We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband & I have just enjoyed 2 nights at this nice hotel. All the staff are lovely and friendly & the lady on reception was chatty and helpful. Ideally located in Bourton-on-the-Water, with an easy drive to other areas of The Cotswolds. The Croft restaurant provides nice food at reasonable prices, served by friendly staff who work very hard to please. We had a nice size room and it was clean, the ensuite was a bit small but sufficient. We don't understand the previous negative reviews and glad we didn't let them influence us, to stop us from staying here. As for the criticism about the small sausage at breakfast, well just ask for 2, my husband did and he said they were nice. It depends how much an individual eats surely?! The coffee was ok (not as bad as previous reviews have said) but again, if not happy, why not mention it so the staff can put it right, they were only too happy to please. Its easy to try to find fault wherever you stay if your own standards are high, but unless it is blatantly awful we would not give bad reviews when it is not called for. We met another couple in the reception checking out at the same time as us and they said how nice their stay had been too. Enough said. Thank you to all the staff and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Chester House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here with my Mum last week and cannot recommend it highly enough. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome by the lovely lady on reception. A small issue with our booking request for a ground floor room was resolved immediately and a disabled access room was prepared for us rather than one which involved a flight of stairs. The room was gorgeous with an added bonus of a Chester House signature duck in the room! The furnishings were lovely and the beds as comfortable as any I have slept in. We had an afternoon cream tea in the hotel which was gorgeous and tasty and the breakfast was wonderful! All the staff were polite, helpful and provided superb customer service - thank you for making our visit so special............... We will be back! (hopefully very soon!)

Room Tip: Room 23 had a fully disabled access bathroom with separate shower and bath
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjmc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Staff, room, breakfast everything was just delightful. Lots of nice little touches that made our stay special. Friendly lady on reception made us feel very welcome and staff serving breakfast were very helpful. Tastefully decorated the whole place gives a feel of luxury yet not stuck up at all. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

great location in the heart of Bourton, Rooms were excelent all you wanted to hand, Staff efficient and welcoming. Breakfast delicious, all food locally sourced where possible...the evening meal we took at their restaurant called the Croft just over the street from reception and again it was delicious. on the whole the experience was excelent. would definately return..great walking in the area.

Room Tip: we had room 26 which was in the coach house, just over the carpark from reception. had a good nights...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michlemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here a year ago and decided to return. Once again we found it a delightful place to stay while exploring Bourton and surrounding countryside.
We opted for the coach house ...up stairs off the car park because we wanted a king size bed.
As before the staff could not have been more helpful.
Great location just off the main area of town.
Very good breakfast and dinner is also available at an adjoining restaurant owned by the hotel.
Wifi available in the lobby.
Very comfortable and welcoming.
Ps the hotel will give you a little duck to take on your travels so you can photograph her and post photo to the hotel website! A charming idea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamilton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked with a Groupon deal and did not have high expectations. However I was pleasantly surprised. The staff are friendly, the room was lovely ( a Better Room) and the food very good. The added touch of the duck was such fun- our romantic break became a "menage a trois" > LOL

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gert47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Read the reviews on here before we went and thought I would wright one my self on return. Chester house hotel is situated in a prime location of bourton -on -the- water its only a little village but very tranquell and beautiful. The hotel itself has a very friendly team running it verity was especially helpful. We had room 7 which was situated at the top of quite a steep stair case just in front of reception. This was a family room double and two singles settee in the centre with flat screen tv quite impressive.we thought we had been given the wrong room being Only the two of us.but we hadnt i read on previous reviews that rooms were dirty and dusty etc after staying here myself I can only say they were making it up because our room was spotless with what looked like a brand new carpet very fresh. The bed was really comfy I can honestly say the nicest bed I've ever slept in ( apart from my own) the first place we had stayed in that supplied not only tea coffee but hot chocolate and bottles of water nice touch I thought. Towels were really fluffy and soft and an abundant supply. The breakfasts were lovely usual full English with a choice of cereal yogurt fresh fruit and croissants plenty to set you up for the day. The bar was only small but stocked enough alcohol to do the job.every room that i saw in this hotel was spotless and beautifully decorated couldn't find fault with any of it. Now the only thing I didn't like was the fact our room was situated right on top of the kitchen and we did get woken up at 7 o'clock every morning when the fans went on. But that's the only negative do done let that put you off. All in all we enjoyed a lovely week end away here and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $127 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing