We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Manor Close B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Close B & B
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved our stay here!
Our triple room was on the top floor and it was cosy and comfortable.
Our hosts were most friendly and accommodating.
The breakfasts were hearty and delicious.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a find! This B&B fully lived up to the excellent reviews. It is very well situated in the centre of town, near some good restaurants and pubs. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the house is beautiful. It is all you could ever ask of a Bed and Breakfast, the hosts are welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts good quality and filling. So pleased we stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found the B&B as we drove through Bourton. We were shown two rooms that were vacant and chose the room in the main house. A large relaxing room with ensuite. Hosts very pleasant and eager to make our stay, just one night, special. Breakfast in a communal dining room with other guests was brilliant. On leaving hosts spent time advising us where we should tour with just 4 days to see parts of Britain
Just a minutes walk to the centre of Bourton-on-the-water

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our 2 nights stay at Manor Close in mid June 2013 was very enjoyable. I found our B&B (the “Manor Close”) in a fun way, by taking a “virtual walk” along Bourton’s High Street on Google street view and noticing a beautiful old building with a B&B sign - that was all it took for me to decide to contact the owners and I never regretted choosing this particular place. We liked just about everything about it – great location, very pretty and comfortable room (on the 2nd floor by American count, in the cottage), spacious bathroom with good shower, beautiful gardens...

The owners, Joe and Sheena were very nice and friendly, fed us well (full English breakfast) and not only directed us to most picturesque trails but also provided us with a foothpaths map of the area for our beautiful walk to the Upper and Lower Slaughters next day.

I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as a pleasant and comfortable base for exploring lovely Cotswolds

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this B & B and were very impressed. The hosts,Joe and Sheena, were not only very professional but also very friendly. They gave the impression that they wanted to help as much as they could be it suggestions for where to tour in the area or where to eat in the evening. The wi-fi worked well and had good continuity.

We had room 6 which was quite spacious particularly by comparison with some B & Bs that we have recently experienced. The shower in the en suite bathroom can be challenging and is subject to bursts of hot and cold water without any intervention from anyone. Breakfast is a full English and well cooked and plentiful. There is on site parking available. When we arrived the park was full so Joe moved his car out to the street to accommodate us. We were finding sleeping under the provided duvet too hot so Sheena provided a sheet and blanket instead. It is little things like that that leave a good impression .

The location could not be better being right in the middle of Bourton and close to everything. Bourton is such a pleasant place that we found it hard to decide whether to stay there for a day of R & R or to continue with our plans to tour the Cotswolds. It is nice to have this sort of dilemma.

We enjoyed our chats with Joe and Sheena and enjoyed our brief stay in their house, despite the weather which refused to behave. We would recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We only, saw the rooms in the main house so we can only comment on them - all seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_G46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Two night stay in a delightful cotswold village in an excellent B&B. Made our choice using Tripadvisor ratings and location - right on High Street. Hosts Joe and Sheena are great, friendly, helpful. Accomodation was spotless and very cosy. We were on first floor,upstairs in the cottage and overlooked the lovely English garden. WI FI in the room. Found wireless key number on back of router inside cottage door, other guest said they found it on a card in the desk with brochures. Breakfast was excellent, served to order. Ample off street parking. Note there is a main junction on main road with traffic lights and signs to Bourton . If you take this, look for tight right turn into village and find B&B through town on the left. Subsequently we took Landsdowne road further south which turns into High Steet and B&B is on the right just before village.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedpublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

You hear it so many times, “We just pulled over when we saw the sign?” But that was the case with my wife and I. We had rented a car in Bath and headed north, like two “plan free” teens for a wild and reckless adventure through the beautiful English countryside – The Cotswold’s. Late in the day we drove into Burton-on-the water, both of us road weary and ready to settle in for the night. (cocktail hour for me) My wife sees the B&B sign and we pull into Manor Close. What such absolute good fortune for us. The Innkeepers Sheena and Joe welcomed us like old friends. They had one room left and it was a beauty. Neat as a pin, clean and large - room for two adults plus children too. We are talking a BIG room folks! We liked it so much that we set up camp for a couple of days and toured the Cotswold’s knowing that at the end of the day we would be home. Sheena and Joe went out of their way to help us, including hooking me up with a doctor for my “killer head cold.” Men are whimps, but you gals already know that. The full English breakfast was drool-wonderful with all the fixins’ and plenty of it. We made some great friends over those three or four breakfast tables. I miss those folks and their charming home. Go there. You wont be disappointed and the town is a delight for shoppers. Check out the photo’s complete with a rainbow. Did I say it was magic?

Room Tip: their all good, but if you have kids and want SPACE - this is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
688 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Close B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Close B & B

Property: Manor Close B & B
Address: Manor Close High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing