We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We chose this hotel as result of its TripAdvisor rating and weren’t disappointed. We had no problems with our room (29 - in the Coach House) or the plumbing. The room was clean and spacious, the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was fully booked on our first night, so we had a good ‘pub grub’ meal at the Kingsbridge, just over the road. We had a lovely meal in the Croft on the second evening. Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked. I’m not a great one for fruit in the morning, but couldn’t resist the bowl of fresh fruit salad! Chester House has an excellent position in the village - everything is just a short walk away.
Bourton on the Water is a good centre from which to explore the Cotswolds. It is a pretty village with a choice of pubs, restaurants, attractions and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Chester House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 714 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Visited in March for a weekend break with partner. Wonderful hotel and excellent service by the staff. We stayed in the coach house, which is accessed through its own entrance. Very Good Room and had everything that we needed. The main hotel has a breakfast room, seating area and bar. Main restaurant is outside the main hotel, 1 minutes walk across the road. Food was very good and service excellent.
Hotel is ideally located in a central position. The car park only has 18 spaces but there are 22 rooms. However, there is parking available in near by car park and on side streets.
If we were coming back here, we would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend break in Bourton on the Water. We stayed at the Chester House Hotel, in the Coach House. Our room must have been next to a boiler room or something similar because we could hear a constant noise through the walls which disrupted our sleep. Apart from that, our stay was very pleasant, the staff friendly and efficient and the breakfasts were so tasty. The hotel is very well located, the village is picturesque with plenty of things to see and places to visit. We also ate lunch and dinner in The Croft, a restaurant belonging to the same owner and the food was very good on both occassions.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed at Chester House for 3 nights during a relaxing girlie weekend. It is ideally situated in the middle of the village, with its own carpark. The village amenities are all in an easy level walk - lots of gift shops, pretty river, restaurants etc. It was lovely wandering around the village after breakfast, and after a busy day just to walk up the road for an evening meal.

The Croft restaurant is owned by the Chester - I returned with my family last weekend for a very pleasant lunch.

The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely, and we relaxed late into the evening on the cosy sofas in the bar area.

Bourton is within easy driving distance of various tourist attractions - we visited Studely Castle and Hidcote Manor gardens during our stay.

I would certainly recommend Chester House to family & friends, and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PotDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I would highly recommend the Chester house hotel which is in a beautiful location. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the coach house and had an excellent room. It was clean and spacious. We were made to feel welcome and had two lovely meals in the hotel’s restaurant. We have already made a booking for someone else to stay there and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Ideal location right in the centre of town, can park the car and leave it as many lovely walks. Hotel staff all very friendly & helpful, food at the hotel first class & their Croft restaurant equally as good.
Complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding a lovely surprise will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madelaine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I have stayed at the chester house 3 times now (and have 3 'chester' ducks to prove it :D

The first time I stayed was with my disabled mother. The disabled room is really well set out.

The second time I stayed was with my partner upstairs in the coach house, again a wonderful room.

third time was with my partner in the main hotel. gorgeous :)

The hotel is privately owned and very,very well cared for. All the rooms appear to be different. Public spaces are beautifully maintained and all staff are friendly.

the price is outstanding value. the hotel is right in the very centre of Bourton on the water.

as a smoker I would recommend the coach house as there is a covered area outside where you can smoke without getting wet :)

My only gripe is that you can't stay in the coach house for one night, there appears to be a 2 night policy.

go there and get yourself a chester :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank featherfusions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $127 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing