We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went to The Sun for lunch with a friend. Pub/restaurant dining, interesting dishes and reasonable prices. Young staff and good service. only problem for me is that I am allergic to garlic so had very limited choice as most dishes were prepared with some garlic content, however I can recommend the scallops. My friend had soup (too many lentils to her taste) but said the liver was delicious and cooked to perfection. Coffee in big mugs and good. Two strong points, linen napkins and free bread with oil, a good selling point we thought.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyk299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    120
    48
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing innovative chef.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great cider great food, warm log fire, lovely staff, this place has the best to offer locally Ina relaxed atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellant welcome”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were a party of 8 looking for a good place for Sunday lunch and managed to book The Sun on Saturday afternoon. When we arrived, there had been a misunderstanding so our booking was for only two people. However, things were quickly sorted and they managed to find us a table for 8 at our desired time. The menu was varied, with something to everyone's taste; there was also a very good wine list. We had a large table in an alcove, with plenty of room for us all, yet allowing us to chat away from other tables. Our only slight disappointment was that the service was a little slow towards the end, which wouldn't normally have bothered us but 6 of our party had long journeys ahead of them. It was also understandable as the restaurant was busy and clearly very popular! It's good to see an inn that still retains a decent bar area too, for those who just want a drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pub in the High Street”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is the place for excellent food, whether a light snack at lunchtime or proper dinner of an evening. Excellent service, great healthy food using local produce, and a good list of wines. You can prop up the bar if you want or retreat to the dining room at the back for a great meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindseyhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best lunch I can remember!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Sought out the Sun Inn following its rating in Trip Advisor. Comfy trad pub atmosphere with log fire and oak beams. The food was lovely, especially the dessert I had, and I say this as someone who has a savoury tooth and doesn't have puddings much or think much of those I have had. This, the almond sponge, rated as one of the best things I've eaten, with a perfect blend of sweetness and bitterness. I ate off the set menu, which is changed every week, and had beautifully cooked and succulent calves liver for my main course. It was great value at 2 courses plus coffee for £16.50. There was a separate a la carte menu, which is small, but seemed to have some original items on it, which are also different from the set menu. The staff were very friendly and my only slight concern was that service was a little slow. Some of the tables are set up formally for dining with tablecloths, glasses etc, but there is waiter service to all tables. Parking - if you can't park outside there is a car park which is about 4-5 minutes walk away. Not sure, but there may also be parking behind the pub.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyMaudRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Dedham, Colchester
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing