We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Location for what I needed was great.
The room was nice. Familiar as a Holiday Inn. Bed was comfy and nice size room. Walk in shower and overall a good bathroom. My only complaint which isn't a complaint more an observation, the bathroom door in room 109 was extremely noisy. Thank goodness I was on my own. It would wake up anyone else in the room. It just needs some WD40. Breakfast was good as well. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Emma D,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. Thank you so much for your kind comments and rest assured we’ll be getting the WD40 for the bathroom door.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    220
    92
    43
    18
See reviews for
138
157
28
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting family n the area. Good location and base for exploring the area and modern, reasonably clean rooms. Beds seem smaller than standard doubles and the one we had was extremely soft - my husband ended up sleeping on the sofa bed. Breakfast is included which is a good job as I'd resent paying for the limited selection available. All in all it was OK but no more but it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulssister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Paulssiter,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.


Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had three rooms booked for family weekend away. Arrived late having phoned earlier. Check in was fast, efficient and friendly. We were all very pleasantly surprised at standard of rooms. Not luxury but very well equipped, comfortable, clean and very quiet (despite our room being on ground floor right next to hotel entrance). Had an excellent night's sleep. Good breakfast thrown in - very relaxed affair. All staff exceedingly courteous. Only paid £52 per room for a Saturday night - have paid more than double that and had far less on every count

Room Tip: One of our rooms was on front right by entrance - probably one of the worst they have yet it was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Jelico,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for a night with my wife and two young sons.

We've stayed at a lot of Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses, and this met the high standard of service I've come to expect.

The room was clean, not too hot and the bed was comfortable. My sons slept on a sofa bed, and they stayed asleep through the night - which is always a good sign! Not much of a view - our room overlooked the car park (but there was very little road noise when the window was closed).

Breakfast is fine - although not as big a selection as offered by some other HI Express hotels. There was a choice of cereals and baked goods - the hot selection was sausages, beans and scrambled egg.

There is also a limited choice of evening meals served after 6.30pm - but that was a bit late for our sons, so we went to The Crown in Ardleigh - about 5 minutes drive away and offering reasonably priced food.

The staff were friendly and knowledgable about the local area. Access is via a slip road on the southbound A12 - it could be quite easy to miss, although it is next to a Shell garage. There's otherwise not a great deal around in the immediate neighbourhood, but Colchester Zoo was about 20 minutes away - and Flatford was about a 15 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear BexleyStuart,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a great positive honest review. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and the quality of the hotel product.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Like all Holiday Inn Express a good Hotel , with nice room and friendly staff, recognised as a Platinum member. We have stayed many times and always made welcome, also a good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear RoyandWendy5038,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

The team will be so pleased to hear that they looked after you efficiently as a IHG rewards member and that you enjoyed our express start to breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adasie
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

One night - 3 adults - well a very tall 17 year old! £55 including breakfast. Modern, comfortable, spotlessly clean. Staff obliging & helpful. Bar drinks reasonable. OK no bacon & we avoided the sausages & eggs - but we enjoyed the fresh croissants, pain chocolate & rolls & yoghurts, it was absolutely fine. Bedroom spacious & thoughtful touches ie the 'blue light' in the bathroom that you can keep on overnight. We loved the ice machine in the foyer. Only minor gripe is that double bed mattress definitely sagged in the middle.

However if youngest ends up at Uni there we will look forward to using this hotel as our base to stay when visiting her. Definitely excellent value

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Adasie,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and the modern touches of the toilet night light.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is very nice with good location and great rooms and friendly staff. The room rate was great at only £47 for the night.
The only criticism I have for the hotel was the cooked breakfast. The sausages were like nothing I had ever tasted before. They were tasteless, chewy and had an awful texture. The scrambled eggs were no better. They were rubbery & tastless, even with brown sauce added.
It is such a shame that something that is so easy to get right is so wrong. I would happily have paid an extra £5 to get a decent cooked breakfast.
I asked at the kitchen if they would make me a poached egg only to be told that they do not keep any eggs on site. When I asked them to explain how they made the scrambled eggs without any eggs on site they told me that the scrambled egg came in powdered form!!!!
The rest of the breakfast was lovely so please try and change this part.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakemcc1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear JakeMcc1410,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to Breakfast. It is correct that nearly all hotel brands in the uk will use a mix for scrambled eggs, this is to minimize salmonella poisoning. The hotel chains then will always have their food suppliers to explain this reasoning and not the hotel. As for the sausage I know our F&B Manager is doing a tasting session over the next week for quality on different brands.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing