We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in East Anglia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Talbooth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison Talbooth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best hotel in East Anglia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel whilst we were moving, we clocked up 10 nights in 2 months, all individual nights but each individually fantastic. Having stayed in various other luxury hotels in the area, we wanted to try Maison as we had heard such fantastic reviews. This hotel is branded as 3 star due to its proximity to a railway station and not having transport links but it is far better than any 5 star we have stayed in. We managed to stay in a different room in each of our nights and the staff recognised us and were always accomodating to my partners feather allergy! - We often arrived late and left early but having the comfort of these beautiful surroundings was definitely worth the price we paid! - We would love to come back and stay in the last 2 rooms we havent stayed in but will have to wait a while until the bank balance recuperates as luxury doesnt come cheap! - Thank you Maison Talbooth for a fantastic series of stays.

Room Tip: Try Keates, it will be the best room you have ever stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    34
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
45
173
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel back in July last year and I have only just remember to write a review as we are styaing in their sister hotel, Milsoms next week - look out for that review! A very quaint, informal, family run hotel. We stayed for 1 night and stayed in a lovely room room, with pictureqsue views across the Essex countrside. The bed was situated in the middle of the room so you could lay on the bed and look out the window. On arrival we had a great lunch served in the private pool house which is open to house guests only. This has an honesty bar, which was quirky and fun. We were the only people there and sat all afternoon, eating, drinking and watching tennis. We used the spa early evening and had booked a back massage. When we went in to the treatment room, we were actually placed together in the same room which we hadn't expected, we thought we had seperate rooms. It was really a problem but they hadn't asked us first and was a little awkward to begin with. You could use the outdoor pool as heated all year round but we didn't. In the evening we ate dinner at Milsoms and were taken by Land Rover, up the road and brought back when we had finished, free of charge. We had drinks on the terrace first then dinner. It was quite quiet for a Saturday evening which was a little disappointing as it lacked atmosphere and you felt like you couldn't stay late, but the food and service were excellent. Couldn't really fault anything and we are happy to be returning to another from this group next week for a birthday celebration stay and meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked my boyfriend and I a room as a surprise, and the staff helped me keep it a surprise just how I had asked them to, they made us feel so welcome and had our room exactly how I had asked, our private jacuzzi was to die for, with our glasses of champagne and chocolates we had the most amazing time. And was chauffeur driven to and from their restaurant in style. Truly terrific, if your looking for romance, sparkle, and memories I would highly recommend here. We are now regular visitors, and each time is as special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tahnee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this as a surprise the day before and what a surprise it was. We had the Tennyson Suite which had it's own balcony. The room was beautifully decorated and the grounds were stunning. We made full use of the heated outdoor swimming pool and jaccuzzi along with the pool room and tennis court. So relaxing. We'd taken out bikes and found a fantastic route along the river Stour passing from Dedham village to Manningtree.

We ate dinner outside at Milsom's and were dropped off and picked up by the hotel. Food was delicious and setting again was fabulous. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was equally amazing with a view over the Dedham Vale and great food.

Only criticism is that we couldn't stay another night as it was booked out for a wedding. Beautiful place though and I'd love to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malteser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is such a fabulous hotel set in the beautiful countryside. The rooms are fantastic and breakfast was beautiful. Le Talbooth restaurant is incredible and being taken and picked up by the hotel was lovely! The area has so much to do and is stunning. My favourite hotel in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suffolkgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

From start to finish, our stay at the Maison Talbooth was amazing. The staff were very welcoming, and the rooms were fantastic, especially our room which had a hot tub outside. The poolhouse with it's heated pool, spa and open-wood fire are a great place to relax during the day.
This is a perfect break for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, to relax and unwind in great surroundings.
This is not our first trip here, and we will be returning in the future. I just hope that this establishment continues to build upon it's superb reputation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetstreamaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Such a wonderful stay at Maison Talbooth. This was our second stay, and it was just as enjoyable as the first. The staff are so attentive, we were greeted as soon as we walked through the door. Our massages were wonderful, and we enjoyed the use of our private hot tub afterwards, with snow on the ground! We were driven to Milsoms to have our 3-course dinner, which was very enjoyable. Then driven back to the hotel when we had finished. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, so comfortable. Finally breakfast in the morning overlooking the views was the perfect way to end our stay, and very delicious it was. My partner and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
13.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.9 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.7 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Talbooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Talbooth

Property: Maison Talbooth
Address: Maison Talbooth Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Talbooth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Maison Talbooth opened 40 years ago, it did so with a huge amount of publicity andit certainly had the WOW factor. At that time, there were very few quality hotels in the country, hardly any en–suite bathrooms and certainly no televisions in the rooms. We have since added 3 fabulous new bedrooms, the Garden Room restaurant, a swimming pool (open all year and heated to a sizzling 30 deg) with outside hot tub, pool house and tennis court.During your stay with us, be sure to book in for a relaxing massage, facial, manicure, or range of other treatments, in our Day Spa. A highlight of your stay will be lunch or dinner at Le Talbooth restaurant, a minute away by courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Maison Talbooth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Talbooth Dedham
Maison Talbooth Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing