We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts and House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts and House!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our stay at Cranbourne House could not have been any better. We were greeted by Shona, Graham and Choco (their lovely dog) and made to feel very welcome.
They shared with us their knowledge of the local area and recommended some great restaurants in the village, as well as providing us with a map of the Cotswolds and a suggested route.
The room we had was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet.... Great shower and bed.... and they serve a delicious breakfast.
We were only a short walk to the picturesque village of Boughton on the Water..... What a wonderful place!!
We are so glad we chose to stay here.....

Room Tip: Our room was directly off the conservatory on the ground floor.... It was great not to have to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
174
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a friendly, clean, welcoming B&B in a great location for visiting the Cotswolds. The caretakers went out of their way to accommodate our every need. They also make a delicious breakfast buffet tailored to the guest's wishes. Their well-behaved little dog, Choco, made it feel even more like home. If we ever get back to England, we will definitely stay at the Cranbourne House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Only2Retirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently had three nights at this first class B&B. The location is excellent, a nice quiet street, just a few minutes walk to the village centre, restaurants and pubs. Hosts Graham and Shona were such a lovely couple and did everything to make sure our stay was memorable. Their knowledge of the area is excellent and they can advise on local attractions and restaurants etc. Our room was beautifully decorated and well equipped, there is a delightful sun room and a lounge for guest use. The breakfasts here were delicious with a great selection on offer. All up this B&B is delightful.

Room Tip: Thy all looked good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sommervillefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvington, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful hosts, very acommodating and its just a five minute walk to the village. Breakfasts were great and Shona & Grahamn cater to your every needs. Don't forget to tell them that you like Indian food because they can point you towards a great little place in town where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very good location just a very short walk from the centre of Bourton on the Water - so you are not caught up with the tourist traffic and can walk to the local restaurants and pubs in the evening.

The house was spotless and apart from the very nice size room and ensuite shower room there is a garden lounge and sitting room where you can go and sit.

Shona and Graham are extremely friendly and helpful, offering suggestions of places to eat, visit and walk and they have a literature and maps on hand about the area.

We stayed in the Notsgrove room, which was overlooking the road but did not have that much traffic along it. The decor was very nice, the only improvement could have been the very, very squeeky bed.

Very good selection at breakfast - from fresh fruit salad to full english with yogurts, croissants, toast, etc. available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were 3 couples celebrating one couple`s 50th wedding anniversary in early September. We were there five days. Our stay could not have been more delightful. The Cranbourne House was a short walk from the center of Bourton on the Water but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We chose not to drive so Shona recommended Genny Stallabrass of Tour Gems to ferry us about. Wonderful experience. Genny sure knows the Cotswolds. Shona and Graham were ideal hosts. They should give courses on how to run a B and B. The rooms were pleasant and spotless and the breakfasts were suburb. The hosts went out of their way to ensure our stay was successful. If we are lucky enough to spend more time in the Cotswolds, we would only stay with Shona and Graham.

Room Tip: They are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernest J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Cranbourne House to celebrate our one year anniversary. On arrival we were greeted by the delightful Shona and Graham (not forgetting Chocco) who straight away made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We were shown to our room which was in the annexe and offered help with our bags which we kindly refused.

Our room was very modern without losing the "country cottage" feel and beautifully decorated. The shower room was clean and large and the shower was a drench shower which was great!

Shona and Graham could not do enough to help us and recommended restaurants, places to visit and things to do. They even took us to the bike shop to collect our hire bikes!

The highlight of the B and B is most definitely the breakfast - it is simply delicious! The produce is all locally sourced and it is non greasy and very yummy! Tea and coffee flowed wonderfully and the toast was also very nice.

The whole experience at Cranbourne house was just fantastic and we cannot recommend it highly enough! Shona and Graham were just brilliant and every B and B should have them!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evicary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Property: Cranbourne House
Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing