We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Larks Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larks Rise
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Larks Rise B&B was a lovely warm homely place to stay and barbara and bill were fantastic hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts were gorgeous especially the freshly laid eggs from the chickens, barbras scrambled egg was fantastic.
The bedrooms were lovely decorated and clean and even though we stayed in the bedroom without the en suite it made no difference as the bathroom was just for us to use and I would not let it put any one off. I would highly recommend this B& B to anyone, in fact I would not stay anywhere else other than Lark Rise if I visited again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    9
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
125
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We arrived to be greeted with a cup of tea with the proprietors who were very friendly. They provided information about the area and let us know about possible excursions. As for our stay, the room was 1st class. Very spacious with adequate storage and en suite in excellent condition. A home from home. Would definitely recommend a stay here whilst visiting the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsetter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We've just returned after staying with Barbara & Bill for a week and would definitely suggest staying in Lark's Rise if you're considering a break in or around Bourton. You couldn't ask to meet a nicer couple and the B&B itself was immaculate. The breakfast each day was fantastic and Barbara and Bill's suggestions to eat at both the Rose Tree and Hollow Bottom couldn't have been better (the variety and quality of food and wine is definitely worth a visit). We stayed in the Mungo Park room and found this to be incredibly comfortable and the facilities and decor to a very high standard (actually, maybe we shouldn't mention the room name so that it's free for when we go back!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Perfectly located, very nice B&B . Bill and Barbara do their best to make you feel welcome and comfortable. They recommend best restauratnts in area, places worth visiting which we found very useful.
Beds are very comfortable, breakfest superb, beautiful area.
Highly recommended place - would go back with no doubts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olcia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Wonderful memories of a long weekend when my now husband asked me to marry him! We were even given champagne to celebrate, which 'just happened to be in the fridge'! The hospitality was second to none. The house was very stylish and full of character yet cosy with beautifully decorated rooms and modern bathrooms. Everything was very clean. Another perk of Larks Rise is that it has a guest living room with a log fire and space to relax. I've stayed in a few bnbs and this one stands out and Bourton-on-the-water is an area we want to return to.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLeprachaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Very frosty reception on arrival for being late (traffic). Barbara not a very good/welcoming host. Rooms clean, comfortable. Food okay nothing special. Dog. Not a great location. Nice garden but you can only sit on certain chairs. If you like a warm, welcoming home from home dont stay here!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilliSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

A warm, friendly welcome with a hot drink. Excellent accommadation which is warm, clean and very comfortable. A outstanding breakfast sevred with fresh produce and at a time to suit the guest. The sunken bath is a must if, like alot of us are used to showers every day! Near enough to the village of Bourton to be able to comfortably walk in 5 minutes, but away from all the bustle of tourists traffic. Very dark at night, which is fantastic particularly if like us you live in a city. Heartily recommend Larks Rise to anyone wishing for a quiet break away.
M & R, Leicester

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.6 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larks Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larks Rise

Property: Larks Rise
Address: Larks Rise Old Gloucester Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larks Rise is the perfect B&B for visiting the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water, or for touring the Cotswolds. Enjoy first class accommodation and facilities, a beautiful house and garden and Bill and Barbara's friendly hospitality. Guest sitting room, garden patio with far reaching views, and just a 12 minutes walk into the centre of the village. Nearest pub serving food just 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing