We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”

Review of Welcome Cottage

Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage Garden with patio dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage
Garden with patio dining
View of garden
Conservatory from garden
Conservatory seating 12
Sunny conservatory
Sitting room with fire
Sitting room
Sitting room with tv
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen with range cooker
Family room with fire and large tv
View of family room
Dining for 12
Dining room with inglenook fireplace
Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Ensuite shower
Front door Welcome Cottage
View from parking area
Steps to parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CLWToront...
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Six of us had our 47th year Grammar School reunion at Welcome Cottage mid July for 3 nights. We came from all over England & Canada and the location was perfect, very close to town but situated away from the tourist crowds. It was absolutely ideal for us as we each had our own bedroom and all were tastefully decorated. The cottage is cozy with a charming lounge, large dining room and a beautiful conservatory. The kitchen is so well equipped for large numbers and leaves you wanting for nothing. I would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Our warm appreciation to you for submitting these lovely comments. We are delighted to read them and thank you very much for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

6 'old friends ' met up for a reunion. We thought the house looked good, it exceeded all our expectations. Perfectly situated, a very short stroll from the village and absolutely beautiful inside and out. Nothing was missing, everything good quality. We were lucky enough to meet the owners who are as charming as the house. Would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Oh my goodness! Thank you sincerely for this lovely review and for taking time to prepare and submit it. We are blushing! It was such a pleasure to meet you all too!! Very entertaining!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLS2011
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful spacious house close to all Bourton on the Water's attractions”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a gorgeous house! We stayed here for 4 nights in April to celebrate my Mother-in-laws 90th birthday. The ground floor bedroom suite was perfect for her and there was plenty of room for 3 generations of family to spread out. All the rooms were beautifully furnished and felt very homely. The conservatory is a wonderful addition and was enjoyed in all weathers. We were lucky enough to have mostly warm, sunny days so even got to sit out in the lovely garden. Communication with the owners was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. My daughter left an item of clothing behind and this was parceled up and sent back to us at no cost. Thank you so much. Would love to return again in the future and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
We are so flattered to receive this lovely review from you.
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic comments which gave us much pleasure to read.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you Emma for taking time to write this lovely review. We do appreciate your complimentary words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eileen e
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a Family Reunion”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Chose this as a treat for my extended family, twelve of us ranging in age from 9 to 74. This fitted the bill perfectly as it is on 3 floors with 4 bathrooms, although a separate ground floor WC would have been helpful for the older folk. We thoroughly enjoyed the location,its very quiet yet only a 3 minute level walk to the village centre . All in all, a smartly furnished but cosy family house. We recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2017
Many thanks for your going to the trouble of submitting this very kind review after your visit. We savour your words and are appreciative of your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven T
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Annual family gathering to unite far flung members.”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Welcome Cottage is exactly that, Welcoming. Our party ranged through 3 generations and all came away longing to live there, in fact we all felt we did live there as it just felt right.The conservatory was a very popular room for family games, whilst two other sitting rooms provided a retreat for reading or TV. It was a treat to have our meals together at the dinning room table, quite a rarity these days to eat as a large family with the pleasure of good food and good company. Bourton on the Water is quintessential English village that provides excellent attractions, pubs and restaurants. We did venture further afield, the younger ones even hired bikes. I can thoroughly recommend Welcome Cottage, Bourton on the Water and the Cotswolds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
We are so pleased to read your lovely review about the cottage. Our sincere thanks for your very kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justsayin...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed February 4, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Welcome cottage is the perfect rental cottage for a long weekend in the Cotswolds. At no point do you feel like you're in rental accommodation, the standard and quality of the entire house is spectacular and so homely. The facilities are perfect for a large group of 12 and the kitchen is well stocked with all the necessities to cater for so many. The welcome hamper was a thoughtful touch. I honestly couldn't recommend this place enough, if you are looking for a quiet, quaint weekend - look no further !!! I'm trying to find an excuse to book another weekend.

Lastly to add, the owners were a pleasure to deal with from start to finish. Thank you Welcome cottage for a perfect weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
We are so happy to receive your very kind comments about the cottage and thank you most sincerely for all your warm and enthusiastic words.
Yes, we would love you to book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing