We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding preparation ”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here on and off for at least 5 years. It's why we chose here to get married. We have never experienced bad food or service and have been in the restaurant twice recently when inedible food has been reviewed, seems very odd to us. The service is relaxed rather than slow but always polite.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank MouseGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 971 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I (plus Yorkshire Terrier) spent six days at The Swan last month and cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation, food and service. The staff (predominantly Eastern European) were very attentive and efficient and spoke very good English. Only negative comments we could make would be 1. Cannot make good coffee - even Esspresso! and 2. The hotel cater for a lot of weddings. When these occur (quite frequent) once the wedding breakfast and speeches are over (and presumably the free drinks!) many of the guests make for the bar and one does feel swamped by the large crowd in high spirits! However, we would not like to detract from what was, in every other way, a very happy stay at The Swan. We shall definitely be returing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a 2 night break. A nice small hotel with good rooms but the bar food and service was absolutely terrible , some of which you could not eat.
The service was equally as poor.
There was also a main dining room where breakfast was served and this marginally better than the food served at the bar.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Eddiefog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Food at the brasserie was ok but service was awful. Could not get table cleared and timings for food was dreadful. Another tourist trap hotel who think they don't have to try hard. Certainly will not be returning. It's a shame as it's in a beautiful location and I dread to think what foreign visitors would make of the shoddy service.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank petedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Swan was a surprise treat for our Ruby Anniversary. I was delighted with our room "The Swan"'with its beautiful rich furnishings and four-poster bed, dressing room and palatial bathroom with spa bath - the Molton Brown toiletries were a nice touch. The setting is absolutely idyllic in a pretty Cotswold village with a gorgeous trout river and picturesque gardens - we also visited The Bear at Rodborough - in the same hotel group - where we had stayed almost thirty years ago and said hello to the same bear still standing in the foyer! The meals at the Swan were very good - particularly liked the home-made walnut bread and whiskey laced marmalade at breakfast - great way to start our sightseeing day! Hope I get treated to another stay for our Golden anniversary!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moondill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Driving through the winding lanes we turned a corner to find The Swan beckoning .The outside tables along the river bank were a great way to enjoy the sun and atmosphere of the garden and river setting and many were doing just that. We had to take a table indoors and were a bit confused by the rabbit warren of rooms and tables available however each nook held some privacy . Staff were hard to find but when we managed to find someone they were pleasant enough. Unfortunately the first three things we ordered we sold out , one being the roast of the day and I guess we were late at 5.00 pm if dinner is eaten midday.
We had been looking forward to Yorkshire pudding as seen on the menu but none of that either!
The meals we had were well cooked and presented . Staff need to be more obviously present in such a vast area of dining choices and it would have helped if our first choices were available . The venue is clean and appealing.I would try again for the "roast of the day" and hope more staff were forthcoming on a busy Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Have just come back from a stay at the Swan Hotel which was very lovely indeed. Stayed in the rookery family suite. Room size wasn't the biggest for how much it cost, but was still very nice anyway.

Breakfast was very nice and came out quickly when ordered.

Parking however was very tight. There is a function room where they hold weddings meaning a lot of extra cars were in the village. Luckily got the last parking space in the car park out side the cottage apartments. Car park can hold maybe 8 or 9 cars at the most.

Room Tip: The Rookery is a family suite in the very top of the hotel. If you don't like slanted ceilings I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
610 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
388 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,391 reviews
18.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range: $153 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing