We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return!!!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria ~the english lake district
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We will return!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A great place for a couple of nights away!
Warm welcome with friendly, professional efficient service.
Great, well presented and cooked food (even with my gluten intolerance) served in a lovely environment of newly refurbished dining rooms and bar.
A great attention to detail is provided by keen and well trained staff and the owners attention to detail regarding interior design is noted and much appreciated.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 16 comfy bed with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ullswater2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    249
    110
    65
    35
See reviews for
178
512
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I discovered Bibury about 10 years ago and instantly fell in love with the village, my stepson lives about an 40 minutes from there so when ever we are that way we always stop there for a walk about, it's probably my favourite village in England , so when it came to choosing a wedding location the Swan hotel seemed the obvious place . (Oct 08)The Hotel staff are extremely friendly. Very welcoming and not intimidating what so ever. As you can imagine I was in constant contact with the staff for a period of 11 months prior to the wedding and on every occasion nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are all decorated individually and all seemed lovely ( lots of our guessed stayed). Breakfast was lovely as was my whole wedding day. We have eaten at the hotel on many occasions over the years and have always been very pleased . I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about the hotel. Stunning simply stunning

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normskideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband,brother, sister in law, and I just had lunch at the Swan Hotel. I had quiche and my husband had a burger. Even though we ordered a minute apart,my brother and sister in law hadn't gotten their order 45 minutes after my husband and I were served. They ordered quiche and a double glouster (cheese) sandwich.Quite a few people who came in after we did were served in a timely manner. Even after my sister in law enquired about thier order it never arrived. She finally just asked for a refund.Very little in the way of an apology was forthcoming until we spoke to the manager. Another patron commented or how rude she thought it was that no apology was offered.We won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife,me and our dog stayed here for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday.

We booked a Spring package - dinner,bed and breakfast at a reasonabe £170 all in.

We had a quick lunch stop in Stow on the Wold and arrived mid afternoon at the hotel. There is parking for patrons,free of charge.

Check was a breeze and we escorted to Room 4 on the first floor. The room was lovely- a great big double bed and wall mounted flat screen tv.

There was separate seating which lead to a vestibule area and then into a large bathroom with a massive bath and rainfall shower.

The room was front facing with great vews of the hotels private garden and the river.

Our dog loved the garden area but it des need a dog waste bin. She had a blast checking out the swans and ducks.

We had a quick beer in the bar - usual hotel type prices and then chilled out inthe room.

The is complimentary wifi whichbwas reasonably quick- we could not get a phone signal on Vodafone or O2- it was great being disconnected!

Our dinner resevation was for 8 pm and our table was waiting for us.

Dinner was excellent - efficient service marshalled by a very good maitre d'.

The tabe d'hote choices as part of the package were very good.

We had a decent bottle of Fluerie.

We could not fault the service at all and it was equally good in the bar.

As a treat we had breakfast in bed- a fantastic full English with fresh juices and coffee.

All in all we felt this was great value in a really good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lovely location but the service is very poor. Staff are disorganised and unattentive which is a real letdown for what should be a quality hotel. It looks the part but is more like a coach party venue. Wish we had stayed at the Bibury Court.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestverdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful two night stay with dinner. I originally booked for one night but we loved the hotel so much we stayed an extra night! I only wish it could have been longer. The Swan is in a picturesque location facing a beautiful trout stream and has a lovely garden and courtyard. It is a 17th century coaching inn with a traditional exterior and tastefully modern interior. Our room was very attractive with comfortable chairs and two windows with stunning views. We slept like a log. Bibury has been called the most beautiful village in England with its famous Arlington Row weavers' cottages. It is a good base for exploring the south Cotswolds and is busy during the day but very peaceful in the evening. Breakfast and dinner were delicious in the stylish Brasserie. We especially enjoyed the fresh Bibury trout and homemade marmalade and berry compote at breakfast. All the staff were friendly, professional, attentive and charming. For exceptional service, we would like to thank Ula in the dining room and Vicky at reception (who went to a lot of trouble to enable us to stay an extra night in our favourite room!). I will definitely return to the Swan and recommend it highly to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 2 (Butterfly) has a gorgeous view of the river and gardens. It is very attractively decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LECtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapta
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were re-visiting Bibury on the way home from a week away, touring the Peak District and working our way down to Stratford Upon Avon and the Cotswolds. We simply fancied a quick and unplanned Sunday Lunch. The Swan Hotel, in a most enviable setting, always looks inviting. We were early and were shown to a well positioned table in the Gallery Restaurant.

All the staff we encountered were welcoming and the service was exceptional. The cooking was of a high standard, with perfectly cooked rare beef, and the wine list was excellent.

A quick Sunday Lunch turned into a leisurely and thoroughly enjoyable end to the week.

Sunday Lunch at The Swan Hotel, or any other meal on any other day, will definately remain on our agenda.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
2.6 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
571 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,311 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
757 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing