We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lawns Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Planned to stay two nights but stayed four it was that good. Tony and Angie were the perfect hosts and you could not have asked for a better more clean place, Nothing was a problem and they had great advice on where to travel and see the best sites as well as recomendations on great places to eat all a nice short walk from their B and B. Breakfasts were also fantastic and Thank you Tony for my "special" Breakfast on our last morning!!!Highly recomend this place to stay at, Thanks again Angie and Tony for sharing your place we loved it, Ginny and John Kuffer Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnkuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for The Lawns Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

My young family needed a decent sized room with easy access to town and we certainly got that. What we also got was a warm welcome, a beautiful room and lots of very helpful information about the town that enabled us to make the most of our short stay.

A typical example of the attention to detail here is when we confirmed on arrival that we needed a cot for our 3 month old daughter (when booking the room I was unsure whether we would be bringing our own travel cot or not) and then went off for dinner, we returned to our room and saw that the cot was set up with beautiful blankets etc. (Angela could just have left the stuff in our room to set up ourselves.) Another example: we bought a bottle of milk on out first night and left it in the room the next day when we went out again. When we returned we saw that Angela had put the milk bottle standing in the bathroom sink filled with cold water in order to keep it from spoiling. The couple running the place were very friendly and at no point did we feel (as you often do in England) that bringing along a couple of young children meant that we had to 'manage' them and stop them from 'ruining' everyone else's experience.

My only issue was that our bathroom had a wonderful shower but no bathtub. With young children you need a bathtub if you are going to be staying for a few days - but as we were staying for a very short break I didn't bring this up. (I wouldn't be surprised if they'd found a way to help us if we had brought it up.)

I have already recommended this place to my friends, and am happy to recommend it to all Trip Advisor users.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped at Bourton on the Water while driving home from Devon and decided to stay overnight. We found The Lawns in passing and really glad we stayed. We were welcomed by Angela and provided with an excellent room. It was only a short stroll to the village centre where we tried to dine on a Sunday evening. All the places recommended were fully booked but we ended up at Chesters Italian Restaurant and had a really good meal at a good price.
Our breakfast on Monday filled us for the day and was ample for our drive home to Halifax.
We would thoroughly recommend The Lawns to anyone visiting the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a truly delightful stay this weekend at the Lawns the accommodation was lovely very comfortable and homely,.. We had a family room Angie & Tony were the perfect hosts we both enjoyed a freshly cooked full English breakfast with a wide choice of cereal and continental too!... We would highly recommend this B&B and will definitely be going back again in the not to distant future

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here and recommend highly. The hosts, Angie and Tony and were extremely lovely people and were the perfect hosts, going out of their way to provide us with extra information and extremely yummy cooked breakfasts! The room was simply beautiful, very quiet and private and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are wondering where on earth you should stay in the Cotswolds then I would like to highly recommend The Lawns Bed & Breakfast. Firstly, the owners Angie and Tony were the perfect hosts. They were genuinely friendly and welcoming and also gave you your own personal space. The room I stayed in was a family room with an en-suite bathroom. It was spacious, clean and was well stocked with (towels, creams, shower gels etc). Tony is a whizz in the kitchen. His bangers, bacon and scrambled eggs are to die for - seriously!! Angela was also very helpful in pointing me in the right direction for sightseeing spots and great restaurants. The Horse and Groom and Mount Inn restaurants were fabulous. Bourton-on-the-Water, is an 8min walk from the house and Lower Slaughter, which I absolutely loved and a must see, was a pleasant 15mins stroll along a walking path. If you are interested in exploring some of the other villages like Broadway, Stow-on-the-Wold etc I strongly advise you to hire a car. The Lawns has ample parking space. It was well worth the 80 pounds per night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopeton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were welcomed by the owners, Angela and Tony. 10 years ago we stayed at The Lawns and had such a pleasant stay that we had to come back.
The room is spacious, the breakfast is superb and Angela and Tony are very helpfull and willing to provide us all the information about the lovelly area. Our two daughters loved the garden and the playground across the street. We enjoyed Bourton-on-the-water! We will definitely come back to The Lawns!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarArno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Bed & Breakfast

Address: Station Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing