We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Staff, room, breakfast everything was just delightful. Lots of nice little touches that made our stay special. Friendly lady on reception made us feel very welcome and staff serving breakfast were very helpful. Tastefully decorated the whole place gives a feel of luxury yet not stuck up at all. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 739 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

great location in the heart of Bourton, Rooms were excelent all you wanted to hand, Staff efficient and welcoming. Breakfast delicious, all food locally sourced where possible...the evening meal we took at their restaurant called the Croft just over the street from reception and again it was delicious. on the whole the experience was excelent. would definately return..great walking in the area.

Room Tip: we had room 26 which was in the coach house, just over the carpark from reception. had a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michlemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here a year ago and decided to return. Once again we found it a delightful place to stay while exploring Bourton and surrounding countryside.
We opted for the coach house ...up stairs off the car park because we wanted a king size bed.
As before the staff could not have been more helpful.
Great location just off the main area of town.
Very good breakfast and dinner is also available at an adjoining restaurant owned by the hotel.
Wifi available in the lobby.
Very comfortable and welcoming.
Ps the hotel will give you a little duck to take on your travels so you can photograph her and post photo to the hotel website! A charming idea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamilton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked with a Groupon deal and did not have high expectations. However I was pleasantly surprised. The staff are friendly, the room was lovely ( a Better Room) and the food very good. The added touch of the duck was such fun- our romantic break became a "menage a trois" > LOL

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gert47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Read the reviews on here before we went and thought I would wright one my self on return. Chester house hotel is situated in a prime location of bourton -on -the- water its only a little village but very tranquell and beautiful. The hotel itself has a very friendly team running it verity was especially helpful. We had room 7 which was situated at the top of quite a steep stair case just in front of reception. This was a family room double and two singles settee in the centre with flat screen tv quite impressive.we thought we had been given the wrong room being Only the two of us.but we hadnt i read on previous reviews that rooms were dirty and dusty etc after staying here myself I can only say they were making it up because our room was spotless with what looked like a brand new carpet very fresh. The bed was really comfy I can honestly say the nicest bed I've ever slept in ( apart from my own) the first place we had stayed in that supplied not only tea coffee but hot chocolate and bottles of water nice touch I thought. Towels were really fluffy and soft and an abundant supply. The breakfasts were lovely usual full English with a choice of cereal yogurt fresh fruit and croissants plenty to set you up for the day. The bar was only small but stocked enough alcohol to do the job.every room that i saw in this hotel was spotless and beautifully decorated couldn't find fault with any of it. Now the only thing I didn't like was the fact our room was situated right on top of the kitchen and we did get woken up at 7 o'clock every morning when the fans went on. But that's the only negative do done let that put you off. All in all we enjoyed a lovely week end away here and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just came home from our weekend in Bourton on the Water (Sept 2012). The Chester House Hotel was perfect. The staff was very friendly. When I couldn't find the hair drier in my room ( It ended up being there) the front desk lady ran up to her room and got me her personal hair drier to use! The location of the hotel is right in the middle of the town. Breakfast was very good. We also ate at the Croft restaurant which was also fantastic. Beautiful town. I would suggest taking the walk to Upper and Lower Slaughter . Also, the "Bloody Bourton walking tour" was really good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Positves = Fantastic location within 20 miles of all the great little picture postcard villages in the Cotswolds also Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham, if you want a photo oportunity outside of Bourton go to Upper and Lower Slaughter only a couple of miles and well worth a visit.

Excellent welcome and very pleasant staff, great cooked breakfasts, clean, warm and welcoming, we have been several times and will go back again so overall a very acceptable hotel.

Negatives = purely constructive and no big issues here... If you wish to book this hotel it is advisable to ring them as you rarely get email response due to the hotels in box being full, this happened a couple of years ago also.

No drink coasters or drink stirrers in the bar, and we used to get complimentry bowls of nuts/snacks, this has sadly gone for this visit, shame as it was a really nice touch even if they were to add 20p to every drink to cover it, they should bring this back.
No bar snacks available ie: sandwiches etc.

The restaurant is very clean, and nice surroundings with pleasant staff, the menu is a little restricted on choice and the chef seemed to be struggling as he grossly overcooked my chicken breast and asparagus, I could only eat half of it as it was too tough, couldnt be bothered to send it back after a 5 hour drive down to the hotel, but it should not have been sent out from the kitchen in the first place.

Dont waste your time even attempting to book any beauty or massage treatments, the therapist is a seperate entity from the hotel and you wont get any response whatsoever from her even leaving messages or emailing, this has happened everytime we have been to the hotel, they should take her link off the hotel website as it doesnt work well for the hotel image, I'm sure they could do better with someone who wants the business and improve the hotels amenities.

Conclusion: We have stayed in the best and not so good rooms in this hotel, it is definately worth paying extra for a room upgrade as you dont really want to miss out on this hotel as it is one of the best ones locally.
Will definately return, thankyou for making our stay pleasant and please dont take our opinions to heart they are just our opinions that dont spoil the overall experience too much. overall 8/10, would have been 10/10 had it not been for the restaurant thing and the therapist.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better or best room, its definately worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,354 reviews
11 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
994 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,099 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $109 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing