We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cotswold Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
13marilyn
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Cotswold Cottage”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Middle Gable is a charming cottage in the very heart of beautiful Bourton-on-the-Water. The cottage is located within two blocks of the village, making it extremely convenient to all the services and stores the village has to offer. My husband and I spent 2 1/2 weeks at Middle Gable. It was the perfect spot for us, since we went to this area to hike the many public pathways within and around Bourton. Asw ell, we were close to many of the National Trust sites that we had on our list to see.

The interior of the cottage is lovely, well appointed and professionally decorated. However, the décor does not diminish at all the details of this 350 year old house. All the modern conveniences were available, including Wi Fi, two flat screen TV's, a washer/dryer, a microwave, etc.

The time we spent at Middle Gable went too fast. We were extremely fortunate to be in the cottage while the splendid English garden was in full bloom outside our door. It is a place we would return to in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelluv...
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic Stay & Ideal Cotswolds Village ~ Bourton on the Water”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I just stayed at Middle Gable in September 2014. After driving my husband crazy to take me on vacation to the Cotswolds, my dream finally came true. I'd been researching the best villages to stay for over 3 years (on and off). After I researched hotels, cottages and farm stays, I made my decision to stay at Middle Gable in the lovely and bucolic village of Bourton on the Water. There are many reasons why we enjoyed our stay and would return to Middle Gable and Bourton. Here's a few: Middle Gable was well appointed, comfortable and decorated in a manner that helped create that story book vision in my mind about a trip to England. I loved the Pictures of Queen Mary, the antiques and the master bed that was made for a King. I loved the old architecture, the wooden doors and slanted floors. I loved the old world charm and craftsmanship that has lasted overtime. I loved the old windows that opened up to the garden to hear the morning birds singing their daily songs and the feel of fresh, cool morning countryside air. The magnificent garden and friendly neighbors made us feel at home, if only for a few days. Middle Gable had everything we needed. We woke up slow, made coffee and enjoyed breakfast while we thought of our plans for the day. We could even take a 2 minute walk to the local bakery that had divine baked goods, bread and coffee. The convenient location of Middle Gable was ideal. There was a footpath behind the cottage that strolled along the water.... so pretty.........and it's only a 2 minute walk to the High Street and to the Grocery Store and Restaurants. Bourton on the Water can be over-run with tourist during the day.... but in the evening and night, you get the village to yourself in all it's splendor and quaintness. It was so romantic just taking a glass of wine and walking hand in hand at nighttime along the water. The walk back to the cottage was a quick stroll next to other cottages, a friendly pub and the bakery. It made me feel like I was whisked away, back in time, to another land.... yet a land that felt much like HOME to ME. That's the best way to describe it. At night, we'd return to the cottage, light a fire and talk about the best memories from our day hiking amongst the countryside between the villages. We loved the fact that the most loveliest villages were in a close proximity.... Our FAVORITE VILLAGES WERE: Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Lower and Upper Slaughter and Stow on the Wold. Northleach was great, too........with a great place to dine at Wheatsheaf Hotel. We also enjoyed High Tea at Lords of Manor Hotel. We hiked there....and although we were in our hiking attire, the Hotel Staff were very welcoming and friendly to us. One day, I'll return to the Cotswolds.... and I'd certainly return to Middle Gable! It was everything I dreamed of! PS: The booking for Middle Gable was very easy. Our deposit was promptly returned... and the owners were very accommodating and friendly. You can tell how much they enjoy their guest enjoying their home. They are so blessed to own Middle Gable. What a treasure! PSS: For those of you who love the show "Downton Abbey"... the filming location of Highclere Castle is an hours drive from Bourton on the Water. It's worth the drive!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, architecture, finishings, history, decor, village
Liked least: I loved it ALL!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosepetal...
southampton
1 review
“character cottage in great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Middle Gable is a well presented cottage with a beautiful garden and it's very near the centre of Bourton though in a quiet location. The house has been tastefully furnished and the lounge is very comfortable though it took us a while to work out how the tv worked as you need to use both the Bush and Panasonic controls.
We never found out how to switch on the tv in the bedroom. The house was clean apart from the oven which had not been cleaned for some time. The owner is helpful and gave us some useful information beforehand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house, the location, the garden
Liked least: the dirty oven and the restricted height of the upstairs bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
The following response was posted by the property owners:
"Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Middle Gable. We are sorry you found the oven lacking, we have spoken to the housekeeping team who will check it.
The television in the bedroom has to be switched on to work, the switch is situated at the bottom of the television. In general the height in the top bedroom is unrestricted but you may have to duck under the beam if you are over 6ft in height, the door into the bedroom is low but guests are advised of that when they call me for key details, my husband is 6' 2" and does not find it a problem, but this property is almost 400 years old and some variation in roof height is part of its innate character. If you had called me during your stay I would have been able to rectify the oven and television issue for you!”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tapper54
Frankfort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Like Coming Home”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I did our first ever cottage rental here in May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having hemmed and hawed about where our next vacation destination would be, we decided to come back to Middle Gable for another two weeks. It honestly felt like we were coming back to our "other" home. Greeted by the neighbors and even some of the staff at the Duke of Wellington remembered us! The washer/dryer was on the fritz, but it turned out to be a good thing as we discovered Mary's Laundry Service around the corner (life is too short to deal with laundry on holiday!!). The service was spot on, quite economical, and well worth making the short walk. Even if the washing machine is back in service the next time we rent Middle Gable (and we will), we will probably just go to Mary's, it's SO convenient.

We are glad the owner's got a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence as this place SO deserves it! I almost don't want the world to know about this gem or we'll never get to book it again!

Would we tell our friends about it? yes! and they have gone and stayed there too, and loved it! Would we book it again? ABSOLUTELY! Looking forward to staying again in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being there
Liked least: leaving there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Beautiful Place...A Relaxing Tonic”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Middle Gable cottage was outstanding - a beautiful place in a beautiful village (Bourton on the Water). The owners were helpful and easy to deal with, and the cottage itself has been renovated with great care. It is a great place to stay as modern touches make it a very comfortable cottage, but it still retains its old character and charm. The English garden, maintained by the friendly neighbors, is as beautiful as one would want to find. The Cotswolds are filled with beautiful places, and Middle Gable was a relaxing tonic that made our visit from the States very memorable."

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge W
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If we could only stay here forever...”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've stayed at many a lovely house in Britain, but Middle Gable is by far the best we've ever been to. We were enchanted from the moment we walked into the garden and then inside the house was so beautifully decorated, there were lovely things everywhere you looked. And so quiet, how can it be so quiet and still only a 2 minutes walk from the village. Very relaxing. The boys loved their room on the top floor, with a lot of room to play. We didn't hear or see them, so we could relax downstairs. And the master bedroom just made us feel like royalty. Truth be told, so did walking up the beautiful grand stairs. We could actually sleep in the same bed in Middle Gable, which is not always the case. Beds are often too short for my husband, to narrow or whatever, but no such problems here.
In fact, the house was so wonderful that we didn't do all the things we had planned, because we just loved to stay in. So we'll come back next year to do those things. Having said that, we did get to see Bourton (only a 2 minutes walk) and that is an absolutely wonderful village, with unique shops and lovely tearooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom, we felt like royalty
Liked least: Having to leave this enchanted place
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddles07...
North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint charm but all of the modern amenities we could have wished for”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I stayed at Middle Gable in December with a group of friends having found the property on the Character Cottages website. The property was really lovely. Having been built in the 16th Century it oozed character and charm. Although an old building it was really cosy and warm partly due to the underfloor heating in the lounge and the open fire which we took full advantage of. The house was beautifully decorated and retained its quaint charm but had all of the modern amenities we could have wished for. The double garage meant that we could park our cars for the duration of our stay and make our way on foot as the centre of the village is only a 2 minute walk away.

There are numerous lovely cafes and pubs in the village or just a short drive away. We were looking to do some Christmas shopping and found the unique shops ideal for some unusual Christmas presents. The Christmas atmosphere in the village was lovely and the Christmas tree in the centre of the river was really special.

The arrangements for booking couldn’t have been easier. The owners were on hand for any queries and the neighbours Ann and Steve couldn’t have been more helpful too. We hope to return in December this year if we are lucky enough to get in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming building
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing