We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent a weekend in this English village recently. Stayed at the Chester House. We have been to many places throughout the U.K. ( New Forest, Brighton, Richmond, Windsor and throughout London). This area is on the top of our list so far. The landscape is beautiful. In town by the Chester House are many places to eat and shop. There is a brook that runs through the village where ducks spend the day. A great place for families with small children to feed and watch the ducks float by. The Chester House was fantastic. We had a second floor room just off the parking lot. The room was perfect, spotless. Breakfast was fine at the hotel also. The staff is super friendly as is everyone we met in the village. Go there if you can, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Second floor, or as they say in the UK - the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Chester House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 1 night stay at the Chester House Hotel (April'13) and found the place wonderful. The accomodation was fantastic, we had room 26 which overlooks the garden and is up above the car park. There was very little noise and we had a fully equipped bathroom with a bath and shower over the top. The breakfast in the morning was superb, with a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, orange juice and tea and a lovely cooked breakfast. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, and we will definately be booking for another stay. The Croft restaurant across the road was also a lovely place to eat but pre-book to avoid disappointment as it does get busy at times.

Room Tip: We had room 26 which overlooks the garden and is up above the car park. There was very little noise...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights after Easter. Rooms lovely, warm and very clean. Our room was not within the main block but rather at the end of the car park which was fine as long as it wasn't pouring down with rain as then a quick sprint! Breakfast was help yourself to cereal, fresh fruit, croissants and yoghurt, toast and cooked food was done to order and whatever combination you wanted. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Booked in to have an evening meal over at their restaurant 'The Croft' a very short walk away. Only moan would be the Wi-Fi which is listed a free which is ok however wasn't available in the room we were in only in the main block of the hotel and then very, very slow.

Room Tip: You may want to check the room you have been allocated is within the hotel building.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights. No single rooms so had to pay for a double for our mum. Rooms well appointed and bright and cheery. Very quiet - could have been there by ourselves. Have to go to the restaurant across the road for dinner. OK but no real incentive to stop you dining elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked in at a moments notice as badly let down by another hotel. A warm inviting hotel, with friendly efficient staff .The room ( 19 ) was warm and very clean with a lovely view across the Windrush. The bathroom was a little small but to a very good standard. Booked at table for dinner which was cooked to perfection and very reasonable for the quality of food.
Will definately be staying here again and recommending it to friends..Great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whosyabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the Easter weekend and, having stayed here before, knew what to expect and we were not disapointed. Our room ( No 14) was very clean and tidy and had a nice view of the High Street.
The breakfasts are cooked to order and are very tasty, poached eggs cooked to perfection. The evening meals, whther taken in the hotel or the sister restaurant, The Croft are excellent and very good value for money. I would definately recommend the seabass.
The main thing which really stands out for me is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and everything is done with a smile. A credit to the owners.
now for the little things that stop me given the hotel 5 stars. The plumbing is run on some kind of pump system and can be noisy in the middle of the night. The shower seemed to have a mind of its own, one second gushing like Niagra, the next second dribbling like an old man with prostate trouble.
The car park is not big enough for the number of rooms and it can be difficult reversing out. And the last little thing, which considering it's free I feel wrong moaing about it. The free wifi seemed awfully slow, I've had quicker dial up.
We will definatley be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in room 12 a very large comfortable room with a huge bed. The room and bathroom were spotless and very comfortable. The weather was freezing so we spent more time in our room than we normally would so it was nice having a sofa from which we wath a bit of tv or just relax and read. Dining room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent with just the right choices from full English to croissants. The bar was very comfortable and a nice place to chill. We ate at the Croft over the road which was excellent a very good and varied menu with a specials menu every day. The staff in both the hotel and restaurant were very friendly and always so helpful they made our stay a pleasure. Thank you Chester house we would recommend you to anyone

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12. A huge room with sofa bathroom small but adequate and always spotless it is a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $127 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing