We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Location
Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
loops79bl...
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wonderful cottage, very pleased, location, amazing! highly recommend. Very comfortable accommodation, everything included as required.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andyaliso...
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just back from a lovely break at The Cottage in beautiful bourton on the water. ..this is really home from home ..it was perfect! ! Spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds good quality linen, fluffy thick towels, plenty of!!..It had everything we needed and more! Fantastic location right next to the river in the middle of one of our favourite places...it's pituresesque fairytale like with its quaint bridges and beautiful cottages and shops. Diane was very welcoming and friendly and was on hand if we needed anything..all we had to do was ask. Lovely touch was the M and S Belgian chocolates Delicious bags of fresh coffee from waitrose. ..tea milk everything we needed no corners cut. Thankyou Diane for allowing us to stay in your beautiful cottage it did us the world of good to have a relaxing few days..we visited stow on the wold and Burford this time both really lovely...we recommend this Cottage to friends and family and we hope to go back again in the future. Many thanks Alison and Andy Amos.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcasmits
Haaren, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“a perfect holiday home”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

a very nice cottage in the middle of "bourton on the water" on walkingdistance to the water. Toplocation. Cottage is big enough for 4 perons, it has a modern kitchen, the beds are very good, wifi is good in the cottage. At our arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of cooled wine and candies. The owner Diane was a nice and friendly lady. I would sure recommend this cottage if you make a trip to the cotswolds, at least we were satisfied. We had a perfect stay overthere. Thank you diane. sincerely.....gerrie and mechie smits....The Netherlands.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenandLau...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely character cottage in a great location ”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage deserves an excellent review. It is a beautiful period property filled with character which is literally 20 steps from the high street. It is the small touches that really makes a difference, the owners clearly care you have a good time, leaving plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, sweets and biscuits. We were particularly pleased they'd also left fresh coffee for the cafetiere. The kitchen has every utensil you could possibly need to cook.

The only thing you need to be aware of is if you are less mobile, the double bedroom is up steep stairs, and the shower is a sit down style over the bath, because of the low ceiling, but no problem for us and add to the charm.

This was our first holiday with our 6 month old son, and it went really well. The location is so perfect, really close to cafes and restaurants and the main attractions Bourton has to offer. Really recommend this rental, great value!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage and perfect location”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a long weekend in the Cottage and it was so relaxing and peaceful. Everything has been thought of in the cottage, you won't need anything it is so well equipped. You walk out of your front door, turn left, walk about 20 paces and you have the river and the ducks right in front of you. There are numerous restaurants and pubs in the village and some lovely quaint shops. Will definitely be visiting again, thank you Diane for a gorgeous cottage X

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgtatwort...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and comfortable well appointed property”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The property is ideally located close to amenities but in a quiet corner. Ideal for feeding the ducks before breakfast! The property was comfortable and the owners had thought of everything. The stairs to the master bedroom are not suitable for the less able, but this is only because of the age and character of the cottage. A good base for exploring the beautiful Cotswolds.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWe...
Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cottage in a fab location”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Yes we agree with all previous reviews, this cottage has it all. Good quality fittings, beds were extremely comfortable. Location is perfect . My husband and I invited friends around who were equally impressed.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: top stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing