We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in room 12 a very large comfortable room with a huge bed. The room and bathroom were spotless and very comfortable. The weather was freezing so we spent more time in our room than we normally would so it was nice having a sofa from which we wath a bit of tv or just relax and read. Dining room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent with just the right choices from full English to croissants. The bar was very comfortable and a nice place to chill. We ate at the Croft over the road which was excellent a very good and varied menu with a specials menu every day. The staff in both the hotel and restaurant were very friendly and always so helpful they made our stay a pleasure. Thank you Chester house we would recommend you to anyone

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12. A huge room with sofa bathroom small but adequate and always spotless it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    222
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
128
402
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a couple of nights at the Chester House. It was just what we were looking for. The atmosphere was welcoming and relaxed. A lovely bar area to sit in with plenty of space. Our room (no 12) was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower was great and again, spotlessly clean. All the staff were helpful and attentive. The dinner in the Croft restaurant over the road was very good and again, the staff were brilliant. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottecurtis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Chester House Hotel on the 15th and 16th March 2013' We stayed in room 15, which was cozy and comfortable, it had a huge bed, flat screen TV, plenty of storage space, tea making facilities and a sofa. The bathroom was plush with a power shower and his n hers sinks.

Breakfast was served between 8 - 10am and had a good selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and pastries. There was also a choice of a full English breakfast or eggs on toast

There was a separate bar area which had comfy sofas.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.

Parts of the hotel have recently been refurbished including the dining are and it looks great. Very rustic in the very old building.

The location was perfect, in the centre of Bourton on the Water.

Would I return? In a heartbeat.

Thank you Chester House Hotel for a much needed relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budgie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days at Chester house in February. We travelled with our 15 month daughter. The place is very baby friendly. They provide loads of toys and games in the bar area and our daughter was quite happy tootling about reading and playing with the train set. The staff are very helpful, and the cleaners are amazing! Everything was tidied and cleaned brilliantly. You couldn't get a more central location in Bourton ( it's right across one of the bridges) Rooms are comfortable and warm. Breakfast is tasty , nice sausages! Even though there was a village wide power cut when we were there, the staff put on breakfast at the restaurant over the road. Oh and you also get a free rubber duck to take away with you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnash33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

had a wonderful one night stay, all the staff where very good, the hotel was spotless our room was really good just been refurb like most of the hotel wish we had booked for longer will be back
THANKS

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgammg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Chester House is a warm and inviting hotel just off the main rd. It has a wonderful ambience with crisp and trendy decor, large leather sofas and plenty of cosy places to sit in the main lobby. Food is eaten across the lane in a wonderful restaurant with very good food and bookings are essential as its very popular. The room we had upstairs in the main building was clean and smart and peaceful.
Bourton on the water is typical Cotswolds....just divine.

Room Tip: The rooms out the back in another building didn't have the ambience of the rooms in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights as a getaway for myself and a friend. On arrival to Bourton-on-the-Water we found all routes to the high street closed due to resurfacing, a quick call to the hotel and we were guided in on the phone - much welcome assistance!!

On arrival we were greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist who sympathised with our plight to arrive. Initial impression of the hotel frontage and reception was very good. We were further impressed with our room we had booked a "better" room but had been given a family room which was extremely spacious with a double and two single beds, a sofa and flat screen tv. The room was tastefully decorated and came with an ample supply of tea/coffee/hot chocolate biscuits and bottled water. The bathroom was huge and if I were to be picky I'd say it was in need of some modernisation - however it was extremely clean with a nice array of toiletries and a plentiful supply of steaming hot water - so as I say I'm being picky.

Breakfast was served in a very pleasant morning room and although the portion of the full english breakfast was somewhat smaller than you may pile on from a buffet style breakfast it was freshly cooked (eggs to perfection), very tasty and actually more than ample to satisfy the appetite.

We ate on both evenings in the Croft which is the hotel restaurant located just across the street. It was extremely quite but imagine that at the weekend and high season it would be difficult to get a table the food was excellent with a good variety of choice.

The bar located in the hotel is extremely comfortable and welcoming although the prices are a little steep. We found that the bar closed surpisingly early but as we are not big drinkers it was in no means a problem.

All staff that we met in both the hotel and restaurant were very friendly and courteous and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The free to post post-cards and the Chester duck are an innovative quirk!!

All in all we had a very comfortable stay and came home relaxed and chilled from the experience, it is definately one that each of us will repeat.

I would recommend this hotel equally to those who wants to get away from it all .either as a girly weekend or a couple, or a family as their is much to amuse all ages in the beautiful village of Bourton.

Room Tip: Room 7 perfect for a family (its what I'm requesting next time!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing