We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here on new years as I needed a hotel to sleep as we wanted a night out to bring in the new year. I wouldnt return to the area again but as for the hotel absolutely brilliant the receptionists on duty would do everything to make your stay enjoyable including a 2pm check out and a free drink. All of this for £78 on new years if only these prices can be done in London it would be brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    233
    99
    49
    19
See reviews for
147
171
28
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here on a couple of occasions, the rooms very modern and comfortable.
dinner in the evening was very nice with great service with the chef (anni?) coming out to serve and check how everything was, which is very rare ocassion.
Had a refreshing pint of stella at the bar served by very friendly lady (trisha..).
Thanks to all of you , couldnt ask for anything more.

Will definitely return and strongly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertj908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Robertj908

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stopped here last night and to be honest for the price it was excellent.
Friendly staff, quiet location and spotless rooms.
The food was good for the price nearly half the price compared to the crowne plaza 5 lakes nearby.
Free wifi in the bar was an added bonus.
I work in Essex several days a month and will be stopping from now on.

A really good stay.

Downside is it's not really well signposted, but having spoken to the receptionist last night they will be getting it signposted soon.

Room Tip: I stopped in room 136, but they are all like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Paul W,

Thank you so much for your review. You have given us some really fantastic compliments in your review and we couldn’t be prouder of our hotel. We really do pride ourselves on the points you have mentioned in your email and I will be passing this comment on to our staff to show them their hard work and effort really does pay off.

Paul, really do look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We booked 3 rooms and needed to arrive early to change for the wedding. We were able to book into our rooms by 12.00pm after an earlier phone call. We needed a bed for a child and after requesting linen for the bed,the staff quickly responded by making up the bed within 10 mins. The rooms were clean, modern with comfortable beds. Quiet location. Reasonable breakfast for the price, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelyminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your 4/5 star rating. We really appreciate you taking the time to positively review our hotel on such a public forum.

We are always willing to help our guests and something as easy as an early check in can make all the difference to a guests experience with us. I’m really happy the staff responded to your request and the sofa bed was made up quickly for you.

The staff believe in making our guests happy and I will pass this review on so they know that their customer service is worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A perfect overnight stop, very clean, spacious rooms with a very nice bathroom.
Welcoming staff and a very good breakfast.
Within easy distance of Dedham, Constable country and Colchester.
What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on our Hotel. We are so happy you found your stay with us enjoyable and that you found us good value.

The biggest compliment you could give is that you would visit us again, and we hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ann's Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter period and thoroughly enjoyed our four days there. The bedroom and shower room were nice and clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with a choice of hot (sausages, beans & scrambled eggs) and cold (cereals, toast, croissants, yoghurts, fruit etc) together with a choice of different drinks; as breakfast was in with the price of the room, it was exceptionally good value. The staff were friendly and helpful, even though the hotel was close to the busy A12 (Colchester to Ipswich) it was quiet in the rooms and could not hear the traffic. Would defintely stay again, beautiful countryside only minutes away and close to Colchester town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tryna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the time to rate us so highly on Trip Advisor.

As a Priority Club Member you are subject to a number of benefits within the hotel and im pleased to see you used these to your advantage as that is what the program is designed for.

Our staff value their customer services and I’m glad to hear you found them friendly and welcoming. Also in today’s climate I’m glad you felt you got good value for your money.

We really hope to welcome you again soon the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked this as a stop over hotel on the way back from London as it was a reasonable price and was just on the side of the A12. Reception staff were very friendly at check in and they recognized straight away that I was a priority club member (definitely worth applying for, its free). This allowed us to check out late (2pm) for no extra charge and also gave us a few other privileges.

The room itself was very nice, very modern and extremely clean. Breakfast was also very good and was all included in the price we paid. Good variety of hot and cold food available.

Overall I would say the hotel was great value for money and very nice place to stay. At the end of the day you get what you pay for and you wouldn't go there expecting it to be a 5 star hotel! Cannot fault it and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request room away from Shell garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
816 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
8.3 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing