We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful little village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful little village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I recently stayed in 'The Swan' as a Christmas gift from my boyfriend. He'd booked a superior four poster double which was absolutely beautiful, the room was decorated perfectly and was really cozy. The view unfortunately was non existent. Even though we were very happy with the room we did have a couple of complaints. The room price was extremely expensive and when we arrived there was bottled water on the side which cost £4.95 if we wanted to drink it!! Personally think this is disgusting when you're paying a lot of money for a room (surely bottled water should be complimentary at an expensive hotel) If you want to have an alcoholic drink in the hotel take a lot of money with you, we were charged £6.05 for a small glass of wine!! We quickly moved on to a nice little pub in the village where the prices were a lot more reasonable!
Breakfast was nice, they offered different cereals, fruit juices etc and then an option of a fried breakfast or smoked salmon and other alternative breakfasts which was nice.
The village of Bibury is very small and only has a small shop, tea room and a pub. Nice for one evening but not much else to do there.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at 'The Swan' but thought that it was a tad pricey!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hturner_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    228
    108
    63
    32
See reviews for
162
478
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Swan in a deluxe room (room 4 - Vole). The Swan is a beautiful b&b in a tiny little village. The hotel itself was stunning and extremely welcoming, especially with the open fire place and cosy atmosphere.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, including the guys in the bar and the breakfast staff (which was yum!)

Our room was gorgeous and a lot bigger than we were expecting. The bathroom was massive and had a great big bath! I loved all the homely touches, such as the teddy on the bed and the cookies for us to eat.

Everything was perfect, except for our bed, which was a nice queen size, but way too soft and the springs appeared to have seen better days. It had the effect of a water bed and every time one of us moved, the bed made 'boing' sounds! Unfortunately, we didn't have a great sleep, which was a shame as the hotel and village itself was so relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at The Swan for only one night (because unfortunately the hotel was booked up after that) and wished we had booked earlier as it was absolutely superb. A friendly welcome and an excellent dinner on arrival especially as we were extremely late due to our flight from Inverness, a huge room with period features and four poster bed (and a bathroom bigger than most hotel bedrooms) and all of this in the most beautiful Cotswold village - it just doesn't get any better than this!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable evening at The Swan Bibury. The menu was very inviting and the service once in the restaurant was a little patchy and sparce at time. However the food was very good indeed. We would definatly recommend this to anyone and the flavours and quality were very good. The atmosphere had a very relaxed ambiance about it and it would be somewhere we would go back to. Well Done

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

e were treated to a Saturday night by our daughters and it was wonderful. The rooms are large, the welcome sincere, the food is generous and attractively presented. The bar has two guest ales and the wine for dinner is not overpriced. The service in both the bar and the restaurant is beyond reproach. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid any road noise - not that we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband booked this one night stay as a romantic break! It was in an absolutely stunning loaction. The hotel is charming with log fires & beautiful rooms. We stayed in the swan room which had a four poster bed & a jacuzzi bath & was huge. Very comfortable. We ate in the bar at lunchtime & the food was very nice & there was plenty of it. We ate dinner in the dining room in the evening which was also very tasty. The breakfast the next morning was nice too. Can't fault anything. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopCat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

May be not as old or quaint as some places we stayed, but it was magnificent. It seemed to scream country charm. the room was spacious; the bathroom was huge. Meals were excellent, the staff really friendly and helpful.

Being located in the heart of a cotswold village, with a trout farm over the road, and Arlington Row only a couple of minutes walk, this place is perfectly located.

We only stayed two nights, but quite happy to return for longer, and make it a touring base.

Room Tip: it has a lift so no problems with access. Even the front rooms are quiet because there is so little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
18.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History surrounds you at The Swan Hotel, located in the picturesque village of Bibury, described as the 'prettiest village in England' by William Morris. The Hotel offers you a relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings, featuring cosy lounges, roaring log fires, antique furnishing and rich decor. Our dining room is home to great English cusine and a fine wine selection. In our Bar meals are served all day.The tranquil Swan Gardens offer residents the delights of the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing