We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay in a beautiful village”
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Cranbourne house is more than a B&B. Luxurious accommodation, gourmet breakfast and perfect location for walking into Bourton on the Water with it's great pubs, restaurants and small shops. The owners are lovely, very helpful and accommodating. Absolutely recommend both Cranbourne House and Bourton on the Water for a relaxing Cotwolds weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Good Morning, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was really great to hear that you thought more of us than just a B&B. We always aim to go that extra mile and make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay when with us at Cranbourne - after all it's the little things that make your stay that little bit more special.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the village - Bourton is a fantastic little place with loads to do and the great thing is that because we are just situated outside the village, you have the option to escape whenever you like. We are always more than happy to be accommodating and are glad we were able to assist you during your stay.

If you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This small B&B is perfectly located. The place is immaculate and nicely decorated. Our room was wonderful with sumptuous bedding .John and his fiancee provided us with a lovely breakfast each morning. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Good Morning, we have just finished reading your review and thank you for all the lovely things you said about us here at Cranbourne House B&B.

We are happy that you were pleased with the room and the particular style of the room. We must admit, the bedding is one of the things that we make sure is of the highest standard as we know a good nights sleep is of the utmost importance. .

Thank you for the comments about myself and my fiancee Emma (who I must admit is the real driving force behind me). Again, the comments were lovely and thank you for these.

If you are ever planning a trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Three nights at beautiful Cranbourne House, thanks to TA reviews - we were not disappointed = very impressed !
The premises are old on outside but new and functional on inside with incredible eye for detail,presentation and maintainence. Separate lounge and sunrooms with supply of books, magazines and TV.

Room large, extremely clean - comfortable, adequate heating available. Only downside perhaps was that there was no in room safe available and probably due to our lack of understanding of the unusual tap arrangement in shower recess - unable to obtain really "hot" water.

5+ minutes walk to village and restaurants makes for convenience without perhaps noise from late night revellers.

Our host John was an example of excellence in the hospitality industry. Friendly, efficient and professional without being intrusive. John is also an excellent cook preparing mouth watering a la carte breakfasts and providing delicious cake upon our return to the room in afternoons - a very nice touch!

Highly recommended !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Good Morning, wow, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was such a delight to read all the lovely things you said about us and Cranbourne House B&B. We always aim to maintain the house and keep it extremely immaculate, clean and up to date and we're glad that you were impressed with this.

We are also happy that you were pleased with the room you stayed in too. We are sorry that we didn't have room safes available, however we took the decision that this was not something that we needed being in the Cotswolds. We do however have a safe in the kitchen and if you are ever returning, we can keep things stored away for yourselves during your stay.

I must say I was touched to read the lovely comments you left about myself and I am thankful for these. I always aim to make sure everyone is happy at Cranbourne B&B without being too intrusive and I'm happy this is conveyed. One of the favourite things about my job is making (and sampling) all of the cakes and at Cranbourne B&B, we feel this is something that can be enjoyed after a long walk or day trip out.

If you are ever planning a trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from 3 days at Cranbourne house we found it to be very nice and comfy our room did have a king size bed and was very clean the breakfasts where very nice and nothing was to much trouble as for the review that that said they where left to their own devices well what do some people expect they where there to help with anything we needed and answered any questions and gave advice as where to eat etc i think these people just stayed at a time the current people where not there and things where done slightly different .

As to the village it was very pretty and a lovely place to stay we went to lower slaughter which was very nice also went to stow on the wold but think that bourton on the water was the best place for us and we only had a five minute walk down to the resturants we would certainly stay at this b and b again .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennywratten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Good Morning Jenny, we have just finished reading your review and it was such a lovely TripAdvisor review, we just wanted to say thank you very much for everything you said. It was lovely meeting you both and I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

We are always more than happy to help our guests in anyway possible, whether this be answering questions, booking restaurants or taxi trips and we are glad that this is recognised by our guests.

I do hope that if you are planning a trip to the Cotswolds again you will either look at staying at Cranbourne House again or definitely pop in and say hello to us.

I hope that you have a lovely Autumn / Winter and that you both take care.

Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautifully scenic village. Unfortunately it is over-run by tour buses and huge crowds of tourists, which ruin its charm. The Cranbourne House is located close to the village, and a convenient location for touring the Cotswolds. The proprietor was away during out stay and his mother-in-law, who runs a B&B stepped in. Hospitality and service were minimal compared to other places we stayed. You are largely left on your own, although our questions were happily answered. Rooms are average size and functional, though nothing special. The king size bed was more like a queen size. The breakfasts were standard fare for the UK, but we're among the best tasting anywhere. The Cotswold are well worth spending time, but The Slaughter or Stow-in-the-Wolds are much better villages to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Good Morning Rob, I must say when I read this review I was ever so slightly shocked and firstly hope that the way you found Bourton, didn't have any sort of reflection on your rating to us. Bourton is indeed a beautiful place, however like all areas of interest in the UK, this means that they will receive a high proportion of tourists within the high season. Cranbourne House is situated away from the high street so that you can escape when it gets busy, which is why our guests enjoy coming back to us again and again.

With regards to my mother in law stepping in, I am glad that Sue was able to answer all of your questions and we are always on hand to answer any questions or queries our guests have. We feel that Cranbourne House offers enough service to help you enjoy your stay, but not too much to the point where you would feel overcrowded. I just wish that if you wanted more assistance, you would have spoken to Sue who is more than happy to help with any questions.

Going back to the sizing of the rooms, all of our beds meet the requirements for a king sized bed in the UK and often people travelling from abroad can look at their own specifications of bed sizes and not realise this. If you want to go through this we are more than happy to go through the relevant issues you had.

We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts as we pride ourselves on this, which has also been recognised by the AA's Breakfast Award along with the 5* B&B Rating. We hope that if you are ever coming back through Bourton you can drop on by for a cup of tea, a slice of cake. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to go through anything as our doors are always open to guests during their stay at Cranbourne B&B.

Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I fell in love instantly with Bourton-on-the-Water and the stone cottages, and the Cranbourne House fits into the quaint village perfectly. The things I liked about the cottage in addition to the proximity to the town center (2 blocks) and a lovely foot path (1/2 mile) was that the bathroom was spacious and spotless and the bedroom was nicely appointed. The hostess on Saturday and Sunday morning was totally charming and worked so hard to please our party of 4. I was disappointed in a few things though -- we stayed on a Thursday through Saturday and really didn't sleep well while there. My husband I are not supersized Americans, but we found the bed to feel much smaller than what was marketed (it was supposed to be a queen or king even? but felt much more like a double) and the street noise, especially on Friday morning, was loud. So all in all, a good stay but I'm not sure I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Cranbourne in Burton on the Water. It is a fine property. We expect a king sized bed in our two rooms but got smaller beds which we think is a difference of nomenclature between the states and England. Our room, the Notgrove, was good in size with a nice bathroom, but there is some street noise in this quiet town. The owner left for the weekend making it impossible to get ice one night. His substitutes were VERY nice serving wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbw643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coombe House
Coombe House
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $120 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing