We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT CENTRAL ACCOMMODATION”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy450
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CENTRAL ACCOMMODATION”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our first visit to The Perfumery, it didn't disappoint. The accommodation was perfect! Fixture and fittings were of excellent quality. Cleanliness of the flat was outstanding. The flat was central to the village so we had easy access to all areas. The welcome from the staff was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cream tea on arrival was lovely. We will definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
What a lovely review - thank you Tracy - and hope to see you again soon. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleens...
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved every minute of our stay. Good location, comfortable with all mod cons . Bed very comfy. Air conditioning an added luxury . Myself and my hubby were so impressed that we plan to return and also try the other apartment in Cheltenham. It was everything that the write up said it was and better

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for a lovely review, and yes - you must try out 24 The Promenade in Cheltenham too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sealeg
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Shhhhhh, our little secret.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our third stay here in Apartment 2 and this beautiful apartment looks as good today as it did on our first visit approximately 5 years ago.

We are a little reluctant to review such a wonderful adults only retreat as we worry it will become so popular that we will never get in, but John the owner and his staff deserve a great review. The attention to everything is astounding from that of safety, to providing a seriously comfortable and spotless apartment, to fitting the apartment with almost everything one could ever need for a relaxing stay with an eye on quality (no Ikea furniture here) as well as usefulness. If we could find more places in the UK like this one I'd return to those too.

As items get old or damaged they are replaced with even better ones such as the Sage Kettle and Toaster which, is as it should. However, lots of owners of holiday homes don't do updates or maintain their property, not here, everything is in perfect condition and it appears that since our last visit the bedroom has been made over with a subtle headboard, beautiful bedspread and cushions, and new luxury Italian Frette Linens. Frette is used on many top hotels and cruise ships, and are worth their investment. The bed was simply wonderful. There's also a cute lighted Simplehuman magnifying mirror which I did in fact purchase online, thanks to John's help. I am working on getting the Frette in the near future.

If the location of pretty Bourton-On-The-Water, convenient parking, reclining sofa, high tech entertainment system, afternoon tea, or view from the living room doesn't get you, then the unique decor of the property that graciously blends old world features with high tech modern comforts seamlessly with a calming palette of colors and decorations just might. You could find yourself relaxing so much so that you might not want to leave, just as we did.

We look forward to seeing what else John conjures up next time, as these subtle but important changes keep the place new and refreshed. Thanks for another amazing stay.

Our Aunt and Uncle that spent some of the time in Apartment 1 also found their stay to be fantastic too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location in the morning and at night, the cleanliness.
Liked least: Cant think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, but it looks like I am going to have to think of something extra special to add to the apartments before your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crav11
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful.”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in Apartment 2 in August and it was just brilliant. Everything inside was premium. Premium, premium, premium. Gorgeous bathroom suite with the loveliest bath (wonderful after a hard day's hiking!), fancy Sage kettle and toaster with all the buttons in the world for all your boiling and toasting needs, the biggest and best Sky package, reclining sofas, plump pillows and the comfiest mattress. The flat was just lovely. We were greeted in the friendliest way and shown around the flat's various features by the folks in the perfumery downstairs. Bourton-on-the-Water itself is stunning and the apartment is right in the middle of the action, walking distance from everything. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review Chloe. Hope to see you both again soon. All the best. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockape2k...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Utterly brilliant...”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All we have to say is that this rental is like living in a John Lewis showhouse! From the funky programmeable kettle and toaster to the under floor heating in the bathroom and the devine mattress and bedding we were 'wowed'. Would absolutely recommend to those looking for high end rentals...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs with bags!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2015
Great review - thank you so much, and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy1Ham...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodation in perfect central setting”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful apartment was the perfect location for a short break in the Cotswolds. It was very tastefully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. Very comfortable bed, pillows and lovely linen. High quality, spotlessly clean bathroom and well equipped kitchen. I can't think of anything negative to say as this was the complete package. The best holiday accommodation we have every stayed at! The staff at The Perfumery were very helpful and pleasant. Thank you! The location made it the perfect base to go sightseeing around the Cotswolds. If you choose to stay at The Perfumery you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent quality and everything worked!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
What a nice review - thank you. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb, luxurious, romantic apartment for two”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

There aren't enough superlatives for this delightful, supremely comfortable high-tech flat. We were welcomed very warmly. The instructions for all the equipment, fire instructions, alarm etc. were thoroughly explained. Following this, we gratefully tucked into the delicious scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam - the best I have ever tasted. This was provided for us along with bread butter eggs coffee and milk. Everything in the apartment was top quality, with the delightful indulgence of a remote control for the bedroom light - which had 4 settings! - to save us getting out of bed, quite sybaritic. To cap it all a Sonos sound system conveyed music throughout. A most delightful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location allowing us to access the shops, attractions and restaurants on foot
Liked least: Nothing - all was superb
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2015
Wow! Great comments, thank you David. I must go and look up what sybaritic means!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing