We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Attractive hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were given a warm welcome on arrival at the hotel and were fortunate in being able to check-in and take up our room at 1 pm, as it had been prepared by then. The twin beds which we had been promised turned out to be a double bed but we were assured that it would be converted into two 2ft 6in singles during the afternoon. By the time we returned from a tour of the village, this had been done. It is some time since we have slept in such narrow beds. The modest size of our ground floor room was adequate for our needs, although the absence of a carpet was at odds with hotel photos of other rooms. The décor was in immaculate condition and in a striking, modern style, comprising bold broad bands of various shades of brown. The furniture was somewhat distressed but this may have been intended as part of a shabby-chic appeal. The drawer and cupboard space was large enough for a stay of a few days. The en-suite bathroom was in a similar modern style, with an unusual rectangular wash basin perched on top of a small vanity unit. The bath/shower was welcome and was missing only a grab-rail which would have helped older people to get out of the bath. The low level lighting around the mirror was appreciated during the night when making a visit. The night’s sleep left us with some back ache due to the firmness of the mattress. The discomfort was alleviated to some extent by sleeping on top of the duvet and using just the coverlet for warmth, which in Summer was quite enough. Other ground floor guests found, like us, that the noise from people in the rooms above provided an unwelcome disturbance. The standard British cooked breakfast could not be faulted and was enough to keep most people going all day. The hotel is situated close to the village centre but down a side street, so that it was quiet but yet provided a perfect place to park the car. In high season, a vacant parking place in the village is almost as rare as hen’s teeth. At £95 for bed and breakfast for two, it was probably good value in Bourton. Beware of trying to use your TomTom SatNav to get there. All postcodes in Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold are automatically converted into destinations in Cheltenham for some unaccountable reason. This is a very convenient place to stay when visiting the village.

Room Tip: An upstairs room is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    226
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
132
426
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

A group of us stayed for a couple of nights for a walking holiday. Our bedroom (No 19) was a good size, although our bathroom was very small. Also I think we may have been at the end of the run for water, as the hot tap took 5-10 minutes to produce hot water, but plenty of it when it did get going. Breakfasts were good and the staff friendly. There are two restaurants linked to it for evening meals - and we had one meal at each. The Croft - English type meals, and an Italian restaurant. All meals were well presented, very tasty, and the tiramisu was to die for. Although portion sizes were variable - my portion of tiramisu was much larger than my husband's.

The hotel is well situated in the middle of Bourton, and we found plenty of walks to do from the hotel without using our cars.

Would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The location is good and the restaurant is nicely designed.We had from the menu the seabass which had no taste at all, nor the fish or the vegetables that came with it. The burger was good and also the beef steak. Nothing special

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank itistul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my partner when we came to the Cotswolds to do some walking.

Firstly, the positives - the young staff were very good and the communal areas of the hotel were decorated beautifully. On entering the hotel and seeing the lovely decor my hopes we high, but unfortunately the room was far below this standard. The Italian restaurant in the hotel was good, we enjoyed our meal here. The location of the hotel is excellent, very central for the village and walks in the surrounding area.

I should say that we booked the cheapest category of room. However, the room was poor - and not at all in keeping with the trendy, pretty image the hotel projects on its website. To start with, the room was in a seperate outhouse section of the hotel, which it shared with a store cupboard. From the room we could hear staff using this store-room quite loudly. Also the little landing outside the room/store-room was really dirty - there was an electricity box on the wall right next to our room door that was covered in dead insects and dust! The room also had a very strong aroma of bleach or cleaning products which was unpleasant.

The decor was 'budget' in appearance and looked very cheap. Not cheap and simple (which would have been fine) but cheap and nasty! The curtains were way too long for the window, so were all gathered in pools of fabric on the floor. The nets were also too long for the windows, so hung over the window sill. This lack of attention to detail is revealing. The bathroom was very small, which isn't a problem - but the shower leaked, which is! The head of the shower was broken so sprayed water in all directions, including to the ceilling and over the top of the shower enclosure - so the room was soaked after a shower. The plug socket nearest the bed was really dusty.

The breakfast was average - I sent back my fried eggs which were very undercooked, and saw two other tables do the same. Also the first morning I had a vegetarian sausage, but the second morning I was told that the hotel don't serve veggie sausage! Strange.

All in all it was a functional base for walking, but fell far short of the pretty, romantic hotel we had hoped for. While I am aware that we booked the cheaper category of room, it was not worth the money that we paid for it. The hotel projects a certain image on the website, but this particular room falls far short of that. While the hotel's Italian restaurant was good, we had a very bad meal at The Croft, also owned by the hotel. I will post a review seperately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMariaB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location but a very tired room. We did mention that we were disappointed with the room but we were told this was a "Better" not a good and not the best " the pictures were of the best "
Nothing outrageous but just disappointed.
Great location

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gaz1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in the Chester House Hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. Throughout the stay this remained to be the case. Any questions or requests we had were no trouble and they were always happy to help. Our room was beautifully decorated with all of the essential (freeview tv, tea/coffee etc). The bathroom was modern and kept clean with complimentary toiletries. The breakfast which was included within the stay was exceptional. We had a full english, toast and a hot drink and we could request more if we had liked. We could also help ourselves to the buffet (cereals, patries, fruit and juices). We had our first night's meal at The Croft restaurant which is owned by the hotel. Situated on the riverside, the service was excellant and the meal itself was faultless.
The hotel is located a street off the riverside, in a perfect location for the local attractions of the Dragonfly Maze, Birdland, Motor Museam and the Model Villiage which are all within walking distance away.
Overall, our stay could not have been any better, i would definietly reccomend the hotel and would stay there on future visits.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJH2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent room, excellent breakfast !!! Bourton on the water is a lovely place with excellent attractions (apart from the model village). Would definitely recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryhounddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing