We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GrahamandLynda”
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just got home from a wonderful stay at Cranbourne House. Shona and Graham are the perfect hosts along with their dog Choco who never leaves his toy "sausage" on its own!! Cranbourne House is a superb Cotswold house turned into a great B&B. The whole house is tastefully decorated with a spacious conservatory and lounge available to residents all day. The rooms all have ensuites tv tea and coffee facilities and complimentray toiletries. Breakfast is served in the large dining room and there is a choice of cereals continental and full English. It is just two minutes walk to the village centre and all Bourton has to offer. They were only too willing to share their Cotswold experience advise on the best restaurants and places to see. A big thanks to them. We are looking forward to going back to see them again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our stay at Cranbourne House could not have been any better. We were greeted by Shona, Graham and Choco (their lovely dog) and made to feel very welcome.
They shared with us their knowledge of the local area and recommended some great restaurants in the village, as well as providing us with a map of the Cotswolds and a suggested route.
The room we had was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet.... Great shower and bed.... and they serve a delicious breakfast.
We were only a short walk to the picturesque village of Boughton on the Water..... What a wonderful place!!
We are so glad we chose to stay here.....

Room Tip: Our room was directly off the conservatory on the ground floor.... It was great not to have to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a friendly, clean, welcoming B&B in a great location for visiting the Cotswolds. The caretakers went out of their way to accommodate our every need. They also make a delicious breakfast buffet tailored to the guest's wishes. Their well-behaved little dog, Choco, made it feel even more like home. If we ever get back to England, we will definitely stay at the Cranbourne House.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Only2Retirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently had three nights at this first class B&B. The location is excellent, a nice quiet street, just a few minutes walk to the village centre, restaurants and pubs. Hosts Graham and Shona were such a lovely couple and did everything to make sure our stay was memorable. Their knowledge of the area is excellent and they can advise on local attractions and restaurants etc. Our room was beautifully decorated and well equipped, there is a delightful sun room and a lounge for guest use. The breakfasts here were delicious with a great selection on offer. All up this B&B is delightful.

Room Tip: Thy all looked good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sommervillefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful hosts, very acommodating and its just a five minute walk to the village. Breakfasts were great and Shona & Grahamn cater to your every needs. Don't forget to tell them that you like Indian food because they can point you towards a great little place in town where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very good location just a very short walk from the centre of Bourton on the Water - so you are not caught up with the tourist traffic and can walk to the local restaurants and pubs in the evening.

The house was spotless and apart from the very nice size room and ensuite shower room there is a garden lounge and sitting room where you can go and sit.

Shona and Graham are extremely friendly and helpful, offering suggestions of places to eat, visit and walk and they have a literature and maps on hand about the area.

We stayed in the Notsgrove room, which was overlooking the road but did not have that much traffic along it. The decor was very nice, the only improvement could have been the very, very squeeky bed.

Very good selection at breakfast - from fresh fruit salad to full english with yogurts, croissants, toast, etc. available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were 3 couples celebrating one couple`s 50th wedding anniversary in early September. We were there five days. Our stay could not have been more delightful. The Cranbourne House was a short walk from the center of Bourton on the Water but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We chose not to drive so Shona recommended Genny Stallabrass of Tour Gems to ferry us about. Wonderful experience. Genny sure knows the Cotswolds. Shona and Graham were ideal hosts. They should give courses on how to run a B and B. The rooms were pleasant and spotless and the breakfasts were suburb. The hosts went out of their way to ensure our stay was successful. If we are lucky enough to spend more time in the Cotswolds, we would only stay with Shona and Graham.

Room Tip: They are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ernest J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coombe House
Coombe House
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $120 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing