We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place! We were on a HF Holidays walking tour!”
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrington House
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a great place! We were on a HF Holidays walking tour!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

When I book a tour, I have few expectations where we will stay or eat. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised! We were in the main building. I had wanted a deluxe room but they were all gone. The room was very nice. Bathroom and shower were good. It was quiet. Liked the bar. Where we were extremely surprised was the quality of the food. This isn't a typical B&B. The people at the House were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I think some people want everything for the lowest price. My daughter and I stayed at Harrington House at the beginning to July 2012. We had beautiful weather in a somewhat miserable summer. So this was great.
We had a twin room in Jubilee House, and it was large with a large bathroom. Beautifully clean, with crisp white bed linen. (There were no protectors on the pillows under the pillowcases, which would be an improvement).
The floor in this old building sloped in a rather endearing way.
The food was excellent. Broad choice of breakfast options. Packed lunch was amazing, so much choice and you could take, what you needed.
Supper was good as well, three courses and all this for less than I have paid for a very average B and B.
There is a beautiful garden with tables and umberella's, a bar, the availabilty of croquet stuff. The staff are so helpful and the whole house is well organised in a very gentle way.
I would go again at the drop of a hat.
Oh and Bourton on the Water is stunningly beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room in Jubilee House was great, could be noisy in the morning as it is in the gate house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our room was very small and dark and the shower had very little water pressure. The food was good and there are plenty of public areas to relax after a day's walking. The staff were all very pleasant and willing to help.The one thing that particularly let Harrington House down was the boot and drying room. There was not enough room to hang wet clothes. No proper drying areas and only pegs not airers. We had a very wet week walking and this drying area was not up to the job. Please HF sort this out.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThelmaandLouise50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays at Harrington House, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Sarah – Research & Quality Manager
HF Holidays Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely stay and very lucky with the weather - good location - room OK although a little small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianafallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent last week-end there as a base for a walking group of 30 people and we had great food , good staff , lovely location and really no faults except the SALT condiment in the Restaurant does not work. That is the only niggle I had,

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building , there are rooms in an annex but the main building would be the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ash099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Wonderful old mansion with lovely spacious rooms and good foods. Discovery Tours with Chrissy are a must. You'll see so much. Great hosts Mia and Daniel. Fabulous week.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Riksem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were part of the HF walking group for July 30-August 3 and had a wonderful time. We are two sisters in our 60s who had not seen each other in a few years. Had read iffy reviews, so upgraded to "premium rooms" and premium they were. The house is a Georgian Mansion, steps away from downtown but far from the maddening tourist crowds. It had incredible plasterwork throughout the original house and our room was one of the original late 1700s ones. It had three great windows, thick walls, a fireplace (not working) plaster detailing and a very modern state of the art bathroom tastefully inserted into the historic room. We had flat panel tv, coffee/ea making facilities and an ITouch dock. Furniture was comfortable but not historic ( Target modern) terry bath robes and slippers. The public rooms had the same architectural details. Absolutely lovely. Food was terrific for breakfast and lunch, debatable for dinner. The walking tours were rugged but not too challenging for a pair of 60+ sisters. The guides--especially Harry--were exceptional.

A lovely private back yard had a large oval grass area surrounded by plantings and some sculpture and tables with umbrellas. Many of us sat there after the walks, enjoying great drinks from the bar and even greater camaraderie. After dinner (more later) we gathered in the ballroom for lighthearted fun and one night a lecture about bees.
You were asked to select your dinner and lunch from a menu the day before. Lunch consisted of sandwich and salad choices (we chose whole wheat baguettes with lots of veggies and either chicken or beef) and then a table of packables...yogurt, dried fruit, nuts, energy bars, cookies, fruit. Breakfast was a buffet with fruit, croissants, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, fruit juices etc, and option to order a full English ...which I usually chose fried egg, bacon --English..sort of like Canadian but better--lots of toast, butter and jam and if you wanted "Fry Bread". A family with gluten sensitivities and one with allergies to chicken eggs, were happily accommodated. Dinner was a little iffier. Some was absolutely first rate like the watermelon, feta and balsamic reduction salad. Some was standard, like the fruit plate for dessert that I ordered each night. The Main Courses evoked the most discussion. Meats tended to be overcooked, and beef one night was deemed unchewable. But overall, the dinners were good and edible, just not above average.
I would recommend this for folks on the HF walking tours, and for people who want to be in Bourton-on-the-Water but not right in the heart of the tourist madness.

Room Tip: ask for the premium rooms 5L per person per night. Really worth it if you care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cranbourne House
Cranbourne House
#11 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Property: Harrington House
Address: Sherborne Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrington House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating originally from the Tudor period, and of considerable historic interest, Harrington House mirrors the mellow architectural style of the Cotswolds. With an enviable location in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, and surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside, it's not surprising that many of our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing