We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pedantic owners, but a delightful place”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gruffalo...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pedantic owners, but a delightful place”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved the home, the location and the immediate surroundings, and Bourton-on-the-Water itself is picture-postcard-level pretty.
We'd warn you about the tiny, inconvenient bathrooms, and the owners being a little pedantic (i.e. you have to take the trash out when you leave, etc. despite paying for a cleaning), and also minor stuff about how difficult it is to find the place in the first place. But all of that is part of the charm of the place, and very minor in context.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owners of Middle Gable"
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Middle Gable. I don’t have the exact measurements of the bathrooms with me at the moment but there is more than enough room for a bath, toilet and wash basin and plenty of room to move around (it is also situated right next to the bedroom). The other bathroom on the ground floor is a shower room and toilet and can be described as very convenient especially for children and disabled guests. Please bear in mind that the house is almost 400 years old! We do ask guests to put their rubbish outside, which they are more than happy to do. Regarding the cleaning, this is included in the rental price and is not an additional cost. The instructions on how to find the property are supplied by Character Cottages and are extremely accurate and easy to follow. They also provide you with photographs to make it even clearer for you to find and the postcode takes you straight to the property if you are using a sat nav. I am more than happy to give guests extra instructions when they ring me prior to arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tapper54
Frankfort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Each time we stay it gets harder to leave”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth time staying in this lovely cottage. It was later in the year than we have ever stayed before, but the heated floor kept it warm and toasty. Warmly welcomed back by the Owners, the neighbors and the local pub staff, our stay in this charming village was another spectacular, relaxing success.

We did have a family get together at the cottage one day that was also fun. But, for the most part, it was just leisure and comfort. Always lots of window shopping and duck feeding in the village. Lots of yummy delights at the Bakery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property and the cottage itself.
Liked least: leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrislell...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay here - lovely house so close to the village centre but at the same time we enjoy the peace as we were near the countryside
Boughton of course is heaven on a stick - brilliant to walk around first thing in the morning or late afternoon
Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen1492
Haifa District, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Traditional though modern house”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is located 2 minutes walk from the centre of Bourton on the water. It has a lovely garden but the best thing is its interior. For the first moment one does not know what to look at 
Our 3 boys shared a very spacious room on the third floor and our baby had a travel cot arranged in our room.
There was everything we needed. The house comes with private parking which is very useful. We enjoyed it very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the interior and the location
Liked least: the hot water in the bath
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noone133
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, so peaceful yet centrally located”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just spent a wonderful week here. Bourton-on-the-water is very pretty and ideally located for exploring the Cotswolds. Middle Gable is the perfect place to stay. It is just a few minutes from the shops and good places to eat but is so peaceful and quiet, with lovely walks nearby as well. It is beautifully decorated and the owners are amazingly helpful. They both went out of their way to make sure that we had the best possible holiday. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Holiday Home I Have Ever Stayed In.”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Even before entering Middle Gable it was impossible to not be impressed by the beautiful frontage of the building, overlooking a very pretty, well tended garden.
The cottage, formerly part of a 17th century manor house has not lost the elegance and richness of a long and bygone area. The owner has cleverly combined 17th century with modern living ensuring a luxurious stay but with the feel of having stepped into an historical gem. The cottage has been lovingly furnished to give a grand yet homely feel with the interesting touch of many wonderful paintings/prints of historical figures (many from the 1600s). It would be quite easy to while away a few hours just appreciating the decorative features throughout the house.
The cottage is full of character, and as mentioned, still retains its antiquated atmosphere. We loved the master bedroom with its wooden floorboards, latched wooden door and mullion windows. The crowning piece of the room has to be the king sized four poster bed, which was extremely comfortable. We also liked the portrait of Queen Elizabeth 1st, keeping a stern eye on things!
The living room was very cosy and uplifting. We enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine, by the log burner fire and keeping our feet warm, not only with the use of the fire but also the underfloor heating - a real luxury!
The only downside was our stay here went far too quickly! There is lots to see and do in the surrounding areas, the village of Bourton on the Water is delightful. Whether you are looking to simply relax and unwind, or have a more energetic holiday this location caters for both. We visited Birdland , the Motoring Museum and The Model Village, all within a short walking distance from the cottage, and all very much worth seeing.
In short we couldn't have wished for a better venue in a better setting. Perfect! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to choose although we really loved the Master Bedroom
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and easy to find with the instructions provided. Good facilities (with the exception of the dishwasher which left everything with a powdery film and lack of waste bins). We did remember to take bin liners, kitchen paper, washing up liquid, shower gel and tea towels, but didn't expect to need to take our own toilet paper!
We like to have dinner in at least once or twice during our stays and many of the utensils, glasses etc were tired.
Our American friends loved the four poster bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and furnishings
Liked least: lack of supplies
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner of Middle Gable: "Thank you for your review; I will answer your points:
The dishwasher is a Neff appliance and we have always found it to be an excellent dishwasher.
We do not have waste bins in the kitchen because Cotswold district Council is very particular about what goes into which bin and we have found that if you put a bin in the kitchen everything gets put into that and then the council will not take the rubbish therefore there are bin bags under the sink.
The refuse bins of which there are three and two sacks for cardboard and plastic are situated at the top of the garden by the garage, a fact I tell you about it when you call me.
Washing up liquid is kept under the sink along with numerous other cleaning products and cloths, tea towels are situated on the tea towel holder which slides away under the cupboard next to the cooker - there are two tea towels for Each visit.
We do not provide shower gel as this is a personal thing but we do provide hand wash in both bathrooms and the kitchen. We would not expect you to provide your own toilet roll and we provide 2 toilet rolls in each bathroom , and the housekeeping team have confirmed that this was the case last Friday when you arrived.
With regards to the utensils being tired, we use the property on a regular basis and I check everything over and replace anything that might be chipped. When we spoke on the Friday night about the Internet and when you met my husband at the property on the Saturday, we asked you if everything was okay and you said yes but if you had mentioned any of your concerns then we would have been able to look into them for you.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing