We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Allerton Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Feature 1
Feature 2
Feature 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beeflum
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had decided to spend New Year away and decided on Bourton on the Water, having been as a child I was eager to return. Our accommodation needed to be child friendly as we have an 18 month old and so we chose Allerton Cottage as the reviews were so good especially for family's. The cottage was delightful and very welcoming. We were very grateful to see a bottle of fizz, a box of Chocolates and a lovely box of biscuits had been left for us! A lovely touch we thought. The cottage is in a great spot just on the end of the high street , a small walk away from the main attractions. Everything in the cottage has been thought of. Very well equipped indeed. There are books, Dvd's, baby/toddler toys and books stored away, it really was very thought out. Bourton on the water itself is beautiful with plenty to do near by. We had a great time seeing the New Year in!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a lovely three days over Christmas in this cosy period cottage. All the rooms were full of character and larger than they looked on the web. The lounge had a Christmas tree and decorations so it was very festive, There were also some tasty goodies for us to enjoy. The kitchen was very well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. We didn't feel like we were staying in a holiday rental. Parking at the rear of the cottage is via a narrow alley but this is wide enough for a van as the people in the cottage next door did this on a daily basis. The location of the cottage is excellent - a few minutes walk to the centre. We did hear the bells from St Lawrence Church next door but they were not intrusive and were actually quite charming, especially the little tune on the hour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel of the cottage
Liked least: No shower but we knew this already
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariola C
1 review
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just come back from a weekend in Allerton Cottage. A really nice cottage just walk distance from the Model village and the Motor museum in Bourton on the water. A short drive to Cotswolds Farm Park.
Everything with a very nice personal touch, you can feel that when you step inside.
Plenty of information to be able to make the trip even more enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how well equipped is the cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy D
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage is in a perfect location for exploring the Cotswolds and only a 2 minute walk to the centre of Bourton on the water. Great for us as we had our two year old daughther with us, so we could walk to all the attractions in the village within 10mins. The cottage was very pleasant and clean with a cute shared garden. It is kept fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. The open fire place was a real treat!! We look forward to returning again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
867marie
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

WOW what's there not to like, beautiful quaint cottage in a stunning Cotswold village, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage has everything you need and thank you Diane for the chocolates. We would love to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joleigh12...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, like home from home, everything you coul possibly need.”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful stay, perfect location, beautiful little town with great places to eat and shop, minutes walk to bird lands and model village.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northjs
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A very warm welcome greeted us - heating was on, biscuits, chocolates and Easter eggs (it was almost Easter!), tea, coffee, supplies for breakfast the first morning etc. The cottage was spotless and very cute, just like the photos. The location to the town center was perfect and it was very quiet at night despite being on the main road. Everything worked except for the hot water which was a little inconsistent at times, but the owners had it seen to quite quickly. There were 4 adults and one 2 year old and it was most comfortable. We would readily stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Fiddly hot water sometimes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing