We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its like staying with friends”
Review of Larks Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larks Rise
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Have read some of the other reviews on here which we feel are incorrect so had to let you know of our experiences at Larks Rise.
This is now our fourth visit to Barbara and Bills guest house and it really is like we are stopping with friends. Nothing is too much trouble, it is great to chat to them and catch up. Location is just outside of Bourton so you are not troubled by lots of people but is close enough to have a pleasant walk into the village in the evening. You are made to feel very welcome and "at home" instantly. The breakfasts are plentiful and as usual we had a very relaxing time. We have tried a couple of eating places in the village and would highly recommend The Mousetrap Inn. The service is good, staff very friendly and the food was brill.
You must visit - you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jus27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to go home, the service was brilliant, Barbara explained all we needed to know about the room, available areas to guests, the best way into the village by foot and offered us torches to use to come back with for the evening.We enjoyed the quiet garden and watching the free range chickens.
Our room was very clean and tidy with a comfortable king size bed and spacious en-suite shower room offering all toiletries we could need. Duriing our stay it was cleaned to a very high standard,
Although we thought nearby traffic would keep us awake we were surprised that it didn't.We were pleased not to be in village centre as traffic is quite busy during the day.
Barbara and Bill run an excellent homely, comfortable bed and breakfast in a friendly professional manner and we shall be returning on a regular basis and telling our friends about it

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandEvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We booked at the last minute and we were so lucky hat Barbara and Bill were able to accommodate us. Barbara sounded friendly on the phone and we were not disappointed. She welcomed us with a cup of tea and then showed us to our spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated room. The ensuite had everything you could wish for with shampoo etc of the best quality. The breakfast was yummy with a variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurt followed by wide variety of cooked foods.For my daughter and I it was real luxury and we will definitely return and would recommend Larks Rise house.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This B&B was everything you look for in somewhere to stay in the country. Great location, charming setting - clean, stylish, atmospheric rooms - wonderful breakfast, fresh eggs laid by the hens that wander the plot, all taken in a lovely conservatory overlooking the garden. Above all, Bill and Barbara are natural hosts, both warm and welcoming - two people who obviously enjoy opening their house to guests.
I would thoroughly recommend Larks Rise to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexthorpe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

After reading all the positive reviews I was very disappointed by Larkrise. Bill was pleasant but Barbara was not at all helpful and it was puzzling to be treated in the way we were especially on departure. The house is out of Bourton and it would have been useful to be informed that the road has no street lamps. I would not recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JanineHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay at this bed and breakfast. Barbara, the hostess, is a lovely lady who goes out of her way to help her guests, and her home is beautiful. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, good food, and we were made very welcome. We would certainly return here in the future and be happy to recommend Lark's Rise to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crusty43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We've just returned from a lovely weekend relaxing at Larks Rise and thought we'd hop straight online and submit our review. It is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in and had all the characteristics one could ask for in a B&B - friendly hosts (Barbara & Bill), very clean, rooms were well stocked with tea/coffee/biscuits, toiletries etc.

The location wasn't right on Bourton-on-the-Water, but offered us the opportunity to enjoy the walk out into the town centre and even to Upper and Lower Slaughter. We stayed in a room facing the main road, but could barely hear the cars outside.

All in all a fantastic B&B and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
7.8 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Nest
Sunny Nest
#18 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Webbys Windrushwalk
Webbys Windrushwalk
#21 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larks Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larks Rise

Address: Larks Rise Old Gloucester Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $81 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larks Rise is the perfect B&B for visiting the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water, or for touring the Cotswolds. Enjoy first class accommodation and facilities, a beautiful house and garden and Bill and Barbara's friendly hospitality. Guest sitting room, garden patio with far reaching views, and just a 12 minutes walk into the centre of the village. Nearest pub serving food just 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing