartopost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2009

we had never been to to cotswolds before and as it was my birthday we decided to go to bourton on the water as we had been told that it was a beautiful place to visit.
Turning into the village we noticed that it was just as beautiful as we were told with people sitting along side the windrush, looking to our right hand side we noticed the hotel, fantastic we thought right in the middle of the village surrounded by some very nice shops.
Going down the drive we noticed the immaculately kept gardens with seating areas, having parked the car we headed to the reception where we was greated, we were soon checked in and shown to our room this was exactly like we had seen on the internet and being as it was a special birthday we had chosen a four poster bedroom, the room was very clean with a large on-suite.
heading downstairs we decided to have a drink in the gardens this was a very peaceful garden even though the village was busy.
After an excellent night sleep we had the best breakfast that we had ever had with lots of choice from the menu .
the dial house hotel is a very friendly clean hotel that i would recommend and will be returning to in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wensleydale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I've used Trip Advisor for a number of years now when looking for somewhere nice for me and my husband to have a few days away on our own, with no children. This is the first time I've actually left a review though.

The whole experience was fantastic from start to finish. I'd negotiated a DBB rate for 2 nights in a mid priced room for the price of their cheapest room and the room was beautiful. However, it was a warm day and one of the radiators was blasting out heat, so I asked at reception for it to be turned off. After returning from a walk, the room was still very warm, so I asked at reception again about it. The lady at the reception desk - possibly the owner - immediately offered us a different room as she said she would be unable to sleep in a warm room, so why should we. We were upgraded, at no extra charge, to one of their suites in the Coach House annexe. I found this annexe to be charming and the room was all I expected and more.

The garden at the rear of the hotel is an oasis of tranquility, very quiet considering the proximity of the busy village man street.

Breakfast was excellent, we were repeatedly asked if we wanted more of anything. There was plenty to fill up a northern farmer and his wife!

Dinner was out of this world. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and we can honestly say that we've never eaten a meal as good. The 2 AA rosettes for the food was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. We didn't order a bottle of wine, we had house wine by the glass. Pinot Grigio and Merlot, which were both very nice.

Throughout our stay the staff were ALL excellent. Very friendly and we thought that the service was wonderful. My husband and I will definately be back, despite the 6 hour journey home!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Having paid £180 for a one night stay in a double room my wife and I did'nt expect 5 star accommodation (given the central location), but we did expect much better than we got.

Our room, No 14, was in the grand sounding 'Coach House', which turned out to be a small purpose built annex to the side of the hotel. The ground floor room was small and cluttered. We could have let that pass, but the ceiling creaked very loudly very time the occupant in the room on the first floor moved around. I guess we were unluckly, our upstairs neighbour moved around a lot - both late into the night and early the next day !. Fortunately it seemed to be a single occupant and not an active couple !.

Okay, we decided in the morning, we would let that pass and tuck into a good breakfast. No such luck. We both skipped the cooked option and had muesli and breakfast pastries. Can you imagine our astonishment when my wife asked for a second croissant and the waitress said no, we had already had one !.

I know £180 does not go far in a tourist trap like Bourton-On-The-Water, but I expect better facilities and service than a second rate B&B at Blackpool.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dog_types
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Pretty house, good food and timid service.
The general manager and most other staff seemed to scared to talk to anyone outloud, having been asked if everything was ok whilst the waitress was wringing her hands and at a volume hardly audible to humans, It is impossible to answer at anything above a whisper, this makes for a dining room more than half full where you could hear a pin drop. It was the same in the bar and in the lounge for tea in the afternoon. I felt like walking outside and singing at the top of my voice.
Having said that the staff are all very friendly and eager to please and the food is very good indeed.
They could do with an extravert barman of waiter to lift the atmosphere a little.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

The food was great and the location couldn't be better but the experience was let down by very average service (bordering on the Faulty Towers style at times - rude and incompetent although there was a v helpful Swiss gentleman who was leaving). Room was nothing to write home about and we even had to ask for soap and healthy growth of mold on the bathroom walls suggest limited cleaning. Thank God the weather was good so we could get out. Over-priced for what it is - go for dinner or lunch but don't bother staying there...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
2.6 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 25 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Property: Dial House Hotel
Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing