We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ANOTHER EXCELLENT RELAXING STAY”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy450
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ANOTHER EXCELLENT RELAXING STAY”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

This is our 3rd stay at the Perfumery!! Home from Home. Staff are friendly, welcoming and informative on arrival and nothing is too much trouble. The Flat is exceptional in cleanliness, and all facilities and utensils are of an excellent quality. Each time we visit we find lots more to explore. The flat is central and there is lots to do within walking distance. We have no hesitation in recommending to anyone else who wants a guaranteed, relaxing, quality holiday. We will be back!!!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
We always like to see customers coming back - it is the ultimate test I guess. Thank you very much for your review, and we look forward to visit No 4!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieTra...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb self-catering apartment in prime location”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I spent a week staying in Apartment 1 at the Cotswold Perfumery in Bourton-on-the-Water. The apartment is absolutely superb. It is beautifully fitted out with high quality furniture and fittings, providing everything we needed for a week's stay: all the equipment and utensils you could need in the kitchen, including washing machine & dryer and Nespresso pod coffee machine (with pods provided); high tech audio visual equipment and lighting; very comfortable bed; excellent bathroom (bath & shower cubicle); off-street parking in a secure garage; etc. The location is absolutely wonderful, just 20 metres from the River Windrush (one of Bourton's main attractions) and a 2 minute walk to all the shops in the High Street. John personally showed us around the apartment on arrival and explained how everything worked. We were left a beautiful cream tea with scones to welcome us. John's communication and attention to detail during the booking process, and before and on arrival, were excellent. We've stayed in some nice places on our travels over the years, and the Cotswold Perfumery is right up there with the best. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It's a long way to come so I'm very pleased to hear it came up to standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy450
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CENTRAL ACCOMMODATION”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our first visit to The Perfumery, it didn't disappoint. The accommodation was perfect! Fixture and fittings were of excellent quality. Cleanliness of the flat was outstanding. The flat was central to the village so we had easy access to all areas. The welcome from the staff was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cream tea on arrival was lovely. We will definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
What a lovely review - thank you Tracy - and hope to see you again soon. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleens...
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved every minute of our stay. Good location, comfortable with all mod cons . Bed very comfy. Air conditioning an added luxury . Myself and my hubby were so impressed that we plan to return and also try the other apartment in Cheltenham. It was everything that the write up said it was and better

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for a lovely review, and yes - you must try out 24 The Promenade in Cheltenham too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sealeg
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Shhhhhh, our little secret.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our third stay here in Apartment 2 and this beautiful apartment looks as good today as it did on our first visit approximately 5 years ago.

We are a little reluctant to review such a wonderful adults only retreat as we worry it will become so popular that we will never get in, but John the owner and his staff deserve a great review. The attention to everything is astounding from that of safety, to providing a seriously comfortable and spotless apartment, to fitting the apartment with almost everything one could ever need for a relaxing stay with an eye on quality (no Ikea furniture here) as well as usefulness. If we could find more places in the UK like this one I'd return to those too.

As items get old or damaged they are replaced with even better ones such as the Sage Kettle and Toaster which, is as it should. However, lots of owners of holiday homes don't do updates or maintain their property, not here, everything is in perfect condition and it appears that since our last visit the bedroom has been made over with a subtle headboard, beautiful bedspread and cushions, and new luxury Italian Frette Linens. Frette is used on many top hotels and cruise ships, and are worth their investment. The bed was simply wonderful. There's also a cute lighted Simplehuman magnifying mirror which I did in fact purchase online, thanks to John's help. I am working on getting the Frette in the near future.

If the location of pretty Bourton-On-The-Water, convenient parking, reclining sofa, high tech entertainment system, afternoon tea, or view from the living room doesn't get you, then the unique decor of the property that graciously blends old world features with high tech modern comforts seamlessly with a calming palette of colors and decorations just might. You could find yourself relaxing so much so that you might not want to leave, just as we did.

We look forward to seeing what else John conjures up next time, as these subtle but important changes keep the place new and refreshed. Thanks for another amazing stay.

Our Aunt and Uncle that spent some of the time in Apartment 1 also found their stay to be fantastic too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location in the morning and at night, the cleanliness.
Liked least: Cant think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, but it looks like I am going to have to think of something extra special to add to the apartments before your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crav11
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful.”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in Apartment 2 in August and it was just brilliant. Everything inside was premium. Premium, premium, premium. Gorgeous bathroom suite with the loveliest bath (wonderful after a hard day's hiking!), fancy Sage kettle and toaster with all the buttons in the world for all your boiling and toasting needs, the biggest and best Sky package, reclining sofas, plump pillows and the comfiest mattress. The flat was just lovely. We were greeted in the friendliest way and shown around the flat's various features by the folks in the perfumery downstairs. Bourton-on-the-Water itself is stunning and the apartment is right in the middle of the action, walking distance from everything. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review Chloe. Hope to see you both again soon. All the best. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockape2k...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Utterly brilliant...”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All we have to say is that this rental is like living in a John Lewis showhouse! From the funky programmeable kettle and toaster to the under floor heating in the bathroom and the devine mattress and bedding we were 'wowed'. Would absolutely recommend to those looking for high end rentals...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs with bags!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2015
Great review - thank you so much, and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing