We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We too stayed here for a wedding at La Talbooth, we arrived early but were still able to check in to our rooms which were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was slightly limited, but for £40 for a double room it is hard to be critical.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    222
    93
    44
    18
See reviews for
140
158
28
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We needed a local hotel for a wedding at the nearby "la talbooth" restaurant in Gun hill road. A quick search revealed this express holiday inn. As we were booking 21 days in advance there was a 20% discount. Check inn was quick easy and the female receptionist was very polite and helpfull- well done Dani.
The rooms were smart, modern,clean, tidy and had everything we needed for our stay.
The bar service was of a similar standard to check in, as was the breakfast the next morning.
The choice was very good, cooked, continental, cereal, etc and the staff were ever present to assist with any queries.
Great value for £65 - 3 people - hard to beat id say.
What's even better is you still get the priority points towards a free night! Even better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business for 2 nights. Loved the room- new decor and good colour scheme, and had view over countryside. Evening bar meals were good, but breakfasts a bit disappointing with many things run out- healthy cereal and brown bread for example. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Next to a shell garage for provisions! There was an unpleasant sewage smell outside at times, but not in hotel. Getting to the other side of the A12 a challenge as no break in central reservation. Would certainly stay again. Got 20% food and drink with my priority card too

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a HI express and should be judged in that light.

Is it clean, comfortable and welcoming? Yes

Are the staff pleasant and helpful? Yes

Is there a bar? Yes

Is there a restaurant? Yes ( bonus)

If you need a comfy clean bed close to Colchester, you probably need look no further!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank awp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We found the Dedham Holiday Inn was well placed for Constable Country and the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The double beds however are way too small for us and we ended up using the sofa bed too. I would have rated the hotel higher but for their failure to return a pair of spectacles left in the room. Seven calls, seven different people, and 16 days later, even having being told to ask for a staff member who had actually left the company, my OH is still spec-less and it's all really rather annoying especially as the manager had them in his hand at one point.
Ironically I was asked to fill in a home address details form when we checked in and the receptionist informed me it was 'in case we left anything behind'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Even with a window open, we heard no traffic only birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Am0s58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Am0s58,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are basic but very clean the shower is excellent an improvement would be a face cloth (can be requested) but when you are in the middle of washing your face you do not feel like ringing reception. When I arrived the tv did not work but was fixed with a new remote. If you want a quite room as for one at the back off the hotel. Now the reason you only got 3stars food on arrival I ordered chicken burger the chips were cold the bun that the burger sat on was rock hard and I was unable to cut the chicken burger I took it back and got a refund. The following nights I ordered takeaways the Indian village is excellent and deliver (free delivery orders over£12) to the hotel ask reception for a menu. (Check delivery costs one quoted £5 while another on the same road quoted £3) Breakfast is very basic! I would love to know the meat content of the sausages in my opinion they contain very little if any! The 2nd morning of my stay the hotel had no milk fruit orange juice yoghurt scrambled eggs and limited herbal tea and no clean tables most guests had to clear tables the excuse no delivery. On check out I complained and to be fair to the manager he did reduce the bill for the poor food. The hotel is behind the Shell Garage with amble parking. On the whole the rooms are clean and I found the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if looking for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear worldholidays,

We appreciate you leaving us such a detailed review. It's good to know that you enjoyed the rooms and the beds.

I am disappointed to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations and you did not find our food choices to your liking. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to make your stay memorable, as such, I have taken note of your comments and rest assured that it will be looked into.

Once again, thank you for your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Same as any other Holiday Inn Express, clean room with double shower in bathroom. Bar area is basic and food is average. Plenty of car parking spaces but the hotel is very much out on its own. Free wifi only in bar area with poor signal. Quiet hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing