We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Anniversary treat”
Review of Milsoms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milsoms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ruby Anniversary treat”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 day (Sunday) for our Ruby anniversary using the summer special deal which includes dinner, bed and breakfast was excellent value. The weather was perfect and the hotel, food and ambiance was exactly as we expected. Clean with nice pleasant surroundings and very helpful staff. The food was exceptional and several of us had the steaks which were delicious and the service could not be faulted. Thank You Milsoms.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lampug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    69
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
32
105
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight for my partners birthday treat. The dinner, bed & breakfast deal recommended for the price. We indulged with fillet steaks but disappointed with one of them so we were glad not to be paying the £30! Bedroom ok but cobwebs in bathroom! Staff lovely & you could not fault them. Would stay again as lovely atmosphere, a great hideaway for romance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We traveled as an adult family group for a 70th birthday. We were very pleased with our rooms, they have everything you need in them. If they don't then you can ask the reception who are more than happy to help. All the staff in this hotel couldn't do enough for you and all are very polite. The grounds are lovely and the outside seating area is great in the sun. If it gets chilly there are heaters out there. The restaurant here is also highly recommended, the food is of large portions and delicious, all reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just celebrated my younger grandson's christening at Milsoms in their function room Mr G's.
We had Pimms and canapes when everyone arrived,and a buffet later in the afternoon.
The canapes were gorgeous.and very plentiful,as was the buffet later on.Service was excellent and very professional.
The function room opens out onto the most lovely garden terrace with fishpond and seating area. Plenty of open space to the side for children to let off steam.Shame the sun refused to shine!
Although really full from the buffet,we managed dinner that evening in the restaurant! The rib eye beef was tender and full of flavour,and everyone enjoyed everything they had.

Immediate family stayed the night. We had booked two standard rooms and one superior,to have extra space for a three year old and the little one who had been christened.
One of our standard rooms was upgraded on our arrival which was a lovely surprise.The superior room with the extra bed and cot was very well equiped. The three year old loved his little bed and the rest of the family slept well in very comfortable beds ( very quirky egg whisk key rings)

A very nice touch was the free soft drinks and water in the mini bar.

Breakfast.Some of the tasiest bacon I've eaten in a long time and perfectly poached eggs.
Lots of choice and really nice orange juice.

Beautiful location and lovely atmosphere. Very pleasant and efficient staff.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Expect the rooms at the front may be a little noisy when it's very busy as the car park is at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel for a family celelbration. We had a wonderful time and could fault very little and overall it was a super day/night. The things I do mention are not complaints but just little things that could have made the visit even better but this hotel is 3 star, not 5 but in the grand scheme of the whole visit they were out-weighed by the lovely time we had. We started off with lunch on the terrace followed by an afternoon in the sun with wonderful wine and views. The food was excellent simple, reasonably priced but excellent. The evening then started with drinks on the terrace of the private function room, Mr G's, which was stunning. Our waitress for the evening was super. Attentive but not intrusive and very professional. The food was exeptional and the children were very well catered for and made very welcome. We had the most enjoyable evening. Our rooms were clean, mostly a good size, a couple were really quite small but all well appointed but lacked air-conditioning but it was just a one night stay so wasn't the end of the world. Breakfast was a little lack-lustre, service was slow and disorganised and we had to sort out our own cutlery and sadly had to keep asking for things. It was ok though and really didn't affect our stay. Overall, we had a super time, we would definitely visit again, for the cost it was excellent value for money, I would definitely recommend having a private function here, all in all, excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I ate here last Sunday. We was in the area and fancied a roast dinner so we headed back to one of our favourite hotels..

Again, great food, except for the roast potato's, dry and not really good but expect for that, very nice. We love Milsoms and have ate, stayed at all of the Milson's hotels, restaurants. If your in the area and want some nice food, come here !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels over the years and Milsoms still remains my firm favourite. There is honestly nothing not to like about his place.

The decor is stylish, cozy and very comfortable, the price is good (not the cheapest place in the world, but you definitely get your monies worth). The place is always brilliantly maintained and spotlessly clean.

Dedham itself is a lovely example of the very best of the English countryside - it's one of the prettiest places I know.

I think from the other reviews on here you get a good idea about the place, so rather rattle on about how nice it is, ill let you know some handy little tips about the place:

There is a mini bar in the room where all the drinks are free.....yep, free. There aren't alcoholic drinks in there, but there are nice juices, coke, sparkling water and mineral water, a wide variety of teas, hot chocolate and coffee. The fridge gets restocked every day. I think this is a lovely touch.

There is free Internet throughout the whole building (including in your room). Another major plus in my book. I always feel a bit ripped off when so called 4 star hotels charges a fortune for Internet access.

They have a same day clothes washing and dry cleaning service, that is very reasonably priced. In fact their prices are much cheaper than my local dry cleaner. I wished I'd known that before I had gone as I would have bought all my dry cleaning with me!

If you stand in the front door way facing out, directly opposite you is a public footpath that provides a truly lovely walk along the river to the centre of Dedham. It takes about 10 minutes to walk it and is really nice, especially when the sun is shining. If you are on foot and want to go into Dedham town centre, be sure to take this route because the road route has no path and it is a winding road, so it's quite dangerous to walk along there.

The toiletries In the bathroom are lovely and smell great.

They give you free newspapers. There are also some really nice magazines in the rooms on the local area.

The food is brilliant! For breakfast there are two options, the continental breakfast (really good yogurt, variety of cereal, fruit, croissants, Danish pastries, tea, coffee, apple juice and orange juice), or the big breakfast (a choice of smoked salmon with scrambled eggs (my favourite), a full English breakfast, porridge or a round of bacon sandwiches). If you have the full breakfast it also includes all the continental breakfast items. The full breakfast is £15, but well worth it.

I stayed in the loft room (room 17), which has an amazing bathroom - the bathroom was as big as the bedroom and beautifully decorated - large grey/brown slate tiles with a white bathroom suite, a lovely bath, with two big leather chairs you can relax in after your bath, whilst wrapped up in lovely soft warm towels from the towel heater. Lovely!

There is only one taxi company based in Dedham, which I believe is called Scott cars. The rest are all based in Colchester - better to use Scott cars than pay for a car to come from Colchester.

If you want to watch a film, they will bring and install a DVD player in your room and provide you with a selection on films.

The beds are sooooo comfy.

All the staff are brilliant - very helpful and accommodating.

I think they are now all my main tips. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: The loft room is lovely, but if you are very tall, one half of the room has a sloping ceiling, so pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.4 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
5.7 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.6 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milsoms Hotel

Property: Milsoms Hotel
Address: 1 Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Milsoms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milsoms restaurant is a stylish and contemporary bar and brasserie witha no booking policy but all day dining to ensure you get your table, whilst the milsoms hotel offers fifteen fabulous bedrooms. Two private dining options, also provide exclusive meeting rooms for 8 to 24 business delegates making milsoms the ideal venue to catch up with friends and family (children welcomed) or entertain business clients, breakfast, lunch or dinner. With friendly staff and relaxed surrounds, it really is the perfect place to unwind with a glass of wine at the end of a hectic day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milsoms Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing