We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favourite hotel :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“my favourite hotel :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

I have stayed at the chester house 3 times now (and have 3 'chester' ducks to prove it :D

The first time I stayed was with my disabled mother. The disabled room is really well set out.

The second time I stayed was with my partner upstairs in the coach house, again a wonderful room.

third time was with my partner in the main hotel. gorgeous :)

The hotel is privately owned and very,very well cared for. All the rooms appear to be different. Public spaces are beautifully maintained and all staff are friendly.

the price is outstanding value. the hotel is right in the very centre of Bourton on the water.

as a smoker I would recommend the coach house as there is a covered area outside where you can smoke without getting wet :)

My only gripe is that you can't stay in the coach house for one night, there appears to be a 2 night policy.

go there and get yourself a chester :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank featherfusions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    222
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
128
402
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

What a lovely place. The staff are a credit to this hotel, i have never felt more at home!
The room was cozy & warm with a lovely big soft bed. The food was just perfect but for me this place was the staff and they will be the reason i will be booking again next year and the reason i felt compelled to write a review. Thank you all so much for looking after us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarplumfairy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Recently spent a weekend at The Chester House Hotel. The hotel is ideally located in the middle of the village with most places within walking distance. The hotel has a resonable sized car park compared with others nearby but it can get busy so try and arrive early. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room clean and well laid out. We stayed in one of the 4 poster bed rooms which cost £120 per night B&B. The breakfast was good, although not huge. The hotel's restaurant is called "The Croft" and is located opposite the hotel. We ate there the first night and were so impressed with the food that we returned the second night. There was a good selection on the menu, fair prices, and the food was of excellent quality with a lot of local produce appearing to be used.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandSBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

I stayed at The Chester House Hotel for 2 nights in a (huge) twin room with my mum. The hotel is lovely and all the staff very friendly and helpful. It's in a great location for exploring Bourton which is busy all year round. No problem at all parking in the car park. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of choice. We also ate in The Croft restaurant where I had the most delicious burger I've ever tasted - oh and the puddings are delicious and huge! The one thing that could be improved with the room we stayed in was the bathroom. It was spotlessly clean, but very dated. A new white bathroom suite would make all the difference! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Chester house is a great place to stay on Bourton as its so close to the centre of the village and yet not right at the front of the tourist route. We were able to park in the car park on every occasion. The staff were all so very friendly and helpful too. Our room was great and we had lots of storage space so that all our luggage was tucked away from view. We liked the two sinks in the bathroom too ! We only ate at the restuarant on one occasion and the service and food was good. We are certainly planning to go back again in Feb and next time we will take the dog and stayb in the pet friendly room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Having stayed with family including children the hotel was perfect. The location was excellent and we didn't use the cars at all. The staff were extremely friendly with a special mention to Nick in the bar who went out of his way for all of us. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tescocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hotel is very central, very clean, and the staff courteous and helpful.Breakfast is taken in the hotel and is freshly prepared and excellent.We had dinner in their Croft Restaurant just opposite , and that was very good.And good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing