We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good b&b in centre of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor Close B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Close B & B
Certificate of Excellence
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good b&b in centre of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights in this b&b. Unfortunately we got room 6 which has a very small bathroom and the sink is in the room with no light above the mirror.
The room and bed are OK, the breakfast very good. The man of the house is very helpful and likes to talk with the quests. We also missed a sittingroom for the quests. When the wetter is nice you can sit out in the garden.
Bourton is centrally located for tours in the Cotswolds.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shoam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family (2 parents, 3 kids) spent a full week (7 nights) at the Manor Close during the first week of August. We were hosted at the family room at the ground floor facing the very nice garden.
But this specific review is less about the property itself (which is very very charming till the little things that make it so special) but more about the owners, Sheena and Joe.
From the very first moment they welcomed us, we simply loved them... They were so careful to us and so helpful in all regards, that we couldn't feel anything but real affection to them both. They are these kind of people you feel that their service is really coming from the heart and nothing else.
Every morning, we found a new surprise on our breakfast buffet table and a warm "good morning" from Joe. Nothing better to start your day in the area.
The last morning was a difficult one for us, knowing we need to leave... The tears we had to sweep up in our car on our way out say it all.
If you look for a B&B in the most picturesque village of the cotswolds, look no further.

Yoel

Room Tip: The family room we had is ideal for 2 parents and 2 kids but although we had one more kid we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved our stay here!
Our triple room was on the top floor and it was cosy and comfortable.
Our hosts were most friendly and accommodating.
The breakfasts were hearty and delicious.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a find! This B&B fully lived up to the excellent reviews. It is very well situated in the centre of town, near some good restaurants and pubs. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the house is beautiful. It is all you could ever ask of a Bed and Breakfast, the hosts are welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts good quality and filling. So pleased we stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found the B&B as we drove through Bourton. We were shown two rooms that were vacant and chose the room in the main house. A large relaxing room with ensuite. Hosts very pleasant and eager to make our stay, just one night, special. Breakfast in a communal dining room with other guests was brilliant. On leaving hosts spent time advising us where we should tour with just 4 days to see parts of Britain
Just a minutes walk to the centre of Bourton-on-the-water

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our 2 nights stay at Manor Close in mid June 2013 was very enjoyable. I found our B&B (the “Manor Close”) in a fun way, by taking a “virtual walk” along Bourton’s High Street on Google street view and noticing a beautiful old building with a B&B sign - that was all it took for me to decide to contact the owners and I never regretted choosing this particular place. We liked just about everything about it – great location, very pretty and comfortable room (on the 2nd floor by American count, in the cottage), spacious bathroom with good shower, beautiful gardens...

The owners, Joe and Sheena were very nice and friendly, fed us well (full English breakfast) and not only directed us to most picturesque trails but also provided us with a foothpaths map of the area for our beautiful walk to the Upper and Lower Slaughters next day.

I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as a pleasant and comfortable base for exploring lovely Cotswolds

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this B & B and were very impressed. The hosts,Joe and Sheena, were not only very professional but also very friendly. They gave the impression that they wanted to help as much as they could be it suggestions for where to tour in the area or where to eat in the evening. The wi-fi worked well and had good continuity.

We had room 6 which was quite spacious particularly by comparison with some B & Bs that we have recently experienced. The shower in the en suite bathroom can be challenging and is subject to bursts of hot and cold water without any intervention from anyone. Breakfast is a full English and well cooked and plentiful. There is on site parking available. When we arrived the park was full so Joe moved his car out to the street to accommodate us. We were finding sleeping under the provided duvet too hot so Sheena provided a sheet and blanket instead. It is little things like that that leave a good impression .

The location could not be better being right in the middle of Bourton and close to everything. Bourton is such a pleasant place that we found it hard to decide whether to stay there for a day of R & R or to continue with our plans to tour the Cotswolds. It is nice to have this sort of dilemma.

We enjoyed our chats with Joe and Sheena and enjoyed our brief stay in their house, despite the weather which refused to behave. We would recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We only, saw the rooms in the main house so we can only comment on them - all seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_G46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Close B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Close B & B

Property: Manor Close B & B
Address: Manor Close High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing