We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, like home from home...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Allerton Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Feature 1
Feature 2
Feature 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joleigh12...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, like home from home, everything you coul possibly need.”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful stay, perfect location, beautiful little town with great places to eat and shop, minutes walk to bird lands and model village.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northjs
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A very warm welcome greeted us - heating was on, biscuits, chocolates and Easter eggs (it was almost Easter!), tea, coffee, supplies for breakfast the first morning etc. The cottage was spotless and very cute, just like the photos. The location to the town center was perfect and it was very quiet at night despite being on the main road. Everything worked except for the hot water which was a little inconsistent at times, but the owners had it seen to quite quickly. There were 4 adults and one 2 year old and it was most comfortable. We would readily stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Fiddly hot water sometimes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah G
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely, well decorated and quiet cottage in the Cotswolds. It is equipped with everything you might or will need! We love the log fire and will definitely be back for a third visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynonpuss
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“stunning...”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

my friend booked the cottage for a stay with her family, and two of us joined her for a long weekend when they returned home.
Its ideally placed 2 mins from the centre of Bourton on the Water.As soon as we stepped through the front door the cottage felt so welcoming and homely. it is a charming little place, full of character, authenticity and originality. Ground floor has a lovely sitting area, complete with wood burning grate,a kitchen, and conservatory. On the first floor is a bathroom and a double bedroom, and up some steep stairs an attic bedroom with two single beds.
The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need. There are modern appliances ..dishwasher, washer/drier etc, freesat tv, dvd, and wifi.... really impressed. And although we were there during a very cold spell ..the cottage was warm and cosy in all areas..x
And..parking space and garage off road....
I loved it...hope we have a chance to return in the not to distant future ...xxx

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood burning grate !!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbcotwto
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage fabulous location”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage is lovely - clean, well equipped and full of character. We stayed with our toddler and found it very baby friendly (high chair, stair gate and cot available). It was very clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic- 2 mins walk to the centre of Bourton on the Water with its beautiful village waterfront.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinaholma...
Merida, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A bucket list Christmas week wins 1st place!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I had always wanted to spend Christmas in the Cotswolds, so in 2014, I decided I would do it regardless of who came with me. I was joined by my mother and my son, so the set up was perfect for us. When we arrived, Allerton Cottage was beautifully decorated for Christmas, with a small tree, garlands on the chimney mantel and even chocolates and champagne!! It was a superb location right near everything, yet not noisy! It is a registered house, I believe, which means it is a preserved historical building, and the renovations done to it are very tasteful, as well as comfortable and well-maintained. It is obviously the pride and joy of the owners, who are to be applauded for their care, not only with the house, but with the guests who arrive there. A grand time was had by all! Thank you so very, very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!!
Liked least: nothing!!!!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gem1802
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Cotswold's Cottage”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Allerton Cottage is a cosy retreat with a real home from home feel in the perfect location right on the high street. All the little extras were a lovely touch and very much enjoyed! Thank you for a fantastic stay and I will definitely recommend to others who are looking for a stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing