We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I stayed at The Chester House Hotel for 2 nights in a (huge) twin room with my mum. The hotel is lovely and all the staff very friendly and helpful. It's in a great location for exploring Bourton which is busy all year round. No problem at all parking in the car park. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of choice. We also ate in The Croft restaurant where I had the most delicious burger I've ever tasted - oh and the puddings are delicious and huge! The one thing that could be improved with the room we stayed in was the bathroom. It was spotlessly clean, but very dated. A new white bathroom suite would make all the difference! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    235
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
135
439
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottm
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Chester house is a great place to stay on Bourton as its so close to the centre of the village and yet not right at the front of the tourist route. We were able to park in the car park on every occasion. The staff were all so very friendly and helpful too. Our room was great and we had lots of storage space so that all our luggage was tucked away from view. We liked the two sinks in the bathroom too ! We only ate at the restuarant on one occasion and the service and food was good. We are certainly planning to go back again in Feb and next time we will take the dog and stayb in the pet friendly room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Having stayed with family including children the hotel was perfect. The location was excellent and we didn't use the cars at all. The staff were extremely friendly with a special mention to Nick in the bar who went out of his way for all of us. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tescocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hotel is very central, very clean, and the staff courteous and helpful.Breakfast is taken in the hotel and is freshly prepared and excellent.We had dinner in their Croft Restaurant just opposite , and that was very good.And good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Chester House Hotel was an absolute delight in the most beautiful little village Bourton-on-the-Water. Let me start off by congratulating Donna who took us under her wing( and mind you we were 14 people) and gave us an excellent weekend in the Cotswold.
The Hotel has some excellent rooms some larger than the others but none the else had its own distinctive character. The restaurant Croft served us some great food. The staff was so obliging and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
I would strongly advice all to go the this hotel and cannot understand how any one can come away disappointed.
And lastly thank you Mary.....

  • Liked — The People at the Hotel, as well as the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tabch2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed in the triple room

It was not large but ok

the double bed had the worst matress sadly and the stairs up and down were a bit of a apin for my elerdrly grandmother .

But everything else was top notch great breakfast and service and the staff were very friendly and what an amazing town
scones and cream by the river is a must
Lots of diffrent little pubs doing great meals so be adventurous
we aussies loved it

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freemedear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

MB&SB Oswestry

We stayed at the Chester House Hotel this weekend. After much researching for a hotel to stay at in Bourton on the Water we decided to give the Chester House Hotel a try and what a great decision it was. A fantastic hotel in a superb location. We arrived on the Friday evening and settled into our ground floor courtyard room. Room was lovely, clean and tidy and had everything you could want for a weekend stay. The bar was cosy and welcoming and the full english breakfasts in the breakfast room overlooking the lovely garden were outstanding and really set you up for a day exploring the village.

We will definately be coming back for another visit. The staff were friendly and very helpful and couldnt do enough for you. Well done Nick, you are a huge credit to the hotel.

The hotels restaurant across the road called The Croft is a must. We had meals here both nights and couldnt fault anything. The food was outstanding. We are so pleased we made reservations as many people got turned away by just turning up hoping to get a table on spec. The only bad thing I have to stay about mine and my wifes stay is that we blame the Hotel and the restaurant for our increased waistlines. Food top notch. ;-) Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
553 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing