We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage”

Review of Robins Nest

Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susiemidd...
middx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful with plenty of space inside very quaint and well equipped and only minutes walk to the village

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Many thanks for taking time to submit a lovely complimentary review after your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation - that is our aim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldredtra...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here with family. A group of 9 ladies. The location is perfect, close to pub and the beautiful town centre. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable. There is a nice outside sitting area with plastic chairs and fake grass but ok. That's the good bits. The house was dirty. Cobwebs, dirt and dust everywhere. There was only one smoke alarm downstairs and that had no battery. How dangerous is that? The sitting room only had seating for 5 people, not the 10 advertised. We had to carry through 4 small wicker chairs ( not large comfy ones) which made 9 seats ,from another room. You need £1 coins for the electricity meter. I'm sure this could be a lovely place to stay if it was cleaned and more comfy seats and working smoke alarms were added.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2015
We are very sorry to read your comments as our sincere aim is to have happy guests and we hate to disappoint. We were quite shocked at your review as all our other reviews of Robins Nest are really good ones so we did not expect this. We have phoned the person in your group who booked the cottage to discuss it with her - but found that this is not her review but rather was sent in by some unidentified person in the group under her name without her knowledge. We asked for her comments and she confirmed that the smoke alarm needed a new battery, that they wished there were 10 permanent chairs in the sitting room rather than having to augment with the armchairs from the kitchen, that they noticed some cobwebs among a couple of beams - for which we apologise but they do form very quickly in old houses, that there were fingermarks on the front of one of the microwaves, the wine rack was dusty, there were some rice grains left in one of the cupboards - but that otherwise the cottage was clean- the floors, carpets, kitchen cupboards and countertops, cooker, fridge, bathrooms, toilets, showers. beds, bedding etc.etc. She did not know that someone was going to write a review in her name and had not intended to submit a review herself. We can only apologise for the issues brought to our attention and promise to address them - but we do wish to challenge the description that the house was dirty as we ourselves went into the cottage immediately after these guests and it was not.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2015
We are so pleased that you liked the cottage and thank you very much for taking time to submit such a lovely review of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan000
Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed at Robins Nest and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's a charming, traditional Cotswold home with beautifully presented rooms and a nice garden. Anne was most helpful on our arrival and a basket of goodies was waiting for us...thoroughly appreciated! For our December visit the house was even decorated for Christmas which made it extra special.The location, only minutes walk from the town centre, was perfect for us. Cannot fault the Robins Nest. Looking forward to a return visit...hopefully sooner rather than later.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
It was lovely to read your very kind review.
Many thanks for your warm words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siva P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base to explore the Cotswolds”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed between Christmas and New Year and found the cottage very well appointed, warm and cosy. The bedrooms offered enough flexibility to accommodate our diverse group and the living space was also generous.
Bourton-on-the-water is a fantastic village to stroll around and offers plenty of restaurants and tea rooms, as well as the miniature village and birdland.
Can't say enough how organised the owners have been in ensuring that instructions are clear and readily available.
We would certainly like to return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
We appreciate very much your taking time to write us a lovely review. Sincere thanks - and we hope you will return at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
We greatly appreciate the kind words you have written about the cottage. Thank you very much for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
O'Connell...
Woy Woy, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really felt this was a home away from home. We travelled as four couples and found the house gave us plenty of privacy when needed but also plenty of room to interact as a group. Situated close to village centre it was great as we could walk everywhere.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
We appreciate your very kind review and are pleased that you enjoyed Robins Nest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing