We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST COTTAGE IN BOURTON ON WATER”

Review of Welcome Cottage

Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage Garden with patio dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage
Garden with patio dining
View of garden
Conservatory from garden
Conservatory seating 12
Sunny conservatory
Sitting room with fire
Sitting room
Sitting room with tv
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen with range cooker
Family room with fire and large tv
View of family room
Dining for 12
Dining room with inglenook fireplace
Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Ensuite shower
Front door Welcome Cottage
View from parking area
Steps to parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pemmy12
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEST COTTAGE IN BOURTON ON WATER”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

WELL what a lovely cottage one of the best we stayed in beautiful rooms all nicely decorated and very clean and right on the of every think all in walking distance will be back next yr.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
WELL .... what a really lovely review! We are VERY appreciative of your enthusiastic and kind words and are so pleased that you have booked with us again for next year. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay once again”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For the second year in a row we have had a fantastic time at welcome cottage. Great location, fabulous house (cottage does not do it justice!) and we had lovely weather! A top weekend had by all the family! We have booked again for next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
We are most appreciative of this lovely review that you have given. Thank you very much for taking the time and making the effort to do this. We are very pleased that you like the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palurie
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family is now spread around the globe, so when my mother had a special birthday we all decided to meet up in the Cotswolds (where we grew up) to celebrate. We found this 'cottage' only by reviews on trip advisor.

When you drive into Bourton on the water, it is filled with tourists (on a summer's day) and yet just 100 yards or less from all this action is the Welcome Cottage.

The house is on a quiet street with plenty of parking and a beautiful quintessential English garden. You cannot tell there are so many tourists during the day! Perfect to sit in and watch little ones play or just to drink tea! The good news is that in the evening the tourists leave and you can roam the village going to the pubs/restaurants, to your hearts content.

The house is spacious and beautifully renovated. The housekeeper, who lives in the village, is only a short distance away and willing to help you if you come across a problem (which we did not but it was nice to know she was there).

We had extended family come by one of the days and had 13 to sit down for dinner and the space was perfect! With a large dining area and 3 separate seating areas to relax, you won't get too overwhelmed living under one roof!

The first floor master bedroom is an extension of the ground floor and perfect if you have someone who cannot get up stairs or is just appreciative of their extra bit of privacy.

The other five bedrooms are also spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are modern and clean, as guests, due to the limestone "hard water," you are asked to merely wipe the water marks from the the shower doors after use which helps to keep things in good order for future guests and is no hardship to do.

Having a washer and dryer made things easy for guests who were extending their trip to other parts of Europe so you can pack lightly. The fully equipped kitchen also means you don't have to bring anything except the food! There is a co-op in town and a Tesco on the Fosse way to Stow (short drive).

All in all I highly recommend this cottage for a summer's visit, and I am sure its perfect in other seasons too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
You have written such a beautiful review and we greatly appreciate your taking time to do that and in the process giving details of aspects that particularly appealed to your group. Thank you so much for these very warm words - we are so happy to read them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie J
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage, great location”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at this lovely Cottage with a group of friends, but would also be great for a family holiday. All of the bedrooms were a really good size and beautifully decorated. There is a huge dining room and some nice outside seating space too. We spent most of our time in the large conservatory, which was lovely and bright.

Great location, as only a minute walk to shops and some lovely pubs and restaurants. I would recommend a trip to the Croft for food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lots of receptions space, fab conservatory
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you so much Ellie for writing this warm and complimentary review. We are really pleased to hear that you had a good time there with your group. Thanks to you too for leaving the cottage in such lovely condition - we went there straight after you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmdek0ck
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like Home...”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

With its perfect location and unique setup this house allowed us to enjoy the town and each others company in what was (regrettably now) a short stay. The layout of the house and the kitted out rooms made it feel like home. The house was fully stocked and beautifully furnished in a pretty English country style with a stunning little garden to frame it all.

Everyone who stayed there and visiting guests commented on how lovely it was - From the garden, where we bbq'd, to the kitchen and the lovely big conservatory, to the central dining room with stunning fireplace, no room was underused.

An added feature were the televisions in nearly every room which everyone loved as there was the UEFA Euro 2016 and the Wimbledon to be watched. I would recommend this house to anyone who wishes to be close to town and still enjoy the countryside which is unique to the Cotswolds.

Thank you to Margaret and David who were more than willing to answer any questions I had beforehand - Very helpful and very friendly! We will come again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
We are delighted to receive your beautiful, enthusiastic review.
Many thanks for taking time and effort to write this. We do appreciate such warm words. It's heart-warming for us to learn that you really enjoyed the cottage so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAG195907
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable for a large group”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A stunning property very well equipped and comfortable. Our group of 10 particularly enjoyed being able to all sit comfortably in the beautiful conservatory looking out onto the well maintained garden. The large dining room table was also a treat. Very nice bathrooms.

The house is away from the bustle of the main village centre but close enough to walk to all amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory
Liked least: Narrow kitchen but we knew that from previous reviews and unavoidable in an older property
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely words about Welcome Cottage. We appreciate this very kind feedback and are pleased that your group enjoyed all the birthday celebrations there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glawson54
Rothesay, Canada
1 review
“a 'brilliant' home/cottage in a charming town”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A group of 11 of us (siblings and some spouses) members) stayed at the cottage for 5 days. It was delighful. The property is very well maintained and is charming. While we spent most of the time hiking in various of the Cotswolds region (which was also a delight), the time we spent at the cottage was truly enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful as well. The owners were very responsive and helpful when we were looking for information about the region and helpful in getting the payment to them- thank you David and Margaret. We would love to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the charm of the property and the beautiful sunroom.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
We very much appreciate your submitting this lovely review. Sincere thanks for taking time to do that and give us such warm feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing