We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel!”
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Based on previous reviews, I think your stay will depend on the room you get. They obviously vary considerably, so ask for #17! It was on the top floor all by itself. A sloped-roof foyer lead to a canopied bed in a very large space. The bathroom was spacious and gorgeous with heated towel racks, a large shower, and modern amenities. The only negative was that they don't start serving breakfast until 8:30, which is a big drawback from those who are early-risers or there on business. But, it's in a great location for walking around this beautiful town and I'd certainly return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank MindyShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 543 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

September 2012. Beware the star rating, all is not as it seems.
The room was very expensive for what it offered.
On entrance it smelt musty, and was very small. There is a good reason why you can't view the bathrooms on the website, ours was so small the towel rail was inches above the toilet pan, lovely.
Try as you might you couldn't help but flood the floor, the grout, sealant and paint were tired and grubby, also, the shelf above the sink was falling off, as a result you couldn't place much on it, as we found out to our misfortune when our toothpaste fell off the shelf and into the loo! Granted it made us laugh, but what a shambles.
Believe me I am not a super fussy person, but when your paying good money and a place pro ports to be 'luxurious' you expect more.
Then came breakfast, we had to endure this twice. The food was so overdone the first morning the bacon shattered, I wondered if it was supposed to be that way and I was missing the point due to my simple tastes, no, it had been kept on the go forever. We had a dinner reservation which we cancelled due to this. Second morning still wasn't great, both mornings the service ground along like an arthritic sloth, we prerequested gluten free toast for my partner, which was obviously a monumental problem as she had to wait an age for it like everything else we ordered.
How can breakfast be an issue, usually you just eat it, smile and go about your business, for us,at The Dial House it was a feet of endurance.
I cannot believe this kitchen has culinary awards based on the quality of breakfast.
On leaving we weren't even asked how our stay was. I was too fed up to complain. Disgraceful.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited the Dial House on a Travelzoo accommodation deal, having been earlier in the year for a meal in the restautrant (again with Travelzoo).

Our accommodation was in the separate Coach House building, and we were allocated room 10 on the ground floor. It was a nice enough room but quite small even though it was classed as "superior". However this turned out not to be the biggest drawback with this room as we soon discovered! The stairs to the upper floor of the Coach House were next to our room and we could hear people going up and down stairs was alittle annoying, combined with the fact we were located right at the entrance to the hotel car park, and next to the glass bin servicing the hotel kitchen. The final straw came when we realised the staff toilet was adjacent to our room and the walls were paper thin!

To be fair to the hotel the receptionist she moved us to their only spare room for the night and was very apologetic, but I do feel classing this room as "superior" is a little optimistic.

The food was lovely, although I did notice we we offered the "Travelzoo" tasting menu which differed from the normal hotel tasting menu so I did feel just a little cheated. The restaurant lacked a little in atmosphere with very few diners even though it was a lovely summers evening and a Thursday, but our waitress was wonderful.

I would certainly eat here again, and may stay, but definately not in room 10.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10 - far too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on Sunday 9th August following a great deal from Travelzoo. We enjoyed a beautiful eight course tasting menu in the cosy dining area and stayed in the superior four poster room. This had a roll top bath which was just amazing. Our stay was perfect, the hotel is great and the food delicious. Service was also great from friendly staff who were really professional. Breakfast was yum and has a starter and main course - watch out for the green egg shells which are really novel. Can definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saw646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Travelzoo deal, one night B&B and 8 course taster menu for £159. We went on Thursday last. We were in the coachhouse upstairs and we had to go outside to get into the restaurant (and it was raining). The room was nice but the bathroom didn't have a window or a fan and the heated towel rail was on and pumping out hot air (no way to turn it off either), I will leave the problem with that to your imagination. Our bed was ultra soft which doesn't exactly suit us but is a personal thing. Wifi was included but we couldn't get it in the coachhouse. We thought that the venue was a lovely but full of small rooms. You were in a small room to have very expensive, pub measure drinks before the meal. The restaurant was also a small room but the atmosphere was lovely and food was very good (lots of froth and foam but it all tasted good). The service and reception was also very good. The breakfast the following morning was good too. I was happy with the amount we paid but not sure I would have wanted to pay the full price for this. The car parking onsite was good too although we had to wait for yet another delivery before we could leave. Would recommend but watch out for some good deals here.

Room Tip: If its winter then don't stay in the coachhouse. We were in room 9 and could see out to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolynJ419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Dial House with brother and sister in law for 5 nights at the end of Aug.
The 'fair': we were disappointed in the room (Room 12). While we did not personally mind the walk up about 15 stairs to the room, it could be problematic for others. The room reminded us of something you might find in your grandmother's house, along with similar decorating. While not in disrepair, it seemed that it could use an update. The bathroom was a good size and had a standing shower as well as a deep tub. The bed was very comfortable. There is no wifi in the separate guest house (4-5 roms) that are in this separate building, while there is wifi in the main building.
The 'great': staff is excellent, particularly the two ladies at the front desk and the manager Carl. Carl was there in the morning for breakfast, taking orders, serving and whatever else was required. He was there at 10:00 at night doing the same for dinner and lounge. Senior management should be consider themselves very lucky to have someone as dedicated as we found Carl to be. The food was outstanding, particularly the dinner menu, worthy of 5 star status. Breakfast was fine, with typical English breakfast offering as well as other choices.
There is a very nice garden behind the hotel. While we did not take the opportunity to sit and enjoy it, it looked like a nice place to have a tea or drink.
The hotel is in a great location,night in the middle of the small shops and is facing the very beautiful Windrush River (more of a stream).
Since this was our first visit to Great Britain we are not qualified to judge what may be normal or not, but we were slightly surprised that all pubs/hotels in Bourton on The Water appeared to shut down at about 10:30 pm. I only mention it to make others aware who may find this important, or who may want to do some research.
This location was a great place to base ourselves from for day tours aroundnth Cotswolds area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank bderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Travelzoo deal, one nights B&B and 8 course Chefs Taster menu.
What a cracking deal. The hotel is very pretty in the heart of Bourton-on- the-Water with its own car park, lovely gardens, although the torrential rain prevented a proper explore!
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Our room was at the top of the hotel, in the attic, nicely decorated and clean with views across to the river.The stairs are winding and narrow at the top so would be difficult for anyone with mobility issues.
We had a lovely pot of complimentary tea with cookies served in the lounge after we'd been out exploring.
Dinner was preceded by canopes in the lounge, beautifully presented and explained by the waiter.It included a pot of smoke infused froth to dip said canopes in, very interesting!
The dining room has a lovely atmosphere and as each course was brought out it was explained by the waiter, each was again beautifully presented, and all tasted divine. The portions, as you'd expect from a taster menu, aren't huge, but the attention to detail to each dish was stunning! Huge compliments to the chef.
We finished up with coffee and petit fours in the lounge, perfect end to a truly gorgeous dining experience.
The bed in the room was very comfortable, and there was no noise or light pollution where we were. Good choice of breakfast items, highly recommend the kippers!
All in all a great place to stay and eat, and with the deal we got, excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KazBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
722 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $112 - $1,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing