We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful setting of a friendly well organised hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Mollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delightful setting of a friendly well organised hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

my husband and i have just returned from a sublime sunday break at the hotel.The setting is perfect very quintisential!The hotel was clean tasteful decor and staff very friendly and attentive.We had sunday lunch inc in our booking.A lovely meal good size portions we didnt need any thing else for the remainder of the day!The breakfast was equally plentiful and tasty.Albeit its a 4star hotel it is not at all stuffy and staff were so attentive and helpful.i think if you dont enjoy your stay here youre quite hard to please!we shall be back,although alot of people said it gets extremely busy in the summer months so maybe low season is best!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumski836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    229
    109
    63
    32
See reviews for
163
478
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My companion and I have had lunch at The Swan many times over the last 3 years and we are never disappointed. We always eat in the Bar as we prefer the ambience: comfy chairs, cushions, big roaring fire!

The food is truly delicious. One pays a bit more for quality but I would not say it is extortionately priced.

We are definitely going back.... I just booked a B&B and dinner package in Feb for his birthday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndepTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We recently stayed for one night just to get away from it all. We booked directly with the hotel rather than late rooms and got a far better deal. Basically for £5 less we got a three course meal on top of late rooms price. So definitely recommend trying the hotel first. My only and major issue was the size of the portions of food and the price of the drinks. Now, it could be said that compared with late rooms I was infact getting the food for nothing so anything was value. This is of course not true and I expected more than two plate (not) fuls of not much for starter and mains. It was very tasty but minuscule in portion size. The drinks were also dear. However, this aside the staff were lovely and the room was nice. I may opt to return one day but would go up the road to the other pub for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Went to Swan Hotel for dinner and breakfast recently as we attended a wedding and a party in the area - I cannot fault how well maintained this property is, the only problem I have is how expensive the food and drinks were!

I assume you pay for the exquisite location and the poshness of the hotel but my goodness, it is very pricey. The quality is ok but nevermind, it was a pleasant experience in the end. The view around the area is magnificent too so that is definitely worth the visit at least.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chrispine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I went to the hotel in December for my second visit. The room coincidently was the same room which we had previously enjoyed which was great
Being Christmas the decorations and atmosphere contributed to an overall fantastic experience .
Food is local produce and something to look forward for breakfast
I’m looking forward to my next visit in the spring

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spenhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked only one night as we were only travelling through. We got a deal for bed and breakfast, and we're given a river vIew no.8 it was a beautiful room and the bathroom was big also. My husband is a fisherman, so was keen to see the river which was as expected in flood. The trout farm was worth a trip which you have to pay for. The restaurant is modern, food excellent and staff were very attentive, could not fault anything. The cosy snug is very welcomIng with an open fire. A very good choice of hotel.

Room Tip: I am sure all would be nIce, but no. 8 is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Of all the hotels in the country this was far the best!
My husband and I frequent the country side to get away from city life and this clearly was the best place we have stayed so far!
The room was pristine! the teddy bear waiting for us on the bed was the best treat of them all! A real "Home feeling" ..
We dined at the restaurant as well which was just as brilliant as the room!
I can wait to go back with a longer stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
18.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History surrounds you at The Swan Hotel, located in the picturesque village of Bibury, described as the 'prettiest village in England' by William Morris. The Hotel offers you a relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings, featuring cosy lounges, roaring log fires, antique furnishing and rich decor. Our dining room is home to great English cusine and a fine wine selection. In our Bar meals are served all day.The tranquil Swan Gardens offer residents the delights of the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing