We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time”
Review of Larks Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larks Rise
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from another wonderful weekend at our favourite Cotswold B&B
It was so good to see Barbara&Bill again -as well as Millie & Alvis ( the dog & cat) .We stayed in the lodge which was ,as ever, excellent It is ideal when you are out &about all day The new Larks Wing has now been completed &decorated superbly -Bill & Barbara certainly have an eye for detail & fill their rooms with wonderful eccentricities. This makes the stay more fun -looking for new things that have been added
The breakfasts are served in a lovely conservatory with views over the garden &Cotswold countryside beyond.What an excellent way to start the day
The bed in the lodge is one of the best I've slept in( this coming from an insomniac is praise indeed!!! ). After the hard weekend of racing we've had it was so nice to sink into bed
The only down side to the weekend was not being able to stay longer This is our 6th stay in Larksrise but it certainly won't be the last We have already talked about the next trip there
We have had meals in some lovely country pubs this weekend - notably The Mousetrap in Bourton, The Black Horse in nearby Naunton,The Hollow Bottom in Guiting Power(a must for those who like their horse racing ) ,& The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington .All provided great atmosphere & outstanding food
Barbara & Bill are consummate hosts It is fun to eat breakfast listening to their cheerful kitchen banter- what a double act . thank you both once again for your fantastic hospitality We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Larksrise to anyone wanting a trip to the Cotswolds that provides that added something to make it memorable

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent quality none would dissapoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 163 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

My friend and I spent 2 weeks at the Larks Rise B&B in their separate self-catering Lodge. It was absolute perfection! A real home-away-from-home. Bill and Barbara were excellent hosts and helped us out on several occasions when we found ourselves at loose ends (flat tire, adapter issues, directions!). The lodge was clean, homey, spacious and had every amenity we could need - from a full kitchen to all the little things that make you feel comfortable. If we are ever back in the Cotswolds (hopefully soon!), we will definitely be staying with them again. (And this time we'll win that Quiz, Bill and Barbara!!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Such a lovely welcome from Barbara on arrival. We felt at home within minutes. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Bill and Barbara were there to help us throughout our stay: such a warm and friendly couple. We would love to come back next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiAndBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wonderful rooms, wonderful food, wonderful hosts. Travelers truly need welcome mats and a warm, inviting one was out when we arrived. Barb and Bill have missed nothing or, if they have, we missed it, too. We look forward to visiting again next year. I have no hesitation in recommending Lark's rise.

Room Tip: Any room will delight you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the Bed & Breakfast that other B&Bs should try to aspire to.
The friendliness of the greeting makes you feel at home right away. The bedroom was large, the decor relaxing the bed comfortable. The range of complimentary shampoos etc in the quality bathroom was as good as home. The breakfast in the sunny (If you are lucky) Conservatory, was just as good, top quality food.served in a friendly manner, the coffee was 'Proper' everything was freshly made, with the proprietors Barbara & Bill 2 of the most friendly couple of B&B owners we have come across. Would not hesitate to use any time we were staying in the area,

Room Tip: Any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This B&B was definately the highlight of our trip , stayed here for 5 nights in August and didnt want to leave. My husband , daughter , sister , brother in law and myself had the 3 bedroom house to ourselves and felt like home away from home. The rooms were very neat and tidy and lovely big bathrooms. Our hosts Barb and Bill were outstanding and alot of fun , we became good friends and were sad to leave. Bill cooks a great breakfast and Barb has an eye for detail and has thought of everything. Bourton on the water is a lovely place and we would recommend Larks Rise to anyone.
I left my hairdryer behind and after contacting Barb she kindly posted it on to me , thats the kind of people they are and its the little touches and kindheartedness that counts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesp49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the new wing called "Lark's Wing" which was recently completed (we were there in July, 2012). More decorative touches were added after our stay. It was nothing short of perfect for us, two adults and one teenager. It is a two level unit which has one multi-purpose room (double bed, sitting area, table and 3 chairs/kitchenette) on the first floor and a bedroom and full bathroom on the second floor. It also has a small patio outside the door. You can opt to have a continental breakfast delivered (in the cutest basket) in the morning or have the full breakfast in the main B&B dining room (or outside if weather is fine) - you just have to schedule that with Bill and Barbara (who have got to be the friendliest, nicest people you'd ever have the pleasure of meeting). The continental breakfast lasted us two mornings, that's how extensive it was. We treated ourselves to the full breakfast on our last morning there and were able to sit outside - bliss.

You can walk into Bourton-on-the-Water and choose from several great restaurants. We ate at the recommended Rose Tree and it was wonderful; outside with a view of the river which gently flows through the village.

Our daughter was the first to sleep upstairs in the built-in bed and other than some bugs which came in at night, enjoyed it - there is also a little sitting area up there. Barbara did a fantastic job creating this unit and we were thrilled to be able to be one of the first guests. I also loved the shower - it had great pressure (unlike our experience in London hotels) and so felt wonderful. The whole place is spotless.

Bourton-on-the Water is a good central point fro which to enjoy the "heart of England". We took day trips to Stonehenge, Bath, Stratford-on-Avon, and lots of charming Cotswold towns. If you have kids, make time to visit Adam Henson's Farm, about 5 miles from Lark's Rise. Lovely area and views of the hills, and lots of animals to pet and watch. Also, playgrounds galore and cafe.

Room Tip: In addition to Lark's Wing, they have another unit which is its own little cottage which might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandRFountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larks Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larks Rise

Address: Larks Rise Old Gloucester Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larks Rise is the perfect B&B for visiting the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water, or for touring the Cotswolds. Enjoy first class accommodation and facilities, a beautiful house and garden and Bill and Barbara's friendly hospitality. Guest sitting room, garden patio with far reaching views, and just a 12 minutes walk into the centre of the village. Nearest pub serving food just 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing