We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and convenient”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel as our room only cost £50 for the night including breakfast so I wasn't expecting anything that great.

The location isn't beautiful but go one mile down the road and you are in the thick of beautiful Dedham. The staff were all very polite but I have to mention the Canadian woman on the reception desk who was really genuinely friendly and delivered fantastic customer service. My first impressions were really good and we were made to feel comfortable straight away.

Our room was clean, the bed was comfy and the hotel was quiet even on a Saturday night. The bar prices are quite expensive but then most hotel bars are. We didn't go to the restaurant but we did have breakfast. It wasn't anything special but it was definitely adequate although the choice was limited in terms of hot food. But considering it was free I thought it was of a good standard.

I would definitely recommend staying here, it was really great value for money and we had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightshade21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Nightshade21,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. I know our Canadian lady Tamara will be so pleased she has got a mention on tripadvisor. I cannot thank you enough for your kind words, I hope we serve you again in the near future.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    230
    97
    46
    18
See reviews for
144
168
28
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed for 1 night Great hotel clean and comfortable. We had a interconnecting room which the kids loved as they got own tv plus the rooms were nice and spacious. Service was efficient and stay was great value for money even got breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear LK2015 ,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

On arrival at this hotel which is tucked behind a shell petrol station we were greeted by cigarette butts all over the floor at the hotel entrance. On check in the man behind reception had difficulty understanding that I wanted to check in for one of the rooms out of the five our group had booked. My husband mentioned to the senior member of staff at reception about the unsightly cigarette butts and was informed that smokers did not put the butts in the ashtray provided and the hotel was short staffed and unable to clean up. The hotel public areas were clean and tidy (with the exception of the cigarette butts) we had booked a family room which sleeps up to 2 adults and 2 children the room was clean with shower (no bath) but we knew this would be the case only 2 sets of towels 1 large 1 small were provided extras were provided promptly as well as extra pillows. The sofa bed mattress is not very comfortable you could feel the springs, the mattress on the double was far too soft for my liking. Apart from the hanging space with hangers provided there are no shelves or drawer to put your clothes. Tea and coffee facilities provided. Room has a Flat screen TV, full length mirror and table. Breakfast was adequate, I found it strange that there was eggs,beans and sausages but no bacon! in the hot section, yoghurt, bread to make your own toast, pastries, juices and hot drinks. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere the nearest pub/restaurant is a car ride away. A taxi into Colchester cost between £12-£15.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbedqueenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sunbedqueenlon,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the disappointing arrival feeling, I have no excuse for the cigarette butts, our team members should have swept these up prior to check in and I am sincerely sorry.
The hotel is unable to offer bacon due to IHG’s brand standards of only offering 3 hot items of sausages, egg and beans.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel was clean, as was the room. There wasn't much choice at breakfast with regards to hot food. There was no staff there to supervise breakfast. Apart from one or two staff members wearing name badges, you could not tell who were staff and who were guests. The staff did not wear uniforms, which we thought very odd.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Catrina B,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. The breakfast is our brand standard and I’m sorry you felt there wasn't enough offering; I shall forward your comments onto our IHG owners to review.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I think I've said it all above. Stayed as a family with teenage daughter and elderly parents, paying £52 per room. The website's a bit confusing so I'd booked 2 twin rooms and they had allocated us rooms on different floors. When I requested a change to be closer, we were offered an adjoining double and twin - perfect, and very helpful. Bathrooms were clean and spacious, beds comfortable and it was quiet at night although we were overlooking the carpark and A12. Breakfast included is absolutely fine. Would definitely stay again when returning to Colchester as it's better value than the Premier Inn, and quieter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_Sansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Juditt_sansom,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay and your wonderful comments.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lovely hotel in terms of decor and very quiet despite being near a busy road. Back of hotel has rural views. Cleaning of the bathroom needed attention - lots of built up grime that could do with an overnight bleaching. WiFi was very hit and miss and only in the public areas - as soon as I drove down the road coverage on public network was better. Staff were not especially customer focused.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Derbymum,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature regarding our hotel and decor. It’s a shame to hear about our bathroom and customers service. I shall defiantly be looking into both matters as cleanliness and attention to our valued customers is very important to us for a relaxing environment.


Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel and facilities were all great and majority of all staff were fantastic except for one. His name was Ani, he was absolutely ridiculous in serving us when we checked in. He actually threw the key at me. He was not even dressed properly. My daughter said. "mum why is that u man in his pyjamas?" I had no.answer as I myself thought they were. I believe customer service is vital especially in a hotel industry and I really think that he is letting the team down as his behaviour towards customers is disgusting. I must say rest of the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Kelsey05,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the lack of customer service received from one individual team member.
We pride ourselves on taking great care of our guest and it’s extremely disappointing to read. There is no excuse I can make about poor customer service except your above comments have already been addressed and the pyjamas were chefs wear.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
789 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
8.3 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing