We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranbourne House
Nearby Hotels
Dial House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
$638
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$227
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lords of the Manor Hotel(Upper Slaughter)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
202
20
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
20
7
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 232 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from 3 days at Cranbourne house we found it to be very nice and comfy our room did have a king size bed and was very clean the breakfasts where very nice and nothing was to much trouble as for the review that that said they where left to their own devices well what do some people expect they where there to help with anything we needed and answered any questions and gave advice as where to eat etc i think these people just stayed at a time the current people where not there and things where done slightly different .

As to the village it was very pretty and a lovely place to stay we went to lower slaughter which was very nice also went to stow on the wold but think that bourton on the water was the best place for us and we only had a five minute walk down to the resturants we would certainly stay at this b and b again .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennywratten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Good Morning Jenny, we have just finished reading your review and it was such a lovely TripAdvisor review, we just wanted to say thank you very much for everything you said. It was lovely meeting you both and I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

We are always more than happy to help our guests in anyway possible, whether this be answering questions, booking restaurants or taxi trips and we are glad that this is recognised by our guests.

I do hope that if you are planning a trip to the Cotswolds again you will either look at staying at Cranbourne House again or definitely pop in and say hello to us.

I hope that you have a lovely Autumn / Winter and that you both take care.

Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautifully scenic village. Unfortunately it is over-run by tour buses and huge crowds of tourists, which ruin its charm. The Cranbourne House is located close to the village, and a convenient location for touring the Cotswolds. The proprietor was away during out stay and his mother-in-law, who runs a B&B stepped in. Hospitality and service were minimal compared to other places we stayed. You are largely left on your own, although our questions were happily answered. Rooms are average size and functional, though nothing special. The king size bed was more like a queen size. The breakfasts were standard fare for the UK, but we're among the best tasting anywhere. The Cotswold are well worth spending time, but The Slaughter or Stow-in-the-Wolds are much better villages to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Good Morning Rob, I must say when I read this review I was ever so slightly shocked and firstly hope that the way you found Bourton, didn't have any sort of reflection on your rating to us. Bourton is indeed a beautiful place, however like all areas of interest in the UK, this means that they will receive a high proportion of tourists within the high season. Cranbourne House is situated away from the high street so that you can escape when it gets busy, which is why our guests enjoy coming back to us again and again.

With regards to my mother in law stepping in, I am glad that Sue was able to answer all of your questions and we are always on hand to answer any questions or queries our guests have. We feel that Cranbourne House offers enough service to help you enjoy your stay, but not too much to the point where you would feel overcrowded. I just wish that if you wanted more assistance, you would have spoken to Sue who is more than happy to help with any questions.

Going back to the sizing of the rooms, all of our beds meet the requirements for a king sized bed in the UK and often people travelling from abroad can look at their own specifications of bed sizes and not realise this. If you want to go through this we are more than happy to go through the relevant issues you had.

We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts as we pride ourselves on this, which has also been recognised by the AA's Breakfast Award along with the 5* B&B Rating. We hope that if you are ever coming back through Bourton you can drop on by for a cup of tea, a slice of cake. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to go through anything as our doors are always open to guests during their stay at Cranbourne B&B.

Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I fell in love instantly with Bourton-on-the-Water and the stone cottages, and the Cranbourne House fits into the quaint village perfectly. The things I liked about the cottage in addition to the proximity to the town center (2 blocks) and a lovely foot path (1/2 mile) was that the bathroom was spacious and spotless and the bedroom was nicely appointed. The hostess on Saturday and Sunday morning was totally charming and worked so hard to please our party of 4. I was disappointed in a few things though -- we stayed on a Thursday through Saturday and really didn't sleep well while there. My husband I are not supersized Americans, but we found the bed to feel much smaller than what was marketed (it was supposed to be a queen or king even? but felt much more like a double) and the street noise, especially on Friday morning, was loud. So all in all, a good stay but I'm not sure I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Cranbourne in Burton on the Water. It is a fine property. We expect a king sized bed in our two rooms but got smaller beds which we think is a difference of nomenclature between the states and England. Our room, the Notgrove, was good in size with a nice bathroom, but there is some street noise in this quiet town. The owner left for the weekend making it impossible to get ice one night. His substitutes were VERY nice serving wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbw643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Recently stayed for a couple of nights. The welcome was warm. We had two rooms, both beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The location is great, a five minute walk into town. If you want an exceptionally good standard B & B this place is ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews