We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice rooms, good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over a weekend in May.
Was pleasantly surprised by the rooms which were spacious, clean and modern with good tea and coffee!
Pleased there was a hairdryer and massive shower (I mean really big!)
Staff were friendly and helpful and lots of free car parking space.
Downside was the bed was a bit uncomfortable and the breakfast (sausage and beans) was a bit limited.
Also had a struggle getting to it, Sat Nav tried to take me in the opposite direction and you will easily miss it tucked behind the petrol station.
To be fair, for £50 a night it's good value though!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyBeaches87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I’m really pleased to hear amongst other things that you found the hotel clean and that you found our staff friendly.

Our brand breakfast is free with your room and is a continental breakfast with 3 hot items being, scrambles eggs, sausages and beans.

I apologise the beds where not to your liking and the fact it can be quite difficult to find us. We have recently put a sign out the front near the garage so people can see where we are upon approach.

I hope that you continue to chose Holiday Inn Express for your lodging in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    216
    90
    43
    18
See reviews for
135
152
27
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here after visiting a family friend in Feering for one night only. We booked two rooms, one normal double and one disabled. Both were large rooms, bigger than we expected and all very clean. The place seems pretty new with a modern clean decor throughout.

The disabled room we booked specifically because we saw there was a low level access shower in the rooms which really was a good specification on the part of the designers! Much better for a disabled person and rarely found in hotels even now.

The staff were friendly on the front desk and kindly tried to sterilize baby bottles for us. This failed as they where not sure how long to run their industrial microwave for it, there was no 'normal' microwave to use for this purpose which may have been a good idea in the breakfast area. There didn't seem to be many staff about especially at night which wasn't an issue for us but can imagine they keep staffing low. Parking was easy with plenty of spaces free during the week. Signage off the A12 wasn't fantastic and could have easily missed it. There isn't much around (bar inside hotel with basic food) but then if its just a top over or a base you don't really need anything else.

The garage next door was handy and we stopped in there for some goodies as its cheaper than the hotel and had a fairly good range of products and papers etc.

The breakfast was fantastic, a help yourself style setup but all the breads and food stuffs seemed fresh that day! I went back for 3rds as it was so good!

I'd give the coffee 6/10, wasn't the best but does its job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonbee_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights as attending a wedding in the locality. Weird location almost on A12 and nothing else nearby apart from a Shell garage. Good value for money, room clean, had all the basics (kettle, hairdryer), modern contemporary decor and good big shower. Negative points were the bed was really uncomfortable, very bouncy and soft. In hindsight we should have probably slept on the sofa bed! shower water pressure weak and limited bar stock. The bar could make a killing as the hotel guests are trapped unless they drive somewhere as there is nothing else within walking distance. Breakfast very basic, hots were scrambled eggs, beans and sausages only. Colds - cereals, toast, very watered down fruit juice, tinned fruit, yoghurts and croissants. Coffee and hot chocolate came from a machine. However, we paid £63 per night and have stayed in a lot worse for more money so all in all it met our needs and my back will recover!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back do not face the Shell garage or car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express.
Firstly I would like to apologise that you found the bed not to your liking, they are the standard beds for Holiday Inn Express brand.

Our breakfast is a free breakfast included in your room rate and includes a continental breakfast and includes 3 hot items being sausages, beans and scrambled eggs all served in a buffet style setting. Again I apologise this was not to your liking.

On the positives we thank you for your comments, we take the cleanliness of our hotel seriously and our guests experience really is important to us.

We hope you continue to chose Holiday Inn Express as your lodging of choice and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Ashley Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Getting to the hotel can be hassle if you're entering from Colchester, but that is to be expected when staying at a hotel on a busy road. Look out for the Shell garage, the hotel is nestled just behind it with no signage from the road.

Arriving at the hotel we weren't sure what to expect. We stood at the desk and the phone was ringing, so the receptionist answered the phone without greeting us and called for another member of staff to help us when she realised she wouldn't be helping us any time soon. The other member of staff (perhaps American?) was much more welcoming and sorted everything for us with ease. When we came back to the hotel that night the desk was staffed with the same colleague, and our request for more toilet roll was met happily.

Our room was right at the end of the corridor, room 32. Despite being tucked in the corner there was plenty of noise, but not enough to complain about or disturb our sleep. The view wasn't lovely, some construction fencing around some trees and bushes but better than a view of a main road, garage or car park!

All facilities were welcome, and noted was a sign offering plenty of other supplies if required. The room was modern, but obviously businesslike. It didn't bother us, as we were only staying for one night and had exploring in mind but I can imagine people staying for quite a while might appreciate more homely touches. As gadget fans we loved the personalised welcome on the TV upon entering the room. If a guest isn't so easily amused they could find fault with a few things. There was no wardrobe or any real storage, just an open rail and shelves. Again, it suited us for one night but I might have wanted more if staying longer. The shower was huge, and could easily fit three people (not that we tested it) which makes me question why a bath wasn't fitted as there would have been room for one. The blue light in the bathroom was welcome when stumbling around at night, but the panel on the door meant there wasn't a lot of privacy. The choice of pillows was nice, a trend I've noticed at chain hotels recently.

The room seemed clean at first, but on closer inspection it wasn't so. In the shower were very unwelcome hairs and there was a stain like spilt coffee on the skirting board by the bed/bedside shelf. If not for those, the room would have seemed spotless.

Breakfast had a good choice, for vegetarians who aren't bothered about cooked breakfast we had plenty to eat including cereals, yogurts, some fruit, pastries and the likes. There was a coffee machine, which promise of coffee to go but there were no takeaway cups. That said, considering the needs of other guests - if one was looking for a hearty cooked breakfast it was quite lacking.

Checkout was quick and easy, and we plan on sampling other Holiday Inns around the world to make the most of our new membership card, whatever that entails.

Overall, modern enough but perhaps not very pleasant for some.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room away from the cark park or main road if you want something pleasant during you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on he bank holiday weekend. The hotel is not the easiest to find located behind a petrol station. But there is plentiful free parking there when you get there. We paid £40 which included breakfast which is excellent value for money. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very well kept, both the rooms and public areas. We found the breakfast choice, especially the hot selection a little limited but it was well presented and perfectly edible. The drinks prices were also a little high at £4.20 for a pint of lager but I think this may be the norm in hotels. A plus point is defiantly the wifi available in the public areas of the hotel. Overall, a very nice , modern and clean hotel which we will use again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oufclad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We really do appreciate when our valued guests take the time to post a review in such a public forum.
We are really proud that you found everything as it should be with the hotel, except of course the “smokers corner” of which you talk of. We have had several discussions about the relocation of this and we will continue to push this forward in the future as we are aware the front door is not the ideal location for this.
It really is the biggest compliment when you find the hotel a great place to stay and that you would stay with us again and when that day comes we will of course welcome you.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting family & friends in Essex. The hotel is obviously new and well looked-after. Everything was spotlessly clean (apart from "Smokers Corner" outside the front door - why can't these people put their fag-ends in the bin?). The greeting was polite rather than friendly but it was a very busy evening. After that it was service with a smile.
We paid £32.00 per night for a double room - including a cooked breakfast! A couple of people were complaining about the queue in the morning but it was self-service - the queue was caused by other guests, not by the staff. The room was clean, comfortable, and had in-room heating/cooling controls so it was always possible to keep the temperature right.
The only possible downside of staying here was access from the Northbound carriageway of the A12, but the directions are clear on the website so it's just a case of following them carefully.
I wouldn't hesitate to rebook this hotel if I need to stay in the area in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Colchester with a colleague and found it to be an excellent stopover for a meeting in Ipswich next day.

Everywhere was clean and well maintained and the rooms were an excellent size.

Would be nice if there was better directions to the hotel from the A12 travelling east.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you so much for your review. We do value your comments and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently and have been for some time battling with the government to get our directional signage put in place but we are not having much luck at the minute, so I do apologise. We have recently put a sign in at the front of the garage so it is sign posted a little better upon approach to that.

We hope to welcome you and your colleagues to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing