We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, amazing breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dedham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountain House and Dedham Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 Dedham B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Lovely big, clean, quiet, comfortable rooms in a lovely old house. Very friendly hosts, and best breakfast I have had in years - lovely home made bread, jams, local produce. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTBChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

Set in Constable Country this establishment would take some beating for an informal and friendly break. We stayed for two nights and although we didn't meet the owners until we settled the bill they knew our names and apologised for not meeting us sooner.
The en-suite bedroom was large enough with a beamed ceiling - although you have to be prepared for no door-lock!
Dedham Hall is situated within in own extensive garden with wandering cats/hens/ducks and is on the edge of the village. A very quiet setting with only the ducks and church bells to be heard at night.
The food was worthy of a good quality restaurant and the friendly service cannot be faulted.
A return visit is on the cards.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tr250man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My family and I stayed here for one night, dinner ,bed and breakfast. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the food and service was excellant. It was just like staying in someones house, but better. The tea and cake on our arrival went down a treat and was a very nice and unexpected touch which added to our stay. We loved the cat who came to visit us at breakfast but got shown the door by his owner. The location is perfect, Dedham is a lovely village, very picturesque and everything you want to see in the area is in walking distance or very close by. We would definately stay again. Enjoy!

Stayed: September 2009
1  Thank likestotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed for one night bed, breakfast and dinner. The room was excellent, very clean. We enjoyed the walk to Flatford Mill in the afternoon. The dinner in the evening was excellent, good service and ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfanindre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The location of Dedham Hall is perfect for visiting Constable country. The Hall itself is a gem, it is very old, there are wonderful gardens to sit in to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of your surroundings. The main activity at the Hall is the art courses but they also offer other rooms. The room was very comfortable. The food was excellent. There are lovely walks all around this area - one especially to Flatford Mill which starts out from the Hall. Staying here is not like staying in a hotel, it is like staying in someone's home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastellNeddWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

The Fountain House is absolutely perfect for a weekend break or a longer stay in the English countryside. Our room was large but also managed to be cosy with a huge bathroom, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were helpful but not at all intrusive. We were hugely impressed that they managed to cook us a delicious 3-course dinner (at the very reasonably £31.50) while catering for a large surprise birthday party at the same time. I wouldn't hesitate to come back for a longer stay - Dedham is picturesque and has some excellent pubs and good walks nearby...we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We had two nights booked, first DB&B and 2nd BB as we thought we'd be out sightseeing all day and would eat elsewhere - however the icy east winds took us back to our large warm room early afternoon. Although the restaurant was fully booked the second night they still managed to fit us in so we could sample the excellent cuisine for a second night. The breakfast were really good too! The Hall is in a wonderful setting, one wakes up to the sound of birds song and the ducks on the little lake in the grounds. The room was a good size and had a large shower. I would highly recommend this place for a quiet stay to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jan-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
1.0 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
214 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
9.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
5.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain House and Dedham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain House and Dedham Hall

Address: Fountain House Dedham Hall Brook Street, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedham Hall is a family run Guest House set in 6 acres of fields and gardens in the heart of Constable Country. Set back from the road at the end of Dedham High Street it is a 2 minute walk into the centre of the beautiful and historic village or a 20 minute walk along the river Stour to Flatford Mill immortalised by John Constable. Castle House home of Sir Alfred Munnings, president of the Royal Academy is just a short walk away. Visitors can dine in our restaurant. We have an ever changing table d'hote menu. At Dedham Hall we run painting holidays with a world famous group of tutors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fountain House And Dedham Hall Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing