We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab...even with slight room problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2008

We arrived on the Monday night to be greeted at reception by a very friendly man who gave us the room key and explained what time breakfast was, how to lock the door etc.

We were staying in room 15...to begin with: as we arrived quite late we literally dumped our bags went for a bit of a walk and then came back...straight to bed. The room was lovely and the hall way smelt of cleaning product, the bathroom was a slight disappointment with a beige suit, not the usual white you come to expect, it seem they had tried to make the best of what they had. As we left that night we were asked if we wanted a meal in the adjoining restaurant, we declined assuming we would be able to on another night (they never told us that its closed Tues. and wens evenings, which kind of screwed our plans).

After a lovely night we left early in the morning, and arrived back to a clean and fresh room, the maids were fantastic...even winding wires around electrical appliances, and folding up clothes. That nice we put the tele on and then my partner went to have a shower - the pluming was slightly dodgy, but this was explained in a laminated instruction sheet. After a few mins all the lights went out...but only in our room. My partner rang reception and the lady was very apologetic and it was sorted in mins. Then I has a call into the bathroom to find water leaking from the seal around the base of the toilet, it wasn’t dirty but we couldn’t be sure it was clean either. We mopped it up with a towel and rang down to reception again; the lady (who we assumed to be the owner) came up and looked. She said we could either move room or use another bathroom, depending on what was easier for us. Luckily we hadn’t unpacked to we opted for a move.

We ended up in the four-poster room, which again was done to a very high standard. The bathroom this time was white and very clean, however again there was a laminate with instructions on the dodgy plumbing. We had a lovely stay and recommend the croft for a meal, we went one lunchtime and it was lovely.

Overall fab stay even with hitches. and the breakfast was dead good too.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xxemmaxx_905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 739 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2008

Bourton on water is a great location and very pretty village.
The food at the hotel were excellent, breakfast made to order.
We stayed in the coach house for 3 nights, after our first night we asked to move rooms because the boiler room was next door which sounded like a marching band. The staff were very helpful and let us look at all the available rooms and choose which one we wanted. The hotel has plenty of parking which is great as you will stuggle to park in Bourton. Lots of nice shops , I would avoid the model village- biggest waste of money. The location is ideal for discovery the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joeycoolcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed at the Chester House Hotel for two nights, and having visited the website and taken a look at the rooms on-line we were looking forward to our stay.

We had a ground floor double room in the coach house. The room itself was okay, although nothing to get too excited about. The bedding was clean, although there were quite a few spider webs around the room! The green carpet didn't help either!!I

The noise levels from the room above was a problem. The floor boards are obviously very thin and creaky, so any movement made upstairs could be heard, as well as people talking!

One other thing was around about 3.30am/4.30am on both mornings a loud noise could be heard, which lasted for about 20 minutes, if not longer. We are not 100% sure what this was, but can only assume it had something to do with the heating/water system. I'm surprised no one else has commented about this, but maybe we are just light sleepers!!

On checking out we didn't bother mentioning the above to the receptionist as the stay was over and we knew in our own minds that we wouldn't be returning. Maybe if we had, we would have received a discount or even been able to move room, but whoever had the room we were in would have had similar problems.

Parking was also a problem. I would suggest that if you plan on driving you arrive early to ensure you get a parking slot.

On a positive note, we did eat at the restaurant on one of the nights, and cannot complain about the service or the food. The breakfast was spot on, and the staff were very friendly and tentative.

All in all, if you are considering staying at the Chester House Hotel, I would recommend that you do, but just ensure if you do end up staying in the coach house that your room is on the first floor and not the ground........

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ted-Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. The whole downstairs has been recently refurbished and is now very modern in a traditional old building. The rooms were well equiped and comfortable, although as it is an old building the floor boards were rather noisy!
The breakfast was excellent, with the hot food being cooked to order. Also the hotel restaurant was faultless. The bar was a little pricey, but very comfy sofas and friendly staff.
Bourton itself is a lovely village, especially when the sun shines. There are lots of quaint tea rooms and shops, also a few pubs and restaurants. There are plenty of places to go out and about, and all within easy access.
We ended up staying an extra night as we didn't want it all to end!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sazmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Had another great weekend in Bourton, The Chester House Hotel was lovely and all the staff were lovely too. Couldn't fault a thing, Would definatly recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing, lovely holiday. Rooms were to high standard as seen on the web site, spacious and very clean. Would recomend this hotel to anyone A++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Snoop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I have had the pleasure of staying here several times, and each time I fancy a relaxing weekend its deffinatley the right choice to make everytime. From the warm welcome at reception, incrediable attention to detail, soft cosy beds, a real treat. The modern bar is a great place to relax with a lovely glass of wine in the evening, and the friendly owners add to to atmosphere. I have also enjoyed fabulous meals at the resturant accross the road. I give credit to the owners for creating such a fantastic retreat, keep up the great work. I look forward to coming up again soon, and enjoying the proffessional hospitality of yourselves and your fabulous team.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOPHIE039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We fancied a nice relaxing weekend in a 4 poster bed in quaint sourroundings of a cotswold village. It's not what you expect it to be, the room was good, clean and lovely new bathroom, the 4 poster was a modern one, quite wabbly to touch. Check your shower a.s.a.p. ours was running cold. The car park was so over crowded and we had to block someone in, only to get scouled at by it's owner the following morning. The resturant is over the road, so take a brolly and coat!! Its more of a cafe really, with tables squashed it and bright lights and customers that keep their hats and top coats on. If you intend to use it get in 1st as they run out of food, and over book, we had our meal at 9.45 after making an 8.15 res! The aim overall the village is pack em in and squezze what you can out of em'. Our advice would be to stay at a lager 4* with pools etc at Glos or Cheltenham and just travel in for the day. Then you get the best of both worlds!! The food was a little better in Stow, we did have a great sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabelle029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,354 reviews
11 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
994 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,099 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $109 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing