We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice - for a special treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really nice - for a special treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

my husband and i stayed here, dinner B&B, to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. the village is lovely (enjoyed a country walk in the morning to work off our very substantial breakfast!) and the hotel really quaint. it's definitely cottage style, so if tall like my husband you'll have to stoop a bit. the room was gorgeous and really clean, but if you want a bath ask (we didn't and only got a shower). dinner was really amazing. the food is fantastic and wines really good. breakfast similarly tasty and impressive. we were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    138
    66
    38
    18
See reviews for
47
347
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

A very nice hotel in a beautiful setting in the Cotswolds. Our room was small but very comfortable. The food was superb,and beautifully presented, although portions were small. The staff were first class, very helpful. A bit expensive, but worth every penny. A lovely birthday celebration.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights to enjoy the Victorian evening.
Wonderful location, very comfortable hotel and very friendly staff.
The room was warm and comfortable and although not large was more than adequate for 2 people and our dog. Toiletries provided, a nice touch and a jacuzzi bath.
Breakfast excellent, didn't eat at hotel for evening meals as a little pricey.
The village is delightful with lovely shops and plenty of places to eat.
The Christmas tree in the river was spectacular.
Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in coach house as we had our dog with us. Excellent room, dog made very welcome. Ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margarettanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Bedroom in Coach House clean and tidy dressing table small wardrobe small no chest of
draws for other clothes. heatng timed to come on at 17.00hrs did not . some one came and
re set clock eventually come on about 18.30 remote heatng system had no instructions .
Next morning no heating apparently caused by fuse triping was corrected. Breakfasts were
very good despite small tables and lots of clutter not helped by the large plates food served
on. heating did not come on in the evening the timer had been altered by previous fuse
trip ( could not understand as all Honeywell timers Have backup battery) this resulted in
Madam having a cold bath ( not good on a nice romantic weekend ) Sunday went out after
Breakfast arrived back at 14.00hrs room had not been cleaned Went to reception madam
was not happy asked for a reduction in bill due to problems this was agreed .
Upon settling bill was presented with full amount bill which was very quickly altered

Room Tip: room 9 coach house but check heating first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel at the same time of year for the last 5 years and although it has always been expensive we felt that the experience was worth the money. Not this time however, the room was one of their Superior rooms which although clean was not that large, the saving grace being the bathroom.
On arrival we found only one bedside lamp, a broken bin in the bathroom and no information folder - we had to guess how to adjust the heating. The light was replaced immediately but the bin was unusable for the rest of our stay.
We booked dinner for the first night (we usually eat there both nights) but was told that they were full for the second night - thank goodness for that! There was very little choice of food but between us we managed to order - the starter was a joke - I could hardly see it on the plate. The main was tasty but minuscule - I really felt they were having a joke at our expense especially the prices they charge. I don't normally have a pudding but if I had not I would have come away from the table hungry. We had so been looking forward to this break and I felt it had been spoiled by this. The second night we ate at the Rose Room across the road and thankfully portions were generous.
The breakfast was average although I had to leave the bacon as it had only been waved under the grill and was almost raw - I was not the only one to leave bacon.
We will not be staying again.

Room Tip: We normally stay in the Coach House - upstairs if you don't want to be disturbed by people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed for one night in October. Lovely hotel which is well situated in the village but the ground floor room we had was very small and the bathroom was minute. Perhaps the smallest I have come accross. Having said that, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. I hesitate to rate the hotel above average only because of the size of the accommodation vs the room price. Breakfast was very good but service was indifferent as was the reception. Perhaps because they were busy at the time of our visit. For the same reason the parking area was cramped and it was difficult to find parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPLEBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We booked for 3 nights - in one of their 4 most expensive rooms. The room was perfectly satisfactory but located in an adjacent coach house - not in the more characterful main hotel. The room had a private garden - but the weather was not good enough to use it.
Bathroom excellent and bed very comfortable.
Although there was cupboard space for hanging clothes - there was no chest of drawers to put clothes in - so had to keep non hanging clothes in our suitcases. Plenty of space in room - so cannot understand this?
Staff all very warm and friendly and all seemed interested in their guests.
When we stay at a good hotel - we prefer to eat there each night - as we like the ambience of eating in. The quality of the food is excellent - although food portions are small particularly for those with a "healthy appetite" This was a little disappointing.
The menu was limited to 5 starters - 5 main courses and 5 deserts. Excellent on night 1 and some corn chowder served as an amuse bouche. On night 2 same menu - so we chose something different - same amuse bouche. On night 3 - yes you have guessed it same menu - same amuse bouche......which was declined. What a pity! Cannot understand why a hotel with a restaurant serving such good quality food - could not vary its menu or even have one or two daily specials.
Breakfast was very good too - but no variations whatsoever.
Bourton on the Water is rather pretty - but suggest if you are going - limit your stay to 2 days - or if staying longer - eat out....on nights 3 et seq

Room Tip: Ask for a large room in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
2.6 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Property: Dial House Hotel
Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, LateRooms, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing