We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Classic English Countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arlington Row

Arlington Row
Book In Advance
$101.04*
and up
Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Classic English Countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visiting this place just summed up the English countryside in my mind. Was beautiful, quaint, and very well maintained. I love it that people still live there in those tiny houses, and that they are happy to preserve the history of the place. We also got to sample "Brooke's Ice Cream" from the trout farm shop. As my name is Brooke I was very excited by this; and it was also delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    131
    29
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real representation of an English Village from the sixteen hundreds beautifully preserved and still inhabited.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Arlington Row is a beautifully preserved row of cottages still lnhabited.I am not sure of the exact age but certainly built at least in the sixteen hundreds. A quintisentially English village well worth a visit . We met a resident who told us that only people born in the community had the right to own or occupy these gorgeous cottages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is certainly a beautiful and peaceful village. Carpark available and you can spend a leisure one hr stop here -- just walk around and enjoy the peace and beauty of nature and the ancient village. You can visit the trout farm or the well stock gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanmalaysia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We happen to take our wonderful friends from America to Arlington Row. It was quite the quint essential England and we all thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest places you will ever visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is exactly what the title says it is. My one tip would be to get there early on the day you plan to visit to avoid any tourist laden coaches, as these get in the way of any photos you will no doubt be taking but also because there is nothing more annoying ( for me anyway) than hundreds of tourists getting in the way,taking pictures of anything that moves (or doesn't) or walking about in sandles and long white socks or saying in an extremely loud voice "Oh my god,it's soooo quaint"( Americans take note).
You should park on the road and as close to the wooden bridge that leads to Arlington Row as you can. Cross the bridge to view the cottages and after that walk along the footpath that follows the dried up stream.It's marked with a public footpath sign so you can't miss it and has a tiny footbridge that crosses the pre mentioned stream. This will bring you out opposite the Mill and the Trout Farm and coffee shop. Visit the Farm and shop and after that take a leisurely stroll along the road and over the main stone bridge which will enable you to watch the trout in the river and take any pictures of the Swan Hotel, which has to be one of the prettiest Hotels you will see. You can then walk back to your car whilst again watching the trout in the river and, if you're lucky, someone fly fishing too. If you're even luckier you will set off exactly as three or four coaches turn up and ruin the picture taking opportunities for eveyone and the peace.

Richard Boorman

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington Row also viewed

 

Been to Arlington Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing