We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully quaint cottage, perfectly located...”
Welcome to Grade II listed Chapel Cottage, in the famous Cotswold village of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Grade II listed Chapel Cottage, in the famous Cotswold village of Bourton-on-the-Water
The bright and spacious living room Plenty of comfortable seating, a large inglenook fireplace and cosy wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Welcome to Grade II listed Chapel Cottage, in the famous Cotswold village of Bourton-on-the-Water
The bright and spacious living room
Plenty of comfortable seating, a large inglenook fireplace and cosy wood burning stove
Lovely touches throughout
Traditional character blends beautifully with contemporary style
The dining area adjoins the living room
A lovely area that comfortably seats four, with a window seat for a fifth guest
Full of character features
The well presented kitchen is ideal for home cooking
A stable door leads out to the lovely courtyard
The courtyard garden perfectly captures the late afternoon sun during the summer
A lovely spot for al fresco dining
The lovely touches continue into the courtyard
A steep and narrow spiral staircase leads up to the first floor
Bedroom 1, on the first floor, which contains a double bed
A stylish and characterful room
Bedroom 2, also on the first floor, which contains a king size bed
Another bright and stylish bedroom
Lovingly presented
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with overhead shower, toilet and wash basin
The cottage's owners have created a beautiful home from home
Another steep and narrow spiral staircase leads up to the second floor
Bedroom 3 is a lovely eaves room, with a day bed for one (made up as a bed upon request)
A cosy room to relax in, with a TV and a DVD player
Chapel Cottage is a stunning, character filled property, in the heart of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water is perfect for a relaxing Cotswold break
There are many well-regarded pubs, shops and restaurants in the village
Bourton-on-the-Water is known locally as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annemarie...
Aspley Guise, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully quaint cottage, perfectly located with lovely real fire”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is ideal for a stay to visit the local area. Beautiful cottage inside and out and close to anything you need. I even managed to get my hair done! Really good restaurants, friendly people and stunning area.

Cannot wait to come back...we went here for our mini honeymoon and would not have changed a single thing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in a beautiful village location”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed as a racegoer for 3 nights during the Cheltenham Festival . We found it the perfect location ,as the races were only a 25 minute drive away ,and we had some lovely pubs and restaurants right on our doorstep. We found the cottage spotless, the locals friendly the village beautiful . Will return !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baker660
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute, cosy cottage within a lovely village ”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed in this cottage for a weekend with another couple, their small dog and baby. The cottage was clean, well equipped and had great charm and character. The beds were comfortable and although it could be a little noisy being on the main road, certainly didn't cause us issues.

The location of the cottage was absolutely perfect. Walk around the corner from the cottage and you come to the lovely village with lots of nice cafes, pubs and restaurants. The curry house situated a 20 sec walk (or less) from the cottage is a real must!

As previously stated, there is no off street parking, but we parked our cars at the very top of the road (about 5 min walk) for free.

The owners left a few items for our arrival- milk and a delicious cake! A really nice touch I thought.

The only downsides could be that the stairs to the upstairs are narrow and although fine for us, could be an issue for people with mobility issues. The small armchair sofa could be a little bigger so if you are away as couples, there is a little more seating space together.

Overall though, we had a lovely weekend and certainly did not want to leave! Real bonus that they accepted dogs too as our dog loved her little break away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theramble
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Photographs speak for themselves...”
Reviewed February 4, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Shocking standard of cleanliness...And Attitude...

We were 2 older and more mature ladies staying in this cottage with many years of travel and respect for the accommodation we have stayed in.
Chapel Cottage was an absolute disgrace. The photographs we took plainly speak for themselves but, having both the owner and agent (none of them having actually met us) say we had created the issues was an insult.
In our experience from travelling the globe cleanliness is a standard that is controversial we understand but, basic standards weren't even practiced at Chapel Cottage. We could not in all good conscience let the opportunity slip by without giving a truthful review of this cottage and the agent.

The cottage is almost centre of the village, handy to restaurants and coffee shops, very noisy being on the main road into the village and at a junction, the traffic begins very early with deliveries etc...Very picturesque but, when you look beyond that...well...have a look at the photo's...We have no reason to be anything but, honest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Dear Ms Reid

As in our previous reply to your travelling companion (aka thewillow), we take all complaints seriously however we found there to be no basis to your claims. Your complaint was not received until after your stay; you have refused to communicate directly either with us or with the owners of Chapel Cottage but instead have chosen to post potentially damaging reviews 3 and 5 months after your stay.

We absolutely refute your claim that the property was dirty: we have signed worksheets from the housekeeping team to prove that the house was prepared for your stay and other reviews attest to the cleanliness of the cottage. You will understand I’m sure that there is no daily housekeeping service in a self catering property and so to submit photos taken 6 days into your 7 day stay as evidence is frankly very misleading. Cleanliness is an issue that we take incredibly seriously and as such we have not received any other such negative feedback for Chapel Cottage; we note however from your experience that it does seem to be a recurring issue for you.

We take all feedback seriously and always respond in a timely fashion to any concerns our guests may have but we’re unable to resolve a problem if we’re not made aware of it: had you contacted us on arrival, we would have been in a position to rectify any problems you may have been experiencing. Instead you chose not to contact us and remained at Chapel Cottage for the duration of your stay in Bourton-on-the-Water, posting two prejudicial reviews months later. We are to say the least a little mystified by this behaviour.

We pride ourselves on our high standards and professional integrity: we are of course very sorry that you felt it necessary to take this approach which seriously undermines the validity of your complaint.

Please feel free to contact us directly regarding this. In the meantime, we prefer to allow the other reviews to speak for themselves…..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolyJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything on your doorstep!”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Chapel Cottage in the week running up to Christmas. Well equipped and thoughtfully updated. It's appeal is in it's location for me; right in the heart of Bourton. The local curry house is only 40 steps away (we counted!).

Bourton is a beautiful village, but particularly so around Christmas.

There was a little traffic noise from the road but this didn't bother us too much. The creeky floarboards upstairs may pose a challenge when trying to keep a toddler asleep but that is to be expected in a property of this age. I also thought the lack of parking might be a problem but there are side streets with unrestricted parking which we managed to park on. The single yellow line on the main road can also be parked on from early evening until late morning.

We have stayed in the Cotswolds on a number of occasions and overall I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is less than 2 minutes walk into the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, so really convenient for getting to restaurants, coffee bars and walking around to explore the area without needing the car. It is on a busy road, which would usually bother me but because the location is so handy and the traffic didn't disturb us at night, this wasn't a problem. The cottage is beautifully done and spotlessly clean and although not huge, was fine for us, a party of 4 adults and a baby. We used the attic room as a nursery for a 6 month old baby in a cot bed, which proved extremely useful as it served as a cosy play area too with plenty of room away from our Golden Retriever who always likes to get involved! It was a little awkward getting everything up there but as long as you're reasonably mobile, it's no real problem. There are plenty of electrical sockets, even in the attic room, although clothes hanging space is quite limited and could be a challenge if you're staying longer than a weekend and don't travel light. However, there's plenty of room to keep suitcases under the bed and it is a super cottage and we'd definitely stay there again if we return to the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmen c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas start”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I have just spent an amazing weekend with my grandchildren in Bourton on the Water enjoying the spectacular annual Christmas fair in this stunning village in the Cotswolds. The highlight of the event was the illumination of a beautiful Christmas tree in the middle of river! We stayed at Chapel Cottage which is a lovely Cotswold stone cottage in the heart of the village, set just off the high street which, despite being only a few metres from the hustle and bustle of the village is a wonderfully quiet retreat. The owners have tastefully restored the cottage to an extremely high standard retaining many of the original period features including a fantastic large inglenook fireplace and the lovely original beams. It was truly a home from home with all the mod cons you could need. The children loved the secret snug room at the top of the cottage, equipped with a tv, dvds and games! I have just had an operation on my knee and although the beautiful original staircase was a little steep it had a sturdy handrail which made it easy for me to get upstairs to the delightful bedrooms. A big thank you to Jigsaw Holidays for a perfect cottage in the perfect location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing